JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    S

    Perfect for a rest and to enjoy the beauty of the grounds, I think it's around 480 acres!

    Reviewed by Susanne on Dec 06, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We will go back for sure. It's perfect for a relaxing trip. We didn't have a car and that was just fine. Enough choices of restaurants and good food. Loved the Japanese one that cooks at your table. If you do have a car self parking if free (huge!). We got a $50 a day credit as well so that worked for our breakfast buffet. Loved our stay!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    j

    Feels like an all-inclusive

    Reviewed by jennylee on Jan 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Traveled with my husband and kids aged 6 & 8. We stayed for 4 days/nights and never left the property. Only draw back was mini golf and driving range were closed due to re-seeding. My kids had really been looking forward to those amenities but ended up being perfectly happy in the pool all day.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    outstanding

    Reviewed by calgary on Apr 07, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    staff were great-loved the directions - to get there and back -was very helpful in reaching destinations and return wondered why the cleaning did not vaccum floor in room - full of popcorn ? great service thou in room

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2591 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    What a Shame - make sure your room is remodeled!!

    Reviewed by LuxuryTraveler812(Beverly Hills, California) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I’ve been coming to this beautiful hotel for over twenty years. It’s such a shame they have let it go to such a poor state... particularly the rooms, bathrooms and hallways. This weekend they charged $695 per night for a room. We booked four months in advance thinking they have remodeled as their website stated... upon checkin we were notified there are only a few remodeled rooms and they are not available. The current rooms look like abandoned motel rooms.. the showers are old, cracked tiles and full of mildew. The floors and carpets stained and dirty... furniture old and decrepit. Hallways have full air conditioning blowing to get rid of the smell. To ad insult to injury, we were awakened by Loud construction banging at 8:00 am on a Saturday morning. When I called the lobby I was told they are not using power tools so it shouldn’t be a problem... well, I would take a power tool of a hammer any day of the week.. but not for $700 per night!! Ordered room service for our girls.. took 15 minute hold time to get room service on the phone.. and the food was horrible! Also.. be aware, unless you are going in the summer.. there are no kid activities.. no kids club This hotel has cut corners across the board. The facade is beautiful.. gorgeous landscaping.. but if you are into nice rooms and food.. stay somewhere else!

    Great views, great service

    Reviewed by cliffo173(Fuquay-Varina, United States) on Mar 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Class act. Two 18-hole golf courses make a great backdrop of a manicured property. Dozens of breeds of water birds (and others) all over the place -- without intruding into your space. Good food options, although I miss their having an Italian option. The Marriott folks treat you well.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Fall fling

    Reviewed by Chandlergecko(Sun Lakes, Arizona) on Mar 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My daughter and I took a little mother daughter trip to Palm Desert and really loved staying at the JW Marriott there. It’s a jewel in the desert for sure! Several restaurants are onsite as well as lovely pools and shopping. It’s very close to the aerial tram in Palm Springs. We will definitely return!

    No need to look further!

    Reviewed by janet b(Victoria, Canada) on Mar 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first trip to Palm Springs.We had gone to Scottsdale most years but our daughter, her husband and our granddaughter were renting a home there so we went and loved every minute of our stay. We got a great rate with West Jet Vacations (days of the week can change price of your total stay) that included air fare and this hotel. I called the week before we arrived to confirm everything and Daniel at the front desk really helped us out. We got our King room looking out the front of the hotel at the pink flamingos in the water and partial view of golf course 7th floor. The hotel is going under a re-construction and we noticed nothing and heard nothing. Our room had been re-done and was looking fresh and updated (ha ha ....you need to replace the 1980s telephone) I really like the wall paper in your open hallway and think you should continue it into the rooms as this would add to the warmth of the room as well. Loved the wall interpretation of the beautiful hills, the bed was comfortable and loved the head board with built in lights. Mini fridge, wonderful balcony with chairs and table, new bath room, fancy new tub and great personal amenities. I would like to offer a suggestion with shower re-design-the very small lip that raises the floor just a hair above the shower floor is not enough to keep water from seeping out onto the rest of the bathroom floor. I am surprised it was not built higher, we had to remove the sq. that covers the floor drain because in our opinion it is cut just a bit too tight to let water floor quickly from the shower. A fancy grate would work better in my humble opinion, and to also prevent water damage to the other areas. Bathrobes are supplied as well and you can pick the time of day you want your room made up. Free bottled water is replaced daily. We had an incident that was handled quickly and professionally by Sathesh Dias-thank you! I was also feeling very ill one day-too much walking around the Living Desert and the hot weather that day and came back trying to get into my room quickly with housekeeping staff near by heard me having trouble getting my door to open. Later that day a staff member from the front desk called to ask if I was feeling better!!! My husband and I played golf and after purchasing a sun hat and golf balls we were nicely surprised that we did not have to pay for club rental-what a treat that was! Golf course was beautiful with ice pack in the back for your waters. We ate several meals at the Rockwood Grill with wonderful staff especially Ronnie, food was great and it was lovely to sit outside by the lake they have, watching the free boat that takes you on a short 5-8 min ride around the lake (free from 4-8 pm I think?) You can eat all meals here or enjoy the other restaurants at the property. Room service was prompt and delicious, a bit expensive but it always is and sometimes I just want to relax in the morning on the balcony! There is a Starbucks on the property in the ENORMOUS lobby (inside lake included) and you can pick up items there for much less money or the great inclusive gift shop sells everything and was adding sandwiches, salads, yogurt etc to their sales , you can purchase wine, beer, cereal, food items as well as cute gifts. There is free 18 holes putting course pick up your club and balls in the lobby, as well, it is lit at night to play until 8 pm Our room looked into the huge lobby that has water for the boats and a huge lounge for small food items and an enormous bar. On your way out of the lobby don't forget to pick up your free chocolate dipped marshmallow treats or cold fresh strawberry and watermelon water . If you have kids that need to go to bed early do not get an inside room that opens to the lobby as on Friday night they have live entertainment that you can hear into your room until about 9:30 pm The grounds are huge and lots of room to stay close to or further away from the main building. There is a Ralphs Grocery store within walking distance and pharmacy about a 10 min walk from hotel. There are several pools to choose from all with views of the beautiful mountains I would certainly return, staff made you feel at home, everyone goes out of their way to assist -all you have to do is ask. West Jet pkg gave us a $150 credit at the hotel as well. I would like to suggest that the hotel provide a bike rental service as we would have taken advantage of this as we had no car and love to ride and explore new places. Thanks again!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Suite Treatment

    Reviewed by tunein1(Beaumont, California) on Mar 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Marriott Desert Springs is a very nice resort, we had a villa a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit and it is plenty big. Kids are allowed to swim at any time of the day. They have some nice pools and spa, and at one of the pools they have pool service and outside cafe.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX