Sandals Montego Bay

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Nice Spacious Property

    Reviewed by Sandy on May 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a nice property that has great food options and friendly staff. This property has a nice beach and is located a short distance from the airport so there are times when you can hear planes. This is a no tipping property

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    A Sure Thing

    Reviewed by MJ on May 09, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This property has something for everyone. Great food options, entertainment, lovely accommodations and a great beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    t

    Loved the food and the staff was so friendly.

    Reviewed by tessa on May 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beautiful resort. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. It's also great that there is a no-tipping policy to make things simpler. The food was amazing with a great selection of vegetarian food items. The location was very close to the airport and when the flights went by the staff would wave up at the plane. The amenities in the bathroom was of excellent quality. Thoroughly had a great time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Lively resort!

    Reviewed by Basia M on May 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    A very lively resort with a lot of activities offered. It's geared more towards a social crowd, yet you can still get away from it if you would like some romantic time. The swim up rooms are amazing as they offer you access to a nice pool in a quiet location. The hotel has a wonderful beach. Hotel has a modern decor and the grounds beautifully landscaped.The food is delicious. Keep in mind this resort is the closest of all the other Sandals to the airport and you will hear the planes taking off, but the location is really convenient and close to the hip strip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great Beach!

    Reviewed by Mel Dawe on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Beautiful resort with an amazing beach. service was great - never had to tip which was quite nice! Food was good, resort had lots of open areas near the water which I like . The only major downfall for this resort is the location directly across from the airport runway - not alot of flights that leave and arrive daily into Montego Bay , but when they do it is really quite loud

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    I loved our stay at this resort! Great food options. Spacious resort. Truly enjoyed staying in a swim-up club level room with patio.

    Reviewed by Nada on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    An upbeat vibe and energy at this resort. Staff are very accommodating and are always smiling. Conveniently, situated 4km from the airport.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Beach for days!

    Reviewed by Sam on Apr 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Amazing service! The beach is amazing as the property is well layed out and the beach is very long, lots of room to find a beach chair! The airport is very close so when the planes take off you can see them (and hear them!) from the beach! Didn't bother me however can be startling if you aren't expecting it. The service and food was amazing - if you go here try Tokyo Jo's restaurant!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Only go to resort if you have no other choices available

    Reviewed by SandS on Jun 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Rooms very nice. States 15 minutes from airport, property is on other side of airport about 100m away from fence of airport property. Seats on transfer bus were covered in duct tape to keep them together, and driver fully expected/demanded a tip. Check in awful, room was not ready, couldn’t get any info from staff and finally told maintenance issue and will have to have another room for a night. Arrived at 10:30am, no room/access to luggage until 4pm. Had to give flight info just before leaving as iPad check in doesn’t work. Annoying that their technology at check-in to "simplify" stay doesn't work. Hot tub did not function for whole vacation, pool closed at 5:3pm. Food was of average quality, no complaints, and not spectacular. Staff were generally expecting gratuities for their services, even for a tip-included vacation. Noisy construction currently on the site, no warning at time of booking. Knew about noisy planes bring ear plugs if you want an afternoon nap . This resort not recommended, may consider different Sandals.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    F

    tennis and water sports need more staff

    Reviewed by Falco79AD on Feb 24, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We just returned from our first vacation at Sandals Montego Bay. We enjoyed our 10 days. Overall we give this resort 7/10. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. We give them 8/10. We enjoyed the beach, water and land activities, shows and food. Rooms are kept clean and appear to be recently upgraded Sea Grapes block . Showering is awkward because they have Arc shower curtains but not the curved Arc shower rods. Fitness centre is very well kept with variety of quality durable equipment and free weights. However, the treadmill touch screens have issues. The tennis courts need improving. Only 1/4 was okay not great . Surfaces are cracked water-sun damage . Nets are kept too tight with no way to slacken the tension. They need to keep cleaning tools on hand at the courts brooms and squeegee . The water sports are well run by knowledgable staff with whom safety comes first. We like that! But they are under staffed because they close every day for 2 hours from noon to 2 pm. This takes away the best time for sailing - limits sailing time for the day to maybe 3 hours in morning. At noon they call you back to beach for their 2 hour lunch break. By time they re-open at 2 pm it is often too windy to sail anymore for the rest of the day! The water sports group needs more staff and they need to stagger their lunch breaks to ensure they are well staffed at all times. This needs to change. This is a game breaker! For these reasons we will likely not return unless they fix these issues. We may recommend this resort to our friends, but with mixed reservations.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6288 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Another Great Sandals Experience

    Reviewed by bobangcub(Midlothian, Illinois) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my husband and my 7th Sandals, but first trip to Jamaica. As was our past experiences with Sandals resorts, this one also did not disappoint. We booked a Crystal Lagoon Swim-up Butler Suite, the room was really nice as was the pool. Our butlers were fantastic. The resort was very clean and well maintained. The food was exceptional. Thank you again Sandals, we'll be back in September

    Decline in Service

    Reviewed by Heather W(Littleton, New Hampshire) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Well this is our 6th time visiting Sandals Montego Bay. Every other visit has been 5 stars. Not this visit. Employees talk to each other and ignore you as you wait for their service: food, drinks, front desk, etc. My husband ordered a drink with his meal and it didn’t come. So when the food arrived he asked again. The drink was never delivered. Service has declined and no one cares. Staff is just rude, like they don’t really want you there. For a $6000 per week room(without airfare) I would expect better service. I would expect better service god less than half that price! I hope It will improve... I was told their employees are moving to Secrets because the pay is better. I’m thinking their losing quality employees.

    Great anniversary trip

    Reviewed by Ah7009(Huntsville, Alabama) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great resort, very clean and service was wonderful. Would highly recommend the rooms with a soaking tub on the balcony. Lots of food options and everything we ate was very good. Highly recommend. Heard lots of people say they were frustrated by butlers saving chairs but we got out late every morning and never had an issue finding chairs. It was a perfect, relaxing anniversary!

    Excellent stay!

    Reviewed by RStanfield(Effingham, Illinois) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I just returned from our first Sandals experience. A truly 5 star stay. The service from the airport chauffeur to the personal Butler was over the top. Beautiful grounds and well maintained facility. Staff is courteous and helpful. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

    Renovations

    Reviewed by Ewrtravel() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It’s been a while since I wrote my last review of the property. So much has changed that I thought it was time to update. We just got back from visiting with a group of friends. While w head a fantastic time, it didn’t start off that way for us. That said, I have also checked into places that cost 5 times as much and also had similar problems. In the end we didn’t love the location of the room we had and its proximity to our other friends on the trip. The measure of any resort is not are there issues, but how are they handled. All I can say is that they did everything they could to make us happy and I must give a shout out to Jerome who really went above and beyond. He made sure that we set and comfortable. As for the resort, so so so much has changed. The rooms are just about completely renovated. All our beautiful and offer a variety of price points. We stayed in cottage 15 which we loved. It was right on the beach yet private and the view was outstanding. The new latitudes bar was amazing. Out over the water with great music and drinks. A great place to watch the sun set from a private hammock or sitting at the bar. It was a part of the day that we all looked forward to. The two new restaurants were great surprises. Sushi was great and the steak place was much better than we had envisioned. It’s not to say it’s on par with a steak place at home, but it is on par with what I have had in the Caribbean in the past. If there is one criticism I could have about this property it is the pool situation. It would be great if they knocked down the current pool bar and made an entirely new pool on par with some of the beautiful ones they have at other resorts. One pool here is tucked away off the beach and has no swim up bar. The one that has the swim up and really old and honestly not great to hang out in. The location from the airport (5m), the weather, the room renovations, and restaurants certainly outweigh the pool situation. In closing, we will be back again. Special thanks to Carlene and Palmer our butlers who we have had in the past and who always welcome us like family. Till we meet again....

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX