Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Loreto
    5. Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
    6. Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    D

    The stay at this resort was the worst one we have experienced in over 15 years of travelling. Should be rated at most at 2 stars!!!

    Reviewed by Di on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    This resort/hotel should NOT be classified as an all-inclusive. We were a group of 7. Our first issue started at the airport with a Transfer Company/WestJet rep who had not ordered a large enough vehicle to accommodate all the travellers - even though a couple were the last people to retrieve their luggage. Eventually the last travellers were taken to the resort. There was no orientation meeting set up for the next day with the rep for any of the travellers - we were left on our own to fend for ourselves. Communication was very limited. Our rooms were ok - clean upon arrival, but services deteriorated over the 7 days of our vacation. There was very little replacement of used towels & facecloths, or used shampoos etc. It took finding the cleaning cart and getting replacements. The view of the rooms did not make up for this lack of service. As for meals - we had booked as all-inclusive but 2 days in, as we tried to order some items of the menu, we were told we were NOT. After finally contacting our Transfer person and discussions with the hotel management, some of the restrictions were lifted. But one menu for lunch and one menu for supper for 7 days is totally inappropriate. As for the service, after our discussion with the management, the service we received was horrible. We were treated like we had been blacklisted! Unexcusable!!! As well, the amenities that were noted in the brochure were not available - sports bar, beach bar, 2 restaurants., beach activities. The resort did not have a lot of customers, so that should have been our first clue! We booked last September for a reasonable price - especially watching the prices increase over the later months. However, for the price we did pay ($3400 per couple) this resort classified as a 4 star is totally out of line! We have travelled as a group for 15 years and this resort is at the bottom of the list.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    S

    Staff was friendly and helpful

    Reviewed by Spike on Jul 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Very pleasant. Beautiful golf course. I would go back again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 534 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    No Wildlife Allowed?

    Reviewed by lauriec706(Altadena, California) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My family and I visited the resort to use the driving range for a couple hours. The range is very nice, and the people who assisted us were friendly and accommodating. You couldn’t ask for a more beautiful setting, though it’s not easy to find the course. It’s poorly marked and we drove around a bit looking for it. Now my question and concern: as we entered the resort near the main gate, I noticed a cage with a beautiful and healthy grey fox inside. The fox had a large gash on its nose and was looking at us with pleading eyes. The female guard explained in broken English that it would be moved “far away.” A short time later we observed a man in a vehicle marked “exterminator,” who loaded the animal into his car and drove off. As an animal lover, I am distressed. My husband and I love wildlife and view animals as an attraction; not a nuisance. Why are healthy animals being trapped at Loreto Bay Golf Resort? Are they being relocated or disposed of? I appreciate a management response.

    Good times in Loreto!

    Reviewed by Echotekk(Las Vegas, Nevada) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a great time at this resort...quiet...clean...old school. Our only real complaint was water temp in shower was barely warm enough! Not a lot of English speaking staff...but I think that’s on purpose, they probably speak better than us? They are not looking (or want) to be a Cabo or Cancun....it shows and that was fine with us. Pool bar opens at noon! That’s late for us on vacation! Just being honest. Overall great relaxing time. We saw whales...dolohines..sea lions...and amazing pelicans eating in bay all day...every day. We will definitely go back! Great value in food/drink.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    nice stay in Loreto

    Reviewed by joan g(ventnor, nj) on Mar 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I would stay at this hotel again if I wanted to golf at their course as the rate for hotel guests is good. The hotel was pretty empty which seemed a little odd. rooms were nice and large and comfortable. elevator broke while we were there and we were on the 3rd floor but we are Ok using stairs.

    Excellent

    Reviewed by ChristinaHind(London) on Mar 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Tranquil setting, lovely room, fabulous view, friendly, helpful staff. I especially enjoyed the jacuzzi & the snorkeling. It was well worth the 17 dollar taxi ride to get into town just to be somewhere so peaceful. In fact many of the trips picked me up from there anyway. I didn't eat there but there were lots of local alternative places to try.

    Whale watching trip

    Reviewed by NANCY H() on Feb 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Beautiful location. and the hotel has a great staff. Beds were a little hard for my taste but comfortable.. The pool has a swim up bar and the pool was heated comfortably. They have kayaks for rent but it was too windy for us .to do that. I would stay here again! The concierge was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and for the excursions we were picked up at the hotel by van and by boat, Both great trips, There is a breakfast cafe and a restaurant The wine cellar minutes from the hotel. Both very good. . .

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX