Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa at Keauhou Bay

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    Very nice hotel, meals a bit of a challenge at times.

    Reviewed by Jim on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was generally a very nice hotel. The staff were excellent, the room was clean and well maintained, and it was beautifully situated on the big island. However, it's very expensive and they will likely charge for any extra that you may need or want. For instance, a roll-away cot in your room is listed at $65.00 a night seems very expensive and even though the breakfast buffet starts at $15.00 US and goes up from there if you want any eggs or bacon they will charge extra for apple juice if that's not what they've put on the buffet that morning. That seems a bit nickel-and-dimish. The greatest problem we had was finding supper. The only place on the property that had supper was Rays on The Bay which was a bit expensive for a family restaurant and always had live music playing, so conversation was very difficult. Going down into Kona town was a challenge in that parking is difficult to find and restaurants, while plentiful, are not always family friendly. And some highly reviewed rib and barbecue joints close at 5:00 PM!?! Crazy. We also found the WiFi on the property very hit and miss. It worked great for some but not at all for others.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    A beautiful location!

    Reviewed by Charmbelle on Mar 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel was nicely situated away from the busy downtown of Kona, but within a short drive to all the amenities and great restaurants. The rooms were spacious, modern and very comfortable. The pool was great. Hotel staff were very accommodating in providing recommendations and assistance. The restaurants were on the higher end price scale, but the food was wonderful. The luau is a must! Great entertainment and great food. The sunsets were spectacular. During our visit, we were able to watch the whales from our the balcony.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Nice place, good location close to Kona, variable food & service quality but ok, manta rays are the highlight.

    Reviewed by Islandhound on Jan 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nice hotel but still pricy. Some of the valets were rude but others were outstanding and very friendly and accommodating. Very good concierge service. Centrally located on the dry side of the island, so short distance to Kona for shopping and restaurants. Limited restaurant / bar choices at the hotel with only the pool bar food and drinks during the day. Restaurant open for breakfast then closes, diner restaurant / bar doesn't open till late afternoon so only pool bar open during the day with staff more interested in watching TV than keeping your glass full. Food ok but nothing spectacular returned a strip loin steak as it was like shoe leather . Cleaning staff very accommodating and helpful. The manta rays viewed from the hotel properties was the the highlight - observed every night. Loved the big island, great for the adventurer and relatively low tourist density vs Oahu and Maui.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3274 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Daughter got married here

    Reviewed by lashaundap2019() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hotel room was enjoyable, nice, clean. Staff was approachable and nice. Grounds were beautiful so much so that we didn’t want to go home. Kid friendly also. Loved the pool area. And the shuttle that took us to the shopping areas like Walmart, and bowling alley, movie theater as well.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Lovely staff

    Reviewed by Shigamm(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff in here are very helpful, any query, small or large is dealt with in a professional manner. If you’re driving, I would recommend paying the extra few dollars to pay for valet parking, at the time of my visit it was $20 per day to park versus $27 for valet parking. The parking garage is a little walk away down a set of stairs. The hotels pool is great, they provide you with as many towels per day that you need. The rooms are clean and our was of decent size, we were provided with a bottle of water each day as well which was helpful. Rays restaurant is good and provides goods views out to the ocean. They also shine bright lights after the sun has set to bring in manta rays so that you can catch glimpses of these beautiful creatures. The concierge service provided in the hotel are very helpful. We had MayLea help us with our tours she is very knowledgeable and provides good insights into the different activities on offer. Overall we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel.

    Great hotel great staff

    Reviewed by Jacquelyn O() on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Loved this hotel Spectacular views of the bay could view manta rays from the deck pool areas and restaurant were beautiful very clean would go back there when we go to Hawaii again Rays on the Bay restaurant was great

    A Perfect Place to Rejuvenate

    Reviewed by hapagirl2019(Honolulu, Hawaii) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had to be in Kona for work. Loved this resort. Nice big rooms. Beautiful unobstructed views of the ocean. Loved the charging stations on both sides of the bed. Adults only pool is great for peace and quiet. The pool has floating chairs that are great for cooling off in the summer. The pool bar serves a frose (frozen rose with a drizzle of strawberry vodka) that I highly recommend. Walking path down to a secluded spiritual place. If you like to meditate...I would recommend going down there. You can feel the energy of this special place that is sacred to Native Hawaiians. I felt so rejuvenated after spending time there. I look forward to my next stay!!!!

    Downtrodden

    Reviewed by dana67(New Jersey) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We were excited to be coming back to this hotel after enjoying our visit here four years ago. This hotel has gone way downhill in these four years. The Ac barely works, water pressure is low, and every room reeks of mildew. Insects and cobwebs and mildew in the shower... the staff tries to accommodate but it is beyond their control. The worst were sheets infested with a brown mildew.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX