Beaches Ocho Rios - A Spa, Golf & Waterpark Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    L

    We could not have asked for a better all inclusive stay. The staff were exceptional and service was excellent. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Liz on Feb 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    For our very first all inclusive this was such a great experience. The staff at the resort went above and beyond to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Such excellent service. Irene from housekeeping, Dean and Chevy from room services/restaurant, Nicholas from bar service, are just a few names that come to mind who really made our time in Jamaica memorable. I would highly recommend this vacation location to others. The sesame street kids camp staff were awesome as well, our kids really enjoyed themselves. We hope to go back again sometime in the near future. Thank you to the people of Jamaica for making our stay memorable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4941 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great fun for the kids!

    Reviewed by Odyssey67310839771(Ottawa, Canada) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Water park and evening activities are best parts of this resort. Did not customize meals for dietary restrictions as promised. Bedrooms are ok. Bed sheets are not changed daily. Staff are overall pleasant.

    Family holiday we will cherish forever

    Reviewed by Bradas86() on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I’ll try and break things down for easy reading but in short we are very glad we booked here and we had a week together as a family that was a holiday of a life time. Lots of negative comments on trip adviser made me worry but I didn’t agree with most of them after being there. Resort- the property is beautiful. It’s very well looked after. There are a few bits here and there that need attention like randomly the lift but overall it’s kept very well. We absolutely loved the beach. There are sort of 2 beaches and one is more secluded than the other and both are kept extremely well maintained with some nice sort of ring things that you can sit in, in the water. Bars are spread nicely so you are not to far from a drink and the pool service is pretty good anyway. In fact it’s probably been the best most friendly pool service we’ve had in our fortunate experience of different resorts. Service- 90% of the staff were cheerful and happy (there was the odd 1 or 2 we came across that we didn’t like as they seemed grump). There were staff that learnt our children’s names and said hello to them and made a fuss of my 9 month old every time they saw her. Some staff would come by and pick up my daughter and make a fuss of her for a while. Alex R particularly from the entertainment service was brilliant with the children and so friendly to us. One night in the Italian restaurant the waitress could see me and my wife hand our hands full with the children so she came over and cut up my sons pizza for him! Food- overall the food was extremely nice. My only criticism is that I think we’ve been to resorts where there has been a bigger choice but that’s just greed really as there were still lots to choose from. Lunch- The pizzas are cooked in a proper pizza oven and are really nice. Burgers were nice but I think could be improved . The buffet lunch was really lovely. Dinner- the Italian was great. Neptune’s - I had a steak one night which was fantastic and another a few nights later that was fatty and tough but I think that can happen sometimes and is just dependent on the cut you get that night. Neptune’s was our favorite because of the location of it. Trips- we went on the boat trip that they do. It’s advertised as 3 hours although ours was only 2 and a half. It was brilliant. Great party vibe but still family friendly. Our son (nearly 4) and our daughter (9 months) had fun and the food served was really nice. Staff were great. Snorkeling was cool. We also did the koko falls trip ( I think that’s what it’s called). And although you would never be able to do that in the UK because of the danger involved, we loved it. You get to climb up a waterfall. The kids came with us and we had so much fun. Children- our 2 children, my son nearly 4 and my daughter 9 months were really catered for . Kids club was amazing because you didn’t need to book, could turn up when ever you wanted and they were open from 9-9. The entertainment for the children was brilliant. I’ve not given this 5 stars because I feel that it was actually quite expensive. What I mean is that we have been to many resorts that have been just as good but have been quite a bit cheaper. I think the lunch at the bbq place could be slightly improved (quality of burgers and buns, children’s menu). General notes for word searching and general comments and tips . I’d recommend the Greek rooms. Amazing view and nice location. I’m a cigar smoker and there’s a lovely spot for a cigar over looking the sea that’s not to far from a bar. Seats need to be improved as it’s juts wooden benches. Whiskey sours were lovely. Try the rum punch Be careful when the sprinklers are on. My son slipped over on the path way. Try the beach that you can’t see at first. It’s more secluded and quiet. Anyone reading this that’s booked and is due to stay. Lucky you. You’ll have a lovely time.

    Family at the Beaches

    Reviewed by Trail22236393951() on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Beaches in Ocho Rios is an older resort but well maintained. We had a most magical, family vacation. Most of the staff were exceptionally nice, but a few were not very friendly. The food was good, but not exceptional. The room was great and the entertainment was fun and energetic. My family enjoyed snorkeling but not a lot of color and fish in the reef right off the shoreline. Hated the 2 hour ride from the airport! Absolutely loved the Jamaican people and culture. I felt safe at the resort and in Jamaica.

    Poor communication and unfulfilling promises

    Reviewed by hookandhauler(Washington DC, District of Columbia) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Beaches Ocho Rios has potential however it lacks in two main elements; Communication and top level customer service. I visited the resort from 5/15 - 5/22 in the Greek oceanfront suite. Upon arrival we were given a brief orientation and taken to our rooms. My one star review begins with a week ago in a follow up conversation with Beaches (sales team). My wife and I wanted to be properly prepared as far as simple amenities such as a toothbrush, toothpaste, shaving cream etc. The sales rep informed us that absolutely that all of it was included. Upon checking in those items were not in the room so I contacted customer service for those items. They said I would have to go to the beaches store to purchase those items. After going back and forth regarding the previous conversation they said they would get back to me regarding obtaining a toothbrush and toothpaste. Yes, really. Come on beaches it’s a toothbrush and toothpaste, get real. We went out to the pool and came back to the room to find no toothbrushes or toothpaste. Again, I place another call and again they tell me it’s for purchase only. After wasting about an hour of my first day on hold or speaking to several different people I get a simple toothbrush and toothpaste. Not the best first day. On the second day on my way to taking my son to the kids camp, I followed up with the front desk regarding my $250 spa credit and catamaran and how we book those. Upon checking they don’t see either of those in the system. At this point, I’ve had enough of Beaches and their lack of communication and customer service for the amount of money spent. I waste another 30minutes while they go in the back to speak with their managers. After all that, the representative I spoke with Danielle said they would need to get back to me after they review the phone call and records from my salesperson. They also said they would check the phone call regarding the toothbrush and toothpaste. Shortly later, I follow up with Danielle who confirms that they found the $250 spa and catamaran credit. She also says they put $500 for the spa credit for the inconvenience. Danielle states she spoke with Charles the manager on duty. Prior leaving I confirmed with her again regarding the $500 spa credit and she says “Yes.” Later in the day, I go to the spa to check available options and ask whether they see the credit in the system. The spa says they only see $250. I said I would refollow up with Danielle. At lunch time, I see Danielle and tell her that the spa credit is only showing the original $250. She says she would follow up. No follow up occurs. The next morning, I go to the lobby and ask for Danielle. They inform me that she is working at another part of the resort today. I again let them know the prior conversation. This time Yanique takes my information and goes back and forth trying to figure it out. After waiting 30 minutes, I tell her I need to enjoy my day and could she follow up with me or my concierge. She said ok. Around lunch time, I go to pick up my son from the kids camp and refollow up with the front desk. This time, they said they would go get operations manager on duty. The operations manager on duty David Kerr comes out and is inauthentic as one could be sarcastically asks how my trip is going and I tell him not the best and how communication and customer service has been subpar. He says he’s sorry to hear about that and is direct in saying they are not honoring the $500 spa credit as Danielle had promised. I said well, I definitely wouldn’t be visiting Beaches ever again. David says, “That’s ok.” At no point was David ever trying to regain me as a Beaches customer or loyalist. His personality lack any sort of sincerity or want to make things right. As the operations manager, David left me feeling the wrong way about the Beaches model. Long story short, the resort and general staff were very nice. However, the front desk, sales team and management staff earn this 1 star review and do not live up to their promises. I was really disappointed in how this experience turned out.

    Room leak

    Reviewed by Road576688() on May 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall nice trip. Went with older teens that had a great time just doing water activities. Some activities were cancelled due to low turn out (the resort was at 30% occupancy). The resort lobby is not as grand as a lot of sandals, and there’s some obvious places that needed work, but it didn’t effect activities. On our second to last day, our air conditioning unit got clogged up and leaked all over the entryway, down the walls and into our bathroom. It took a couple of calls to get someone to come help. When they finished, they said someone would be up to clean up the mess. They never showed and we wanted to go to bed so we had to clean up all the water and air conditioning gunk ourselves.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX