Grand Bahia Principe Aquamarine

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    R

    We enjoy our stay but had our expectation up because of our experience at the Adult Grand Bahia in Jamaica. In that respect disappointed

    Reviewed by Richard on Mar 25, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Great location and nice beach . 4 other Grand Bahia resorts in the area. The beach can be crowded but one can always find space. The accommodation is that of a 4 star not a 5 star.especially service in the room . Restaurant Staff very friendly . Hats off to Felix . He went above and beyond.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    I

    We love every thing... But the beach 2.5/5

    Reviewed by Isabelle on Sep 25, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very beautiful vacation, it's a great place

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1649 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great paddle board sports activity with Fernando!

    Reviewed by Ilihsej() on Jul 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beautiful pools where we got to enjoy a really fun paddle board activity with Fernando and his colleague. We got a chance to get active and dance while standing on the paddle boards in a group. They made our time really special and memorable! Highly recommend!

    Nice hotel that should review some of its practices.

    Reviewed by mommy24_10(Montreal, Canada) on Jul 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The room was huge and nice. There was a variety of food, great service and tons of alcohol. The gym is great, the resort is beautiful. However! We had to check-in 4 times: no. 1, our room wasn't ready so we had to go eat and come back, but it still wasn't ready. They gave us another room, check-in no. 2. The room had problems. We spent the first evening in, waiting for maintenance, not able to shower after the flight. One thing was fixed but the bath was disgusting and they couldn't clean it and said they would clean tomorrow. The next day at noon it was still filthy, we asked for a different room. They said to come back at 15:00. We finally got another room, check-in no. 3. We thought we could finally begin our vacation but were told that the room was someone else's and was given to us by mistake. At this point, we had had enough and refused to move again: that was Check-in no. 4. Took about 45 minutes. First 2 days of our vacation: ruined. Reception always had a line, it was very humid and we hated waiting and sweating. People smoke EVERYWHERE, like on the stairs of the reception (Lobby has no walls, smoking on the stairs is like smoking inside) The whole terrace was a smoking zone so we couldn't enjoy the evening entertainment. In the buffet restaurant where we ate most of our meals, people came with bathing suits, no clothes. Nobody enforces the signs. Finding our section's beach was too hard, we gave up. Enjoyed Amber's beach for 15 minutes before we were told to leave.

    Holiday Bliss

    Reviewed by Sightsee28158748710() on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We recently spent two weeks at this hotel in the Bahia Principe complex in the Dominican Republic. I don't think I have ever seen a cleaner, more cared for Hotel in my life. The grounds were superbly cared for and our rooms were immaculate with a really good shower, jacuzzi bath, two double four poster beds and a sitting area with settee and ratten furniture. The only disappointment was that our balcony was in the shade a lot and we overlooked a loading bay/clocking in area which meant we heard a lot of noise early morning. The food was very varied and excellent quality and there was also speciality restaurants which were very good too. The entertainment team worked so hard from early morning to late at night every day and we grew very fond of them particularly Stefani and Willie Wonka. Our favourite waiter, Maximo, helped us every day as we had a problem logging on to the free wifi. I would suggest asking for a pool view room whenn booking. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed pace and we certainly hit our share of the sunshine, phew!! Plus we enjoyed our very first foam party and at age 74 and 75 it was a hoof laugh.

    Amazing Resort

    Reviewed by Bambina-Tina(London, England, United Kingdom) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Bahia Principe - Great resort with fantastic amenities. Everything in one place. There is no need to leave the resort. In regards to Aquamarine hotel - Adults only hotel with fantastic entertainment all day long. Beautiful pool with plenty of space. Beech is not bad either. People are very friendly and helpful. I have to mentioned that rooms are bigger than average hotel rooms and they are very clean. If you are on all-inclusive model, your room bar will be refilled daily. Good choice or food and fruits in the buffet. Really good place to spend your holiday at. Spa - Friendly staff in a very nice surroundings. If you decide to go for a massage, ask for Lili. She is very sweet, young individual who will tailor the massage according to your needs.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Well worth a visit

    Reviewed by Gwyn68(Aberdeen, United Kingdom) on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Spend a wonderful 2 weeks here, relaxing by the pool. This was our first holiday in 23 years without family, and we made the most of the peace and quiet! Our welcome at the Aquamarine was quick and easy and my first Pina Colada at reception was much needed after a long flight from LGW. Our room was directly across from the main Lobby. I had initial concerns being on the ground floor and close to the evening entertainment, but once the doors were closed at night it really didn’t bother us. It finished at 11pm or before so not at issue. We had taken Tripadvisor advice to Pre book the Al a carte restaurants pre our trip, was good advise. Favourites were MEAT, Portifina, Il Olivia, Mashua. Wasn’t at all keen on El Pescador - service was poor and our chosen meals were poor compared to other restaurants we tried. The buffet restaurant is good, we used this for breakfast and lunch and some evenings. Poolside is fun with the option to join in or not. Poolside service is good. We tipped in Pesos rather than USD, not sure it makes a difference, but is very much appreciated. Staff are lovely, too many to mention to be honest but our personal favourites were Poolside - Juan, Leidy Maximo, Estafoni in Il Olivio and Mashua, Fernando., Wander in Portifino. I could go on , but safe to say this hotel is well worth a visit .

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX