Playa Costa Verde

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    Best part was the club houses chauffeur

    Reviewed by JD on Feb 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    First time at ?this hotel won?t recommend it . Really disappointed the services was bad, the food wasn?t great and flavourless , don?t leave any personal valuables out as housekeeping have sticky fingers. Although we tip greatly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    V

    Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, but in my opinion I was not so happy with the service.

    Reviewed by Vacations on Nov 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort is an hour transfer ride from the Holguin International airport & 15 minutes to Guardalavaca. It has 3 pools (general w/pool bar, sports/activities & kids pools), 1 buffet & 4 a la carte restaurants (reservations required & dress code in effect). We were able to only book 3 a la carte restaurants which included the Cuban, Japanese (very good) & Italian as the 4th was a paid steak a la carte restaurant. The buffet basically stayed the same for the week but knowing that Cuba is not the place to go for fine dining we were able to find things to eat during buffet time. The snack bar wasn?t too bad with a basic breakfast and lunch/diner menu. Two storey bungalows with 8 rooms, rooms were standard with king bed & sofa bed, large bathroom, mini safe, mini fridge (only stocked daily with water), satellite TV with large balconies or Terrace. The beach is a walk from the main resort over a bridge covering a marshy swamp which is not very appealing, but the beach is beautiful with their own beach bar & grill and lots of non-motorized water sport options. Beach water activities were limited as exposed coral reefs beneath the waters surface. The resort has an amazing lobby bar, pool bar & beach bar as well as the disco. Good evening entertainment, some of the staff were very friendly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    S

    Above and beyond expectations

    Reviewed by Steve on Apr 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Awsome staff, better than average food and the rooms were kept very clean. We loved it and cannot wait to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Not a place to go for peace and quiet and service.

    Reviewed by Tax lady on Feb 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was not our first time to Cuba, but it was our first time to Play Costa Verde and it will be our last. Pros - room clean, Cari a good housekeeper. Grounds nicely laid out. Beach lovely Cons - no service in buffet, lobby bar, beach. Never felt welcome or wanted. Too many noisy people. No non smoking areas. I could go on, but what is the point? We have always found the Cuban people to be warm and friendly and happy to work at earning tips. We've been home for two weeks and I am still spending money I took to give as tips because there was no one to give the tips to! The last day I was giving gifts to the floor cleaner in the lobby and the bus driver to the airport because I didn't want to take them back with me.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    w

    Had a great vacation!

    Reviewed by winnipeg1680 on Jan 24, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just returned from Playa Costa Verde Hotel Jan 24,2015. Had a great time. If you are looking for a 20 something party hotel this is not the place to go. This is a 40 to 50 something hotel which was fine....because we are in our 40's!!! There were some younger couples and families with small children but everyone was well behaved. It blows my mind when I hear people complain about the buffets always being repetitive. There are at least 40 choices and from these 40....yes a lot doessn t change. But.....how many people make 40 dishes at home for dinner or lunch every day! If you take one meat, one vegetable and one potato or starch dish there will be enough choices to last two full weeks. Time and time again you see people load their plates with 10 different dishes....and then leave half behind. People complain about the food not being hot....but what do you expect if you are walking around with your food on the plate for ten minutes deciding what to take.....sheeesh! The buffet was good. Five star.....no.....but good. The Italian was good...the Cuban was good....the Japanese was excellent. Our bed was firm....but softer than many Mexican hotels we have stayed at. The bed spread does need to be changed....old. The rooms were fine...good hot water.....great maid service. It would be nice if the hotel played some music other than the Cuban and Spanish disco music at the pool especially. We were starving for some north American music . Listening to "Rosie Perez" scream into the microphone around the pool really got annoying after awhile. I understand the staff is trying to entertain the guests but is it really necessary to scream into the P.A. system for 2 little kids doing a game. Just a Peave of mine. Staff are extremely friendly and the Spanish Coffees were fantastic. The mixed drinks are not so good however. Very sweet and not made with a lot of crushed ice. Beer and simple drinks are good. Even Wine was ok. I would definitely go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8547 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Cuba

    Reviewed by Richardbagwell(Birmingham, United Kingdom) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our second visit to the hotel. The beach is incredible and well worth travelling for. The hotel has a rustic charm and the staff are friendly and liberal with alcohol. It’s perfect for a relaxing week. The food is the only let down.

    PCV August 2019

    Reviewed by Maximous(Newcastle) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Saw mixed reviews about the hotel but arrived with an open mind. It’s true to say the hotel needs some TLC but it the facilities are meticulously maintained by the gardeners and cleaners. The Buffet restaurant offers a good range of food but the grill stations can get busy, if you leave it too late (and the Buffet is quiet) the birds will venture in for a nibble despite there being a large hawk sitting outside as a deterrent. This is going to happen in any open air restaurant so best advice is get there early. The Japanese, Cuban and Italian restaurants are an improvement and offer a more relaxed atmosphere although prawns/shrimps were scarce. 24hr snack bar was also handy for the kids, they did occasionally run out of fries but always had potato croquettes in reserve. The Beach Bar and the swim up Pool Bar were also a great change of scenery as was Beer Corner. The ratio of guests was approx 70% Cuban, 20% European and 10% Canadian. The Cuban contingent certainly liked to party and weren’t exactly shy about getting themselves to the front of the queue but a simple ‘hola’ usually brought a positive response; the Cubans also liked to take a flask cup to the bar which is worth doing but I kid you not l, some ‘cups’ must have held 1.5 litres and took a good 3 mins to fill - pretty frustrating if there were a few in the queue before you. The beach however is spectacular, there is a small reef just offshore and the snorkelling is fantastic. Pool area is also great, plenty of sun loungers. We brought our own gear which meant we could stay at the beach til dusk. Mosquitos were out in force on some nights so repellent and and creams are essential. Booked a number of trips from the hotel including classic car, the horse riding we enjoyed so much we did twice. On the whole a great holiday and the positives far outweighed the negatives, a Caribbean experience for little more than Mediterranean prices. We met some great people and would return again. No major grumbles but a few suggestions for ‘easy’ improvements for the hotel would be: 1. Employ a few extra staff to take drinks orders from around the pool. 2. Consider collecting, washing and re-using the plastic cups in which drinks are served. This will reduce the plastic waste and litter around the pool area. 3. If you’re going to have a dress code in the a la cartes then stick to it. It’s annoying to be sweating it out in dress pants and see someone waltz in wearing shorts. 4. Replace the Cues on the Pool Tables, they are in tragic condition. Anyone visiting who fancies a game it would be worthwhile taking a few push on tips and chalk.

    Cuban experience

    Reviewed by NicolaM1968(Surrey, United Kingdom) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We arrived on 30 July 2019 for 14 nights and the resort was really quiet about 5pm. The rooms are out dated and require modernisation but was cleaned daily with clean sheets/towels. Air con was a life saver. Stayed in room 1127. The food is typical buffet style but they serve too much of types not eaten and are slow to re-stock other food. Breakfast is nice omelettes and eggs are cooked to order. Juices made to order , good fruit and bread selection. Loads to choose from. No tables are cleared quickly to welcome new diners. Lunch and dinner selections seem the same. The grill cooks do not cook with any speed so the queues are long. Meat is of sub quality and I left the meat as it’s over cooked and grisely. Salads are yuk unless you like mayonnaise covered vegetables and cheese. Vinaigrette is not vinagary or something is missing. Luckily there is a snack bar to break the boredom of monotonous food. There is a resident bird at mealtimes to greet people. There is sporadic entertainment in the lobby or restaurant. Evening entertainment is good when it’s on but after 10pm. The bar serves good measures and all choices. Jesus from the Aquabar is the best. The sun beds are well maintained and there is no need to get up early to reserve any. Towels are available daily. There are free water activities to book on the beach; catermaran and pedaloes. The beach is 2 minutes walk across a small bridge and is stunning. A free bar is on the beach. We went on 3 trips to Holguín City , Santiago de Cuba and Super Campana (incl swimming with dolphin) this was the best as it was us 2 with our own dolphin. The trips included a visit to a cigar factory- well interesting. The place is kept clean but there is no on-going care as glasses are not collected in the lounge or around the pool. A birthday party booking spoilt the time as the hotel staff were powerless to bring them in order. There are 3 restaurants to be able to reserve tables at but this is no change from the buffet style food just served at tables. Japanese was stir fried rice mainly but was the better of the 3 as it was cooked in front of you. We enjoyed the time here but the poverty is always there as locals approach you on the beach asking for gifts or to sell shells. It’s a poor area so might try Havana for a future visit. The classic taxis are a must to use to see the area. Credit cards are not all accepted if they are linked to USA this is despite it having MasterCard logo on it. My Tesco card worked but not Monzo. Bring mosquito spray as I got eaten most nights but visited the doctor get cream to help. There is no free WiFi around the hotel and is available in the upgraded rooms. You can pay for a WiFi card (1 peso for 60 minutes), I managed to log on and off and survive with a few WiFi cards but you could see teenagers desperate to log on!’ There are some places to buy rum, cigars , postcards and locally produced gifts in silver and leather.

    Playa costa verde

    Reviewed by Annie S() on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Hotel was good. The service was ok.My family and I had a nice time. Otherwise food could be much better. Los Canneyes needs improvement as it is a 24 hrs service food and bar....service not so great. Thank you to all the staffs who were so helpful during our stay at the hotel.

    IT WAS A WONDERFUL HOTEL

    Reviewed by videotrom() on Aug 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Till 5 years ago. I was a regular customer that visited every october for at least 10 times. But things started to deteriorate. Service was always very good. Hotel maintance was not as good, lack of hot water, day after day, balcony doors and windows defected... old fashion sowers and furniture ect. They renovated the main bar and is terrible, it looks like a cheap casino with lights for a disco place. The disco place is old and unconfortable, the lobby use to have beautiful dropping green plants from top cealing, not any more and the fountain is dry as hell, nothing there. They change the nice light bamboo chairs in the lobby for very hard heavy sofas with horrible colours , pink and red,,, wooow?? Presentation to your customers at fist view , is very important, keep that on mind. Restaurant has problems with birth flying all over the food and caca drop.... Food is terrible so is the dominican cheff that prepares the food. Please change your cheff to the original cuban cheff you had 10 years ago. Food is horrible and service in the restaurant not that good. As a customer i ask GAVIOTA HOTELS to improve the quality of this great ( it was) hotel.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX