Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    I'd go back.

    Reviewed by Mi on Jul 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    Had a great stay with a group of friends. Great staff. Rooms were clean and tidy. Beach was good - not long for walking but pleasantly swimmable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    G

    Resort grew on me. The longer I stayed here, the more I liked it.

    Reviewed by Gerri K on Jul 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Check in and check out was very fast and efficient. Staff very friendly and helpful. Resort is beautiful. The grounds are very well kept and lush with lots of shade and big trees. Beautiful spa and wedding venue here. Older hotel that comes with issues associated with old technology. AC was not cold enough, even on the lowest setting. Water stopped running altogether while in the middle of a shower. Bed was old and not comfortable. Room is huge and bathroom well laid out with separate sink area and a separate little room with a safe and lots of clothes hanging and shelf space. Beach : The best part of this resort is the beach. Lots of shade under the big trees, shallow calm warm water. Loved spending hours in the ocean here ! Food : Very good, even at the buffet, on par for a 4 * resort. Only complaint is that at the Platinum ala carte restaurant, a strict dress code is in effect, that is enforced by the staff. Long dress pants for men and ladies dress or covered up. In this heat with AC not great, this is an issue for guests on vacation and not used to the heat. I loved the jerk chicken served at the grill. Also the wood fired pizza place serving delicious pizzas. Japanese tepenyaki restaurant was only OK, no show from the chef and food was hastily prepared and served. Travel time from the airport is 1 hour 40 minutes. Dunns River Falls is 10 minutes away, a must do excursion walking up the falls in the shallow water in the shade.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Nice grounds. A bit of noise from construction site next door but not intrusive and couldn't be heard once the door closed.

    Reviewed by MI on Jul 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    Lovely staff.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Almost Paradise

    Reviewed by JR on Jul 05, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    The property is lush and extremely inviting. The food is honestly to die for and the service is exceptional. With a few minor upgrades, I believe this will be a truly exceptional hotel. The WiFi is hit and miss, but hey you are in paradise stay off the technology. As well I found the air-conditioning to not be strong enough for me personally. But they are just minor things that didn't take too much away from a fantastic resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Loved the friendliness of the staff, wifi needs work

    Reviewed by Danielle on Jun 30, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Lovely adults only resort. The service was fantastic. The ac worked nicely which can be hard to find

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    E

    Looking to Just Chill... Well Jewel Dunns River is the vacation spot for you.....

    Reviewed by EJ Alexis on Jun 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    I like this hotel beacuse it has a whimsy charm that you feel as you walk into the lobby and beyond...you feel like you are among friends just ready to have a chill and relax time at this resort. Best ice coffee i ever had was at the cafe and you have to try the chocolate pizza with pineapple and banana. Nice selection of resturants.. loved the Italian just to dine next to the sound of the waves is spectacular. Great location and nice beach.. The staff were easy going they felt like family... Jamaica Does not dissapoint..This hotel is very close to the Famous Dunn River Fallls.. And you must climb the waterfall .Amazing experience

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    Older hotel but beautiful little beach. Closer to 3.5 star

    Reviewed by Heather S on Jun 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    The Jewel Dunn's River is a smaller resort with great potential. The beach is smaller but beautiful and soft sand. It's easy to walk into the ocean and very little seaweed. The pools were medium sized and had swim-up bar service. There was an activity pool and a quiet pool and it was great to have options. The WiFi is sporadic at best but usually non-existent. The hotel said they are working on a solution so hopefully this will improve. To put it in perspective, I had better WiFi on our tour bus than at our resort. The rooms are quite dated but very clean and the housekeeping staff are awesome. The mattresses are very old but the hotel has foam mattress toppers available, which helps a lot. They definitely need to look at sound-proofing their rooms because you could hear every sound & conversation from the hallway while inside your room. The food was basic at the buffet for breakfast but there was always something for everyone. The food at the Platinum is great! Highly recommend it. Just be sure to bring clothes for their dress code. The Irie Cafe had great frozen coffee and the pizza restaurant made great thin crust pizzas. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. All in all, I would recommend this hotel but with the expectation of a 3.5 to 4 star

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Nice hotel with beautiful beaches and good food.

    Reviewed by TC on Jun 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    This was a nice hotel. My room was spacious and clean with a breathtaking ocean view. The food was good and the service was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Loved it, amazing hospitality!

    Reviewed by Sylvie on Jun 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    I personally really enjoyed this resort. Everything was within a few steps, pool, restaurants, beach, spa etc... The number one thing here is the service. They are amazing, they make you feel like royalty, very friendly staff and amazing food. I was very impressed with the options at the buffet as well as the a la carte restaurants. One downfall was water pressure in shower and lack of internet service in various spots. Other than that I would go again any day :)

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    s

    Hard to beat the ocean view

    Reviewed by stoker on Jun 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    A great overall fun Jamaican vibe in this hotel. Food and staff were great. A little pricey for an older hotel that needs some updates but I would go back for the right price. Wifi needs updating.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6779 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful and relaxing

    Reviewed by nerissat75() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This resort is full of warm, pleasant staff. The rooms are a bit dated but the property is pretty immaculate. We stayed in an Emerald Lanai room - definitely recommend. We were close to both pools and all the restaurants. I do wish the restaurants served more local faire, but the food overall was good. The only restaurant I wasn't crazy about was Jade Samurai. Not bad - just not my favorite. While I think I understand why, the drinks are very watered down. It makes sense to somehow try to limit over-consumption at an all-inclusive resort, but we ended always having to order doubles just to get a buzz!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    It was awesome

    Reviewed by Pooh845() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My son and I was there on a day pass..the 18th of July 2019....fabulous I had a massage with Deedre...tumbs up.,it was gooood The ambiance was so beautiful.. The beach was our spot...nice WE will be back...with company.. Thank you all so much for making our day spectacular...

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Awesome!

    Reviewed by Trek50452661175(Sunman, Indiana) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It is a rather far drive from the airport and needs updated, but this hotel is top notch. The food is amazing and very tasty! We had a lot of fun and we would definitely come back. Everyone was very polite and we were able to go on a couple excursions that were fantastic. The Catamaran I would highly recommend.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Awesome resort

    Reviewed by nelyb292019() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I had an amazing experience here while on our honeymoon. We enjoyed the daily activities the resort had. We also enjoyed how each night was different and fun. There were two major downfalls for us. One, we did not realize that the resort is about 1.5-2 hours away from the airport and the second downfall for us, was that the wifi connection was not great. We wanted to connect with our family back home and it Was difficult making calls. Otherwise, absolutely everything was amazing!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Friday Night Street Party.

    Reviewed by Charisse P(Kingston, Jamaica) on Jul 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It had been a hard week and i wanted to unwind. It had been awhile since I visited Jewel Dunns River and I had heard they were doing a Friday night Street Party so thought it sounded like a great time to go on an evening pass. I was truly pleasantly surprised. Jewel Dunn's River were able to create a Jamaican Street Party with such authencity it made me nostalgic. From the Coconut, Sugarcane and Peanut vendors to the different food stations offering there fare of jerk and curry dishes along with Jamaican red peas and crayfish soup and a selection of mouth watering desserts my appetite was wonderfully sated. The food and beverage staff seemed to pre-empt ones every request as I watched them move from table to table getting chocolate tea and sugarcane while deftly clearing tables swiftly and effortlessly and delivering excellent service to all with a smile. It was heartwarming to see. Jewel, Dunn's River, I came to unwind but my experience that evening made my weekend. Thank you All. I will be back soon.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX