Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    G

    Great Stay.

    Reviewed by Great Hotel on May 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It is a remote location, so if you want to travel 50 minutes or more to towns be prepared. If however you plan to stay on resort its perfect. Easy walk to all venues. The beach is not easily accessible if you are mobility impaired. That being said, the sand and water are beautiful. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, they take pride in the resort and Country.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Great value, fantastic beach, friendly resort staff and locals.

    Reviewed by Brent H on Jan 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Our family 4 couples had a great vacation here from December 28 to January 4th. The weather was great, the hotel was good value and the beach was awesome. Westjet flights were pretty much on time and great service. Hotel is a solid 3.5 to 4 stars. Food was good, very good if you waited for freshly made and the New Year's Eve buffet was great! Service was great and a la carte restaurants were a nice change from the buffets. Nice pools and good overall resort. Catamaran excursion and Remedios/Santa Clara city tour were great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    ce fut l un de mes plus beau voyage ...

    Reviewed by Diane on Mar 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Nous avons aimé visité votre hôtel ..le seul commentaire c,est qu'étant donné les nombreux visiteurs ils fallait souvent faire la file pour aller se servir au buffet ,et au bar il manquait souvent de bière au début de l'après-midi ,mais en général nous sommes très contents de notre semaine de vacances et je le recommanderais n'importe quand ...merci aux personnel courtois et chaleureux..aux sourires et à votre belle humeur..vous êtes des gens sympathiques qu'on a le goût de revoir...Aux gens des spectacles BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO VOUS ÊTES EXTRA......vous avez beaucoup de talent....merci merci et merci xxxxx

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7985 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Playa Cayo Santa Maria , Cuba

    Reviewed by Fitwoman83() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are a family of four , children aged 9 and 6 who just came back from this resort . We were here for 7 days June 19 to 25. We had such an amazing time from start to end. The resort itself is not modern , but in good condition. The rooms are decent . The service was good . We had no issue in our room so all was good . Food wise, you’re in Cuba, you will find something to eat. It gets repetitive by the buffet but make sure to try the à la carte restaurants . We had the opportunity to go to the Cuban and seafood red , which were very good. The beach is amazing ! The water beautiful , with no seaweed . The staff is friendly and the service was great! The most memorable from this trip is the animation team. Playa Cayo Santa Maria has an amazing staff . They go beyond their way to make it fun and to make sure you participated. They work hard to make sure your beach days are well spent . Lisdania , beautiful woman always ready to dance ! Tito , Leo, Jorge , Julio , Yordi , Rico ,victor , thank you for you fun crazy games , aqua aerobics... you have made our trip by far the greatest and we look forward to coming back !!

    Beach, staff and ocean

    Reviewed by LouisPointeClaire(Montreal, Canada) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I will start at the beginning. We were 2 weeks from June 27th to July 12th at Playa Cayo Santa Maria, traveled with my wife and son.Arriving in the evening late we were greeted with a smile and got our room promptly with service from a bellboy. We were staying in block 15. Room very clean, cleaned every day towels replaced every day, air conditioning works very well. The a la carte dinners were surprising especially the seafood very good! The buffet big enough a lot of meats such as proscuito and salami sausages, sausage etc, good choice of cheeses and always full, several choices of salads, very short wait at steak and seafood stations, always different breads and patisserie available, Mango juice and magues fresh every morning, smiling staff and very helpful Lucian and Aidan in particular. The cafe bar is very very good, thanks to Jorge but especially Daniel for his excellent flambé cafes. Musician always present at the lobby which is big enough. The main pool is very well maintained and clean they know how to take care of their 3 pools, the toilets everywhere on the site are very clean. the internet works very well everywhere on the site and even at the beach. The snack bar open 24hrs even offers shrimp and squid breaded Aliesky, Yoleidis, Maylin and Papote are very nice and know how to make good drinks, thank you very much! The beach is very beautiful and clean, a little rock but the water is turquoise and hot there are even schools of small fish, pelicans, thank you to Raynaldo and Raoul for offering us every morning clean chairs under a parapas that are quite numerous. Obelevido and Duveil do the burgers and paninis on the beach, 2 nice guys and very funny, thank you guys. The beach bar is very good and the drinks are good. We were fully satisfied with our trip, we will certainly return without any doubts, we did not have any problems of any kind, thanks to Martha and especially Astrid customer service who knew everything organized for our beautiful stay. I recommend this hotel is worth a 5 star

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Awesome Week!

    Reviewed by alissap1993() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I just returned from my 1 week stay at Playa Cayo Santa Maria. I was hesitant to book Cuba but am happy to say that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff at the hotel are all very pleasant and welcoming, making you feel at home. From the chefs and servers to the entertainment staff, everyone is so hard working and just wants to see you enjoy your vacation. Special thanks to Victor and Julio who were so kind and did a fantastic job on the entertainment team! The beach is one of the most beautiful beaches i've ever seen. The water is crystal clear. We said multiple times how it doesn't even look real and would stay in the water for hours at a time. There was always lots of option for food with a buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, a 24h snack bar and a la carte restaurants. The Italian was definitely a favourite. All in all it was a great stay! Thank you Playa Cayo Santa Maria for an awesome week!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Thanks George aka Kawhi, we had awesome time

    Reviewed by Vmtl011(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We (family of 4) just returned from playa cayo santa maria. We arrived to hotel at 20:30 with 2 hours delay and got in to the room. Room wasn't the best but ladies from the reception told us to come in the morning around 9:00 and that they will do the best as they can for us. They kept there word and gave us room with ocean view that satisfied ur needs. For Cuban standards food was very good. Lots of variety. We were never hungry. Drinks were also good. Coffee bar was are favorite. Waiters always smiled and did anything to satisfy the guests. All the staff was always with the smile on there face (even when they didn't feel like it). Everyone made us feel welcome. Beach was outstanding. Lots of fishes, crabs....and few jellyfishes :( .Pools were clean and you could choose activity pool or if you just want to relax they had quite pools. Entertainment Team was always ready and willing to make us laugh and to help. One big thanks to George (a.k.a "Kawhi" as our kids called him), he was outstanding. Others were good but he was the best. Our beach chairs were always ready and clean for us thanks to the two wonderful gentleman. Beach waiter was making sure that we were well hydrated. Only one thing I would like if it was better. Not a lot of staff spoke English, not a deal breaker. Do we see us coming back to this hotel? Yes, in a heart beat. Thanks, Playa's staff for a memorable time. See you soon. Sincerely Luka, Tea with mom and dad

    Off Season, First Time Visit

    Reviewed by Greg M() on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Interesting place, not perfect but hey, this is Cuba. By the way, you can find problems anywhere. No one in our party got ill, somewhat of a surprise as soap was lacking in common areas and some staff on meat frying duty used the same utensils for raw and cooked meat, we stayed away from that station. Traveled during the off season, yet found that food was acceptable. I don't really understand people who complain about variety of food. During our stay there were at least seven varieties of pork products. There was beef, lamb, chicken, we mostly ate oven baked meats, and fish not to mention pastas, eggs, rice beans...anyways there were too many things to list. Arrangement and combination of foods is not the greatest but no one prevents us from being creative with how we arrange to eat what is offered. Be creative, take a piece of blue cheese and ask a cook to fry it with your pasta. Oh yes, the public relations worker who comments on our impressions is apparently real, confirmed by many employees when I asked them, and what pleasantly surprised me was that this hotel is owned and operated by Cuba. Last two days of our stay we saw Cuban tourism officials visit the hotel. The service and food was at 5+ stars at that time. Will return. Some bars and pools were closed but who cares, sun, fun and ocean were there. Overall a positive experience. If you are a picky demanding person like we all can be do not come to this hotel, let others enjoy the stay.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX