Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    R

    We enjoyed our stay and especially service in the cafeteria.

    Reviewed by Ray on Jun 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great location. We like to walk the beach and while we were limited in one direction, there was ample distance in the other direction. The food was good to great, especially the days they had a full range of fruit in the side bar. Service at bars was good. Entertainment could use some improvement. Room fridge bar was mostly not stocked ... Staff doesn't understand English well enough to get full picture of amenities, etc. Overall though we were very pleased and had a great stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Always Enjoy our Visits. Entertainment Team is terrific.

    Reviewed by Laura K. on May 22, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    We've made several visits with teens to Sunscape PV in the past few years, and recently enjoyed stays in February 2019 and March 2019. Westjet flights were on-time with good service as usual. The hotel is in a great central location and the staff are excellent. We enjoy meals at DaMario, Seaside Grill and breakfast at World Cafe, plus countless burgers, fries and chicken fajitas at the Barefoot Grill by the pool. Just like everywhere else, it gets busy around the pool/beach during peak season and you need to grab a chair by 8:00 am. Love the lively atmosphere with lots of fun activities throughout the day, plus evening shows/movies. The Entertainment Team is the best - gracias Eduardo, David, Daniel, Marisol. See you soon! We're booked to return again in February 2020.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    would never go back

    Reviewed by Carter on Apr 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Overall extremely disappointing, the only good part is the staff. The food is really sub par, pool doesn't have enough chairs. Beds were never made and fridge was never restocked.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Not worth the money

    Reviewed by Mark on Apr 16, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    I am going to start out with the good, shouldn't take too long. The rooms were clean, the housekeeping was spectacular, check- in was easy, pool and beach were great. Now the downer! The food was average with smaller buffet than normal and food handling was questionable (uncooked hot dogs at lunch). All 3 of us got sick on day 4 from something at the Mexican theme night...badly sick. Now, we were questioning the customer service around the resort on day 1, and when we got sick, this was proven in a major way that they did not care. We were severely dehydrated and not 1 person at front desk, coffee shop, restaurant helped with providing water bottles. The resorts new concept is that they were getting away from water bottles at the resort but also do not have an alternate plan in place (filtered tap water, water dispensers) to offer. We did write a statement to Rogelio who was a self-proclaimed 20 some year old "big shot" at the resort and would look after us. Sure enough, he cared the least and basically ignored us until we left, we never heard a word from anyone. Seems like if you don't have a problem, the resort would just be ok, if you have a problem...good luck. Even when they did break down and decided to give us 1 water bottle, it was with attitude. Like we said, not worth the money for the value and there are definitely much better resorts to stay at in PV. Definitely not a 4 star resort. The sound from slamming doors and thin walls was close to unbearable but at the same time, guests need to be smarter and more respectful. Bring ear plugs. This trip actually kind of turned us away from All-Inclusive and will rent a condo instead. We are not generally picky and the only reason we are writing this review is to forewarn anyone that the potential is there to not have a good stay. Just thought we would share our experience so others don't get disappointed since there are much better places to stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    AMRESORTS GET YOUR NAME OFF THIS PLACE! LIPSTICK ON A PIG IS STILL A PIG.

    Reviewed by Tim on Mar 15, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    First of all if you are used to a 3 or 3-1/2 star resorts then you will be pleased with this place, but 4 stars??? not a chance, not even close, unless you are rating it on some of the staff. My experience, was fine, got my room and found blood droplets all across our floor, told the front desk and they would send someone up right away. Went downstairs for something to eat came back and could not get back into my room because locking mechanism was shot had to be replaced. Continued with our day. Elevators lol, they had 3 in our tower and only one worked the day we got there, it was hit and miss the rest of the two weeks mostly 2 worked, (FYI, the control panel that houses all the switches that is held on the wall by 10 screws, should not only have 1 screw holding it together and the piece of wood on the other door that make the door shut properly is a nice touch). We had the 16th floor fantastic view but don't look at the roof of the other tower because it looks like crap, along with the poor paint job and the old ladder lying up there. To many misses at this resort, poor workmanship in the up dating processes, our sink fell out in the middle of the night, a popular coffee bar that is staffed by one person with real long waits, some days getting towels for your rooms and some days not, having your Mini fridge refilled twice in two weeks(just ended up running to store and purchased our own water and beer), bars that sometimes are under staffed, having to be up by 7.30am and break the rules by putting towels on chairs if you plan on getting one, short at least 50 chairs, so many little things makes it impossible to call this place 4 stars, if not for the staff I'd give it a 2-1/2. Kids club was good the other couple we traveled with used it along with baby sitting, food was hit and miss sometimes hot sometimes cold, but there wings are fantastic and the Seaside grill was very good, bottom line a 3 dress up as a 9! Amresorts you ripped me off but why would you care!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    Stay Away!!!!

    Reviewed by Jaydsmom on Feb 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    I go to PVR 2-3 times a year and have never been disappointed until now. We booked the Oceanfront Romance Suite with Sunclub. Not only was it not oceanfront, we overlooked the kiddie pool and the building the garbage is kept behind. The room with filthy. The food was abysmal and cross contamination everywhere. I have Crohn's and can't eat meat but all the food was cooked together. My husband's burger was raw, and there was mold on the food! (I have pictures). The timeshare is a very hard sell, they push it constantly and when you say no, they get angry. We stayed 2 nights and paid WJ an additional $6200 for a different hotel. The hotel charged us a 4 night penalty, and then didn't even give us the one night back because we stayed after check-out, but only because they kept us there talking, and wouldn't let us leave. Worst experience ever. DO NOT stay here like us, or your $6000 vacation will suddenly be a $12,000 vacation for 7 days when you realize you cannot stay a day longer in this place.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    M

    Think twice!

    Reviewed by Mouse17 on Dec 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Highly disappointing: -$45 per day charge for room service -only wifi in the small entrance area (not anywhere else in the hotel) -mini bar fridge was not restocked...sign says to call concierge for beverages...they told me fridge would be restocked day before we leave -tap on bathroom sink is loose and shower pours under the glass door all over the bathroom by the toilet -shower door opens to bang into the other bathroom door -holes in the curtains in the room -sheets leave fabric balls in the blankets my kids brought with them -my husband asked for a table for 5 in the main restaurant when it was nearly empty... the staff told him all 5 people had to be present to get the table -I tried to order an item off the menu and was told I had to sit in a separate area to order (choose buffet area OR a la carte area) -had to ask the servers to clear our plates from the table -snacks and sandwiches at coffee/snack stand taste stale -wanted to take a snack from Mexican restaurant to the lobby bar but one must sit down and eat the food at the restaurant -selection at buffet is limited for a 4 star... only two types of ice cream, two types of fruit in the serving tray... food is good but certainly not exceptional -only one main pool too deep for my 8 and 10 year old to touch the bottom and then a very small baby pool -daughter of 8 years said Kids Club was for babies -roped off area at the beach is small - kids get bored quickly -gym is extremely limited... another guest who I don?t know said, ?It?s hard to know what to choose... there is so little choice.? -Tv/music in the gym didn?t work -water flooding over the balcony of a room into the lobby (see video) -display Christmas tree in lobby is dying -cushions in entrance wifi area are dirty Overall, just not the cleanliness, service, or amenities expected.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    P

    Pool dirty not heated/and cool

    Reviewed by Patrick on Sep 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    No

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    p

    poor

    Reviewed by patrick on Apr 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    pool unheated not enought chairs around pool fridge never restocked

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    B

    Overall just an average experience compared to others, would not stay here again. Location Great! and Desk staff were excellent!

    Reviewed by Becca1977 on Apr 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a very dated hotel, but was clean and the staff did their best to accommodate. Limited seating at pool and beach. Dissappointed with Bar Service, Drinks were overly strong and not mixed well, did not enjoy many things, and don't consider myself to be overly fussy, also was ignored many times, money talks, have a tip in hand, if you want a drink quickly.. Food and staff was best at Tiki Taco, Italian and Seafood, other choices okay but nothing special. Some staff were excellent, while others were just okay, did not find many to be overly invested or friendly like I have experienced at other places.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3066 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great family vacation

    Reviewed by Welovebeachvacations(Worcester, Massachusetts) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is my family second stay at a sunscape resort (Jamaica 2016 you can read review in my profile). My husband and 3 children ages 8/4/2 came along. Consistent with Sunscape- customer service from 95% of the staff no matter their job title is unbeatable. You feel at home the minute you arrive. They remember your name, they respond quickly to complaints or requests, and you are never left feeling lost in the crowd. Also the Sunscape entertainment team is unmatched compared to other resorts entertaonment. Thirdly their kids club "Explorer's Club" staff and activities were awesome. It did suck that I had to pay for my 2 yr old to be in their with a babysitter (also a kids club employee) but no extra charge ages 3+. They loved it and gave me and my husband well needed alone time. Pro: (Puerto Vallarta only) its in a very great location where you can walk to a full mall (Forever 21, Starbucks, bath and body works, etc) as well as a coin op laundry mat, convienence stores, and access to local transportation. My husband took a cab to the Walmart to buy a bday cake for our baby who turned 2 on the trip; 10min ride. Local restaurants and dining such as Dominos and wings places. Cons: food at the resort was a 3/10 except 4th of July and breakfast is usually manageable. But food quality being mass produced for a mixed crowd is a risk with any vacation. Secondly, the pool closes too early at 8pm, especially because the sun is still high in the sky and for younger swimmers or people who feel safer in the pool due to rip tides in the beach this cuts their swimming short. I think its reasonable to keep pool open until the sun is almost down. Suggestions for this resort: Reduce the babysitting price, more parent would utilize the service, I'm sure $15USD makes most people decide to keep their younger ones. Or make an annex to the explorers club for baby's and charge a weekly or daily rate with activities and such. Cruise ships do this and lots profitable for you and an added bonus for parents who will go out and spend more money when they don't have a baby on their arms! Offer a bus to a local night hot spot a few times a week and charge a minimal fee. Instead of the cab drivers getting the money. One drop off and one pick up, you'll get some money back from the places you sponsor or endorse and guest will enjoy the opportunity of not having to decide what to do for late night fun and just get to go. My family will be back to Sunscape locations.

    From initial disappointment to a very enjoyable holiday.

    Reviewed by Paul B() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I've just arrived back from the Sunscape Resort and Spa after spending two weeks here as a group of four adult couples and have to say we have had a brilliant time. Our initial disappointment felt by all our group was down to the size of the resort, which is not the biggest we've stayed on, BUT it has everything you need, more about this later. Checking in: On arrival we were greeted with a drink, handed our luggage over and checked in. We had to wait for a couple of hours for our rooms to be ready, but we took this as an opportunity to sample some refreshments from the bar. ?? Rooms: Our room was spacious, clean, well maintained and had two double beds, fridge with drinks, coffee making facilities, bathroom, TV, iron and ironing board, table and chairs and balcony with table and chairs and was cleaned daily. Resort & amenities: As I said previously the resort is not the biggest, but it has three bars; the lobby bar with seating and entertainment areas, a bar in the pool and a beach bar. There are four restaurants; the self-serve buffet, A La Carte, Mexican and Italian. There's a shopping mall on site, tennis courts, volleyball area, private beach, large pool, kiddies pool and playground, poolside games and more. Staff: The staff are probably what made this holiday for us, everyone was so friendly, polite and helpful and you really feel that your holiday experience is important to them. Our favourite members of staff were Francisco and Carolina at the beach bar who would come and search for us regardless of where on the beach or around the pool we were and kept us well supplied with drinks throughout the day, drinks even appeared without us asking for them; Francisco is a genuinely nice chap and if we could have we'd have brought him home with us. ?? Jose Luis at the beach bar was also very friendly and a good crack. Cruz at the lobby bar was especially friendly with us, she was great, Pontoon at the lobby bar kept a good eye on who was to be served next and just like the beach staff would suddenly present some drinks for us without us asking for them. Patricia at the 24-hour coffee bar was great too. We only went to the Italian restaurant on one occasion during our stay (our last night) but I have to say that Angelico, Miguel and Brando treated us like kings; on reflection we should have visited here more often. We were given reason to complain about two members of staff from the A La Carte restaurant at the very end of our stay after they were extremely rude to us after forgetting a meal. This was dealt with very promptly by the Manager and the he took the time to come and visit us in the Italian that evening to ensure all was good. I think that to have only had this one occasion to complain when there seems to be hundreds of staff on site reflects how important it is to them to ensure your holiday experience is an enjoyable one. Food & drink: if like me you like a full English you won’t get that here; after all this is Mexico, and just the same as other places I’ve been to e.g. Jamaica or Egypt the local cuisine is what you should be expecting. You will find a large variety of cereals, fruit, pastries and doughnuts, breads, sausage, omelette, scrambled and fried eggs, waffles, scotch pancakes and local dishes like beef stew. The buffet restaurant at lunch time serves dishes such as beef, pork, chicken, fish, rice, pasta, stews, tortillas and so on as well as cakes and ice cream. The A La Carte menu at lunch time has soups, fish, club sandwich, Philly cheese steak sandwich and deserts and so on. If the restaurant doesn’t tickle your fancy, then there’s a hotdog bar and burger bar for lunch where you can also get a plate of nachos. The choice of food in the evening from the buffet is very much the same as for lunch while the A La Carte serves steaks, beef medallion and fish dishes as well as a selection of starters and deserts and is very good. The Mexican restaurant serves dishes like curry, burritos, rice, deserts and such which are delicious, but be prepared to be hot while you are in here because even though it’s air conditioned the fact that the meals are cooked on hot plates in the restaurant itself means that the place is always very hot. As I said before we only visited the Italian restaurant on our last night; this was a mistake because the food in here is fantastic and the service is great too. In here they serve pastas, lasagne, risotto, ravioli, steak, chicken, deserts and ice cream all accompanied by wine, beer or soft drinks and water. The 24-hour coffee bar serves a variety of coffees, sandwiches such as cheese and ham, tuna or egg, pastries, pizza and doughnuts at any time of the day, so if a midnight snack grabs you then this is the place for you. The three bars on the complex serve beer, spirits and what seems like an endless array of cocktails, and of course – tequila. Entertainment: the entertainment team here go all out to provide fun and games in the pool, the volley-ball court and the beach and the team are still going well into the night by joining in the night-time entertainment too. On the beach there’s a variety of water sports; jet-skis, parasailing and kayaks, as well as beach football and at poolside you’ll find things like tequila tasting sessions going on. The night-time entertainment takes place each night down by the pool bar, this consists of light shows, circus, acrobatics, beach party etc. After the entertainment you can retire to the lobby bar for the live bands who I thought were very good; they do a mix of modern and local songs. One thing I would like to mention is that while we were here it was the 4th July and they went all out to put on a great performance, Harley Davidsons riding around the pool, marches, man versus food contest, poolside live band, fireworks and so forth. The food on this night was also amazing, things like chicken wings and ribs; all American food. There’s also a Mexican night one night per week which I can’t really comment on since we were off complex for one of them and the other was our Italian night. Location: The transfer from the airport is about 10 minutes – so short and sweet. The resort is located about 10 minutes’ drive outside of town at a cost of about £8.00 in a taxi. Just outside the hotel you’ll find a large shopping complex, District 5 bars, an Irish bar, sports bar, and various shops and restaurants. The town centre hosts lots of shops, bars and restaurants, gay village, beaches, water sports, beach front bars and you’ll pay anything from about £1.50 for a bottle of Corona to about £3.50 and the food is well priced too. You’ll also find a few markets in the Old Town which are well worth a visit if shopping for gifts and souvenirs is your thing. Overall: this resort is in a great location, has ample amenities, serves some tremendous food and drink, provides activities and entertainment for everyone, and has some of the friendliest staff I’ve encountered on holiday. I would recommend and would visit again.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    2019 Puerto Vallarta

    Reviewed by Jose G() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The place was cool but the food options need to improve. The pool should be open past 8 PM. Waiters should get extra help at night to attend the bigger amount of customers and not run thin. The deserts can also improve and change it up.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    All inclusive that is not not so inclusive

    Reviewed by Fun_2_Travelllll(Sacramento, California) on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Pros: The workers there thrive to serve you well, friendly, helpful, and pleasant Upon checking in I was welcomed by front desk employee Karla. She was very professional and easy to talk to. She explained how things works and what is there to do. She suggested to purchase in room wi-if so I did. There is kids club and teenagers club filled with fun activities. The guy ( don’t remember his name- starts with Z ) dose a wonderful job entertaining kids ! There is daily activities by pool area : clown, camp fire, Zumba, movie and so on Cons: Food is like others said is not good, it feels like they only have one type of seasoning and they use it on all : chicken, wings, beef, potatoes,all test same. Ribs are rubbery . World buffet have eggs for breakfast but no bacon.Fancy Italian restaurant meal test same as low grade local food.The seaside grill has best food but seasoning is same as potatoes from world buffet. Pool - people claim their poolside lounge by leaving their belongings on them and go on with their daily activities,dining, leaving others without it. See attached picture from my balcony of adjusted resort and suns cape taken at same time of the day and you will understand The fix for it possibly can be requesting room number for beach towels and rent them for no longer than 4 hr with sufficient charge for delay or not returned towel. Sun Club it’s extra $30-45 a day to get benefits of room service ( I’m not talking about cleaning), you need it if you want lounge with umbrella over your head at the beach, special sunclub club with same low quality food, and other not so important benefits. The beach - this area have a big problem with rip current , so please don’t let your kid play alone at the beach . Water is not very clean and accidents happens frequently there due to rip current.This problem is consistent in all adjusted hotels on that long stretch . Garza Blanka would be a perfect choice to avoid all that ,but its not for budget travelers It’s and all inclusive where you get nickel and dimed

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Wanted to send praise for beach/pool waiter Jose Luis

    Reviewed by KennSTL() on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the resort in mid June, and there was one employee in particular-pool and beach waiter Jose Luis-who stood out due to his friendly, helpful spirit, attitude, and great attention that he pays to his customers. He is one of the best waiters / employees we have ever encountered on our many trips to Mexico resorts over the years. Way to go Jose, love from mid-America!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX