Aston Kaanapali Shores Condo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    Nice Resort...but the beach is Gone!

    Reviewed by Deegan Pope on Jun 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    The only issue is there is NO BEACH anymore. You can't even go in the water. It's all jagged lava rock. Where the beach used to be there is now a wall that the water breaks onto and when the tide is low it is all rocks. Apparently there was a storm and the big rollers dug out all the sand in late 2014. Disappointed as the main thing we specified with westjet was we wanted direct beach access and they suggested this place. Otherwise, the staff was excellent. We booked 3 Condos all of which were really nice. Ours had some nice turtles tiled into the flooring. Our kids loved the pool which had lit up water spouts at night and a mini volcano and a water fall. We pretty much spent all our time in the pool when we were at the hotel. The hotel had lots of free things like Free Movie/PS3 rental machines, great tennis courts and equipement, free scuba lessons and hula lessons. Generally the staff and management are top notch.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Had an amazing time in Maui and enjoyed our stay at thIs resort!

    Reviewed by Jadetrix on Mar 06, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just returned from our second trip to Maui, first trip in 2011 and the first time we stayed at Aston Kaanapali Shores. Overall, my husband and I were very happy with the resort. I will agree with the other comments on the annoying $18/day resort fee and $9/day parking fee. The location is super convenient to a shopping area across the street, including groceries, fast food, clothing and breakfast and coffee shop. Kaanapali is a great area to be on Maui. Close to many amazing beaches!! The staff at Aston Kaanapali Shores were top notch! We requested a top floor suite which was available the second day of our trip. The move was worth it The new suite had a beautiful garden/pool and ocean view! Our studio kitchen was stocked with the basics. It pretty had much everything for utensils and cooking/eating. One thing we were surprised to find it lacking was salt and pepper. The resort did supply soap for the hand washing dishes and for the dishwasher. Everyday we got fresh bathroom and kitchen towels as well. The room was kept nice and clean and had modern updates. The resort itself has beautiful gardens and two pools and two hot tubs. The pools were great, the one hot tub in the garden area was in need of a cleaning, but the other hot tub by the beach pool was sparkling clean. The grounds were well maintained. The resort also has a two convenience stores with sundries. The pool/beach restaurant has great service and the food was good. Nothing exceptional and on the pricey side. Just an FYI in general nothing to do with this resort , on this trip we found the traffic from the airport to Northwest Maui to be painfully slow. We had to slow down to a turtles pace of 20-30 miles, even stopping completely a few times. The worst times to travel seem to be around 2:30pm-6pm daily. Overall, we would stay at Aston Kaanapali Shores again and I would recommend it for anyone thinking about staying at this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2890 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Booked 4 Rooms

    Reviewed by ISeaBlue(San Dimas, California) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I booked 3 two bedroom/ two bath, and 1 studio with ocean views (um sure, if you lean over the railing. Pay the extra hundred bucks for oceanfront if they have them. The rooms were tired, old & dated. Air conditioning bearly worked, and many of the days they skipped cleaneing even though it was supposed to be ever day. There are so many choices on where to stay in Maui, but I do not think we will ever book here ahain...

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Needs some TLC

    Reviewed by Sightseer20449(San Diego Area, CA) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath for a week. Found our unit to be old and worn and in need of some TLC. While not dirty, it didn't feel clean due to rusted fixtures, missing base boards, dirty windows and broken light fixtures. If the quality of the room had matched the views it would have been a dream unit to stay in.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Great 4**** hotel

    Reviewed by Mimsi007(Vienna, Austria) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The image on the website looks better than the reality. But altogether the hotel is really nice. We would come again. It is a big ugly and old-fashioned building, but you find anything you need. The kitchen is fully equipped. The sofa bed for the kids not comfy. The restaurant has a small but authentic menu and food quality is great. The beach is just a small strip, often flooded. Don't buy the beach chair combos they are trying to sell you. Those can be flooded easily. Towel exchange is easy. Housekeeping is depending on the person in charge sometimes with room to improve. But everything is clean. Staff is very attentive and friendly. Parking is limited.

    Loved my stay here

    Reviewed by Safari682942(Los Gatos, California) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I’ll be honest, after reading all the reviews I was nervous that my family vacation in Lahaina would not be as great as I had hoped but it was so wonderful. The staff is amazing, my view was fantastic and the beach was perfectly fine. We are a family of 4 with two boys ages 6 and 15. A 1 bedroom ocean view suite was just perfect for our 10 night stay. The boys crashed on the couch bed and my husband and I took the bedroom. We had a great view of the ocean from the bedroom and the balcony. For the parents.... the walls are concrete ;) Check in and the stay went smoothly and so I have no complaints. There are 2 pools both are fun for different reasons and the kids really enjoyed them. We would go from swimming in the ocean to swimming in the pool every day. The pools are clean and weren’t over packed with people. We were able to play volley ball with the beach ball given to kids at check in without bumping into people. The beach has sand, however, I was told if a strong storm comes in it can wash the sand away. We didn’t experience that though. There are rocks in the water but it’s the ocean. There were a couple says we had some fun waves too. Mostly, it was pretty calm. Snorkeling was fun here too and you don’t have to go very far. We saw so many fish big and small. Also, my brother in law saw a sea turtle. You’ll want to explore all the near by beaches because they are all good for different reasons. The best snorkeling we found was at Kapalua Bay Beach just a few minutes up the road. Go to Boss Frog’s on the way to rent snorkeling equip and underwater cameras. They had great prices and were super cool about us keeping the equipment until we left. We also rented a life jacket from the resort. They were just as cool about us keeping for our entire stay. Just a few minutes in the other direction is Kaanapali beach and Black Rock beach (large rock to jump off of). The waves here were so fun to play in for the grown ups. I do think the best beach for the younger kids (my sister who also stayed here has a 4 year old and a 5 year old) the one right outside of the hotel. Really, it was calm and shallow most day’s. Thank you Kaanapali Shores for an amazing stay. My family will remember our trip forever. The Kollross Family (we were room 911)

    Great setting

    Reviewed by jbborks(Arlington Heights, Illinois) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The only reason this gets 4 starts is the lack of its own beach. It has a small area you can get into the ocean from for snorkeling or swimming but little to no room for towels for laying out. However, the property itself was beautiful, the rooms clean, large, big kitchen with a large grocery store across the street to stock up. It had two pools, one more kid friendly, a large yard for games like bag-o,etc. There were water filling stations, easy towel exchange, a good restaurant on the property. Beach access to all other beaches and restaurants were easy via the beach walk nearby. The concierge was very helpful with excursions and there was plenty of parking. There were hours for the pool so it was not too loud too early or too late.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX