Breezes Resort and Spa Bahamas

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    e

    Rundown and outdated. More of a 1-2 star. Staff are very kind.

    Reviewed by exoverland on Feb 06, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    3 starts is overly optimistic for the condition of the resort, rooms were quite dirty, doors were broken, elevators did not work 4 out of 6 days we were there. I only every use the stairs but there were quite a few elderly people that would have appreciated a elevator. The food quality is very poor, most things are from a can which is to be expected when you look at the state of the building. The pools are not heated and were never used, the beach is very dirty with broken glass. Staff were friendly and did there best with what they have, if you get way from the resort its a 45 min brisk walk to town or a 10 min bus ride. We spent 90% of our time out and about and we enjoyed ourselves, as long as you understand this resort is quite old , more like a 1-2 star, and due for a face lift you wont be supersized when you arrive. Most clientele were elderly and you could see they have been coming to the resort for many years. I would imagine they enjoy it as it feel like the 80's when you check in.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    Y

    We had a GREAT STAY`` The staff always went above and beyond.

    Reviewed by YUP on Feb 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    YES ``` DON"T LISTEN TO THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS. We just returned from this resort. We had a GREAT TIME. The staff was excellent and very friendly. The food was excellent. The nightly entertainment was excellent. FUNKY D was excellent. There are a lot of knit pickers out there. They have to complain about the least little things. The one that said there was no pineapple. I don't know were they were looking because I had pineapple. Thanks for the GREAT TIME.

    S

    Great value. Great staff

    Reviewed by Sarah on Jan 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Don't listen to negative reviews of this hotel. While it is not a 5 star, it was great value for the money spent. All the staff are pleasant, polite and helpful. The hotel is clean and the food and drinks plentiful. The buffet food doesn't seem to stay hot, but if you eat in any of the 3 restaurants unlimited , the food was always hot and tasty. The pool was always clean, but it is unheated so for most people it is too cold to swim in it. The biggest complaint is not the staff at this hotel, but the other guests. People seem to leave their manners at home or don't have them to begin with. I saw many people grabbing items from the buffet with their hands, leaving tons of food on their plates, and ordering drinks/food from staff without so much as a "please" or "thank-you". Special thank you to staff members Ginger, Stacey and Mr. Hepburn.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    Pay attention to the negative reviews .. those are the real ones. Stay Away!!!

    Reviewed by Tohvae on Jan 24, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I think that it's high time that Breezes Bahamas be rated a 1 star. There is just no way to justify the 3 star rating. I've been to 1 star hotels that was better than my stay at Breezes. I'm a bit of a nit picker .... So I kept my mouth shut for the 1st 2 days, but my husband is the most easy going man you'll ever meet - and he didn't make it to 2 days. The entire staff is so unhappy ... No one wants to be there and they have no idea what customer service involves. My biggest disappointment was the complete lack of service. I could've made do with everything thing else if there was an ounce of service. In short, pay attention to the negative reviews .. those are the real ones!! Stay Away!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9259 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great customer care with a gorgeous beach front

    Reviewed by ninjaridz(Toronto, Canada) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a pleasant surprise - the entire place is unbelievably spotless, so clean and tidy! As for customer (guest) care its for sure a 10 out of 10. The hammocks on the beach front, Wow! Gorgeous! I believe good customer service starts with a promise, par-excellent service is keeping that promise. Stephan (front office staff) you delivered 10+ thank you for demonstrating par excellent care!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Fabulous Trip

    Reviewed by LV8888() on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a great trip to Breezes Bahamas. The bedroom was very tidy and clean. The breakfast buffet was kept fresh and tidy, the lunch at the pool and the buffet had everything to meet your needs. The selection at dinner was great and the desserts were phenomenal. Funky D provided the absolute best entertainment in the evening and Darvin kept the pool looking fresh and clean. The best massage of our life was given by a lovely gentleman in the spa. Jerry kept us smiling and Mauricia at the front desk was always there to help us with any questions. Last but not least Gretal was the epitomy of the most lovely and gorgeous hostess who brings class to the Italian restaurant... She is such a delight. Will be back!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Decent but not Great

    Reviewed by PennsylvaniaOnthego(pittsburgh, pennsylvania) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I have stayed at Breezes before but not sure I will return. The rooms are old and there are no balcony that you could sit out on. On arrival our sink was clogged completely and the TV was broken and after one attempt to fix it they totally replaced it. The are no refrigerators or ice buckets and glasses in the rooms. If you want cold drinks I suggest taking thermal tumblers and having them filled at the bar before retiring for the night. The beds do not have a top sheet, which I have never experienced before, only a duvet to cover yourself with. This was considered an upgraded room. At least the room was clean. The food is good/average and the restaurants do not take reservations and there seems to be seating times but there appears to be no real system. The two Ala carte restaurants were better than the buffet but we never did get into Eden due to the strange seating system. The entertainment and employees are what make this resort enjoyable. Brittany C, Brittany, Gabby and Trenise at pool bar and Monique at the Towel Hut were always friendly. Shannon and Mitchell in water sports were extremely helpful. Rasta, the lifeguard, made our week! The evening entertainment from Funky D to the Entertainment Staff of Breezes are very good. Better than I expected at this level resort. The beach is good and there is plenty of seating on the beach. The cabanas are an additional fee.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    No frills but a good stay

    Reviewed by Andrew B(Wiarton, Canada) on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I'll go into some detail in this review. We chose a Sunwing deal for this trip as it seemed to be a great deal, but Sunwing botched the outbound flight by bumping the time by 4 hours, using a third party carrier and taking off late, which cost us a day of vacation. We arrived at the Breezes after 1 am, but there was staff at the check in counter. Strangely, we were charged a $100 USD damage deposit during check in. Although it might be necessary for spring break students, we are a 60ish couple, not looking to "trash" our room. We still have not been refunded this deposit, although the front desk said it would be 7 - 10 days. Breezes management should have a look at this policy and perhaps use it for under-25's only. As a result of the time that we arrived the only place to get a drink was the disco, which was playing electro at an ear-splitting level. Another suggestion to management would be to have a "low level" relax area for late arrivals with self-serve food/beverage service, like that which we experienced on our last trip to Cancun. We decided to go to bed and get a fresh start the next day. Room: we had a garden view patio room on the 1st floor. The room is smallish but comfortable with two double beds. Furniture is old but usable. Large patio with a hammock, which we used for drying our wet bathing suits. We don't watch tv on vacation, but there was an ancient 32 inch LCD flatscreen on the wall. Modern digital safes are in the large closet. There is no fridge in the rooms, but you can rent one for an extra fee. The bathroom looked like it had seen a refurb within the last few years. The only real issue we had was the floor. It had some kind of grit on it that would turn your socks or feet black. It seems that although the floors are maybe given a quick mop by the cleaners, they really need to be scrubbed down with soap & water to clean them. TIP: There is no bottled water provided, so once you have cleared security at your outbound airport, buy a couple of bottles of water. You can then refill those bottles at one of the water stations or bars on the resort property. Property: this is where the resort really shines. The resort is very compact so the pool, beach, bars and buffet are very short walks. The beach is a 5 star - nice white sand, very wide, lots of chairs and umbrellas. Ocean water was nice and warm. We went for a catamaran ride as well, which was quite nice and our pilot was quite informative. The beach wasn't crowded during our stay and is far more preferable than the tiny, crowded beach on Paradise Island. Pool is small but ok. It needs some concrete work done as the nosing stones, concrete and patio tiles are cracked and broken in spots. The pool does have a small swim up bar as well. The lobby, buffet and entertainment areas are kept spotlessly clean. The property sits next to the Baha Mar, a huge resort with a large casino and many high end shops. Next to that is the Melia resort, which has a small straw market behind it. You can also walk to the bus stop near the Breezes entrance and take the #10 bus to downtown Nassau to experience the large straw market, shops, restaurants and historical sights. Food: this is another plus for the Breezes. We went to the Italian a la carte and the Garden of Eden and the food was excellent. The buffet is on the small side but has a lot of choices. TIP: The omelette station at breakfast can be slow, so get your eggs first, then get the rest of your hot choices, otherwise most of your food will be cold. Bars: Best liquor brands are at the Piano Bar, but it is only open limited hours in the evening. Liquor tends to be cheaper, local brands at the lobby and pool bars. Management please take note: it would be nice to see better brands like Tanqueray, Bacardi and Smirnoff or Absolute at those bars. Beer is draft only and is usually Kalik, Sands or Sands Light - all acceptable. Bartenders were for the most part attentive, except at the pool bar. The male staff were ok, but the female staff gave their cell phones more attention than the line of waiting clients at times. Management should have a "no cell" rule during working hours to eliminate that issue. We normally stay in more luxurious settings in Mexico or the DR, but if you are looking for a budget-friendly Nassau experience the Breezes will fit the bill. It has some rough edges, but overall we would rate it "good" and we will come back here.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Night out at Breezes

    Reviewed by Christal S() on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Me and my family love coming back early year at the best hotel in the Bahamas.The entertainment with Funky D is so nice and we have to say Jerry too I have to come back next for my birthday.I party all night in the disco

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX