Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    L

    The concierge team was fabulous! All the staff were amazing and went above and beyond ! Love the quaintness of this hotel- phenomenal!

    Reviewed by Lisbo on Jul 12, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This property is a must See! Fabulous food, drinks and amazing service on all levels! I loved the option to ride a bike down to the main pool area or within minutes a golf cart would show up and be at your service. Great entertainment poolside in the afternoons and evenings! Great small hotel vibe. Phenomenal food and fabulous bevys! Definitely recommend it for honeymooners and any couple celebrating an Anniversary! Great job to Uriel who did well at promoting all the events! Great yoga instructor as well!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2273 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Luxury stay, away from the crowds, with great food, great staff & interesting wildlife

    Reviewed by Pozzza(Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First time to Mexico & we stayed here for a few reasons (other than good reviews): Away from Cancun, adults only, boutique, never tried all inclusive table service, a good central base. Wow! What a fantastic resort. Definitely stay here if you get the chance. Rooms all one on level/grouped in pairs (Garden view); set in the Mayan jungle yet right on transport links and the beach too. The hotel were really welcoming (didn't ask for a credit card) and arranged golf buggy transport to our room. Blown away by first impressions, spacious room, massive bed, double showers, outdoor bath, walk-in wardrobe; own sunbeds outside, looked really modern, branded mini-bar, bottle of prosecco in the room - nice touch. Courtesy call to check everything was fine, if there were any special occasions, if we needed anything. There was even complimentary insect repellent in the rooms and restrooms (it is built on a mangrove after-all), slippers & bathrobe to use. First impressions leaving the room equally as good, was like being in the jungle yet also not. Mangroves, trees, wilderness feeling, yet modern art sculptures, tidy gardens & good footpaths. Got a pickup from the room and quick tour to show us around & drop off for some food. Not many guests about when we first ate. Table outside with sea & pool view. Varied menu & service was good, food was great. Plenty of sunbeds both on the beach and the pool, no matter what time of day it is - plenty of people about but always felt spacious; double sunbeds got fuller during the day. Bartenders brought us water daily without asking, or offered to bring other ordered drinks (local or branded). Pool(s)x2 cleaned and water quality tested every day. Beach-grill food available to your sunbed or sat at the bar or table as you like. Music around the pool was varied, traditional to laid-back, to covers of pop to more up-beat. Speakers dotted around, great for the first week but we decided to move lower down away from the bar to where it was a bit quieter (not always noisy, quite the opposite, but at times the volume was inconsistent and a bit loud for me personally). Good to see some pool exercise activity if you wanted it (not every day or intrusive). A bit disappointed by the sea/beach. A fair bit of sargassum seaweed on the beach - can't help nature, it’s just that time of year & the hotel cleared it daily. I'm sure its fine most of the time & don't let this put you off, can happen anywhere in the Caribbean. Wasn't quite sure about table service when we booked as I like to see what's on offer before I select. Turned out nothing to worry about, plenty of selection, everything was really well presented (even breakfast) and tasted great. In hindsight a menu probably made me more adventurous, wondering what would arrive from description alone. Table service was always excellent at breakfast (Edward was a star, so polite & accommodating - a real credit to the hotel). Lunch was also great service (at either the restaurant or beach bar). Evening meals occasionally resulted in poor service, I'm talking 2 nights out of 14 here. Seemed that when it was really busy you were forgotten and there were drinks that never arrived or long waits between courses - sometimes not so bad if there was entertainment on. Al a Carte restaurant (long trousers) the same, one meal seemed to take ages, another time waiters couldn't do enough for us [expect mosquitoes if you sit outside by the way]. We'd 'booked' a table for our anniversary & Leo really made it special by spending some one on one time making a table display for us & getting us involved (he is equally as good as Edward & also has a great laugh, another credit to the hotel). We paid extra for our special meal & the crab was delicious. Note the hotel was just introducing table reservation times towards the end of our stay, I guess just to manage peak times better. Most of the holiday we just turned up and asked for a table just fine. Not that we had any, but if affected you'll always be asked about food allergies, which was nice. Bar service was always great & the guys seems very friendly & happy. Entertainment wasn't every night but was good quality, particularly the Mexican night. The staff English very occasionally got lost in translation but most can speak better than my Spanish (I don't know any). Seemed to be mainly American/Canadian tourist mix, with a few of us Brits and a few other nationalities later during our stay. A quite like a walk and really enjoyed exploring. I saw so much just wandering around the hotel (remember the insect repellent though) Coati, Crocodiles, Racoon, Snake, Birds, Fish, Turtles, capybara-type creature. Nice to be often asked if I wanted a ride when bell-boys (also so polite) came by...also bikes available if you prefer 2 wheels. The hotel have done a lot to make each day an enjoyable visit and added those little extra things to make it that more special. Highly recommended & we've left with some great memories.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Fabulous trip but some improvements are needed....

    Reviewed by Ellen R(Alpharetta, Georgia) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We did our research before choosing Blue Diamond and we are glad we did. The service here is wonderful. We booked (and I highly recommend doing so), through Costco. We saved a bunch of $$, received free transfers, free golf and received a cash-back card from them. About $1,000 worth of savings. I really struggled about upgrading from our Patio Jr. Suite to a Cenote or Palafito. I'm glad we did not. Our room was lovely and private in a great location. The Palafitos are slightly closer to the beach, but the patios are visible from the main path. We never saw anyone out on their deck. The resort as a whole could use a little updating/refreshing and we did experience a bit of a red ant problem in our bathroom the last night which we did inform the staff of at checkout. We were disappointed that it took 2 days for us to get bicycles (we reserved as soon as we arrived). The resort was only at 65% occupancy so they really need to invest in more. The staff is amazing. Adela at Concierge helped my husband with all his golfing arrangements and was always available to help. I went to the spa and Cleotilde gave the most amazing massage. I get them monthly and she way surpassed my local place. The spa/pool area is a bit dated so I had no desire to use it or anything else there. The beach is gorgeous and is so well maintained. We had no problem getting chairs with umbrellas and service there is spot on! As far as food, we preferred Aquamarina and Ceviche to Ambar. It's a bit over-hyped to me. All the food we had was wonderful. Jose at Ceviche is the best! There's entertainment at Aquamarina/Pool Bar almost every night, but it ends by 9:30p, Ivan at the Pool Bar was so much fun. My birthday shots came a few too many times from him and the liquor is top shelf. We were celebrating my BIG birthday and housekeeping decorated our room which was lovely. We were supposed to have a bday cake at Ambar, but that never happened. When you go, please bring lots of single and five dollar bills for tipping. I can't tell you how many people don't think about tipping and I think that is so rude! The staff works very, very hard. Please be generous. We will absolutely go back again because of the service. As told before, this is not a party place so there were no Spring Breakers (YAY). I hope this helps others as the other reviews helped us so much.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    we chose this hotel for luxury, tranquility, good swimming and good food, and got none of it.

    Reviewed by tellsu() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Playa del Carmen Mexico Feb. 2019 Our stay; January 28 – Feb. 7 2019. One night patio suite #345, 9 nights #618. OVERALL RATING 1. We came for rest, a quiet beautiful environment ,good food and good swimming, pleasant friendly staff, butler service because of special needs, comfortable accommodation ,. Here are our ratings: Environment ***** Food *** swimming ** Staff ***** Butler *****Accommodation ** Physical Environment; **** Shuttle service **** Peaceful, restful environment ** see comments on music, senior friendly including safety issues. Food prep*** very tasty, smallish portions which suit us. See below for more comments Swimming ** Ocean too rough to swim in for 10 days. The pool had 3 steps down with no handles or railings to use when entering. The only pool was too shallow to swim in. There was a lap pool but people were standing in it, with drinks and chatting, so no chance to swim. There was a pool at the spa, but it was available only to people having spa treatment. Staff ***** all categories extremely kind, courteous, good tempered. Friendly not chummy. Upon requesting butler service, we were told we could have an extra bed put into suite 618, and be upgraded. (We are grateful to receptionist for thinking of this). When our agent was making the booking, asked for two beds, was not told of this option. Very serious as many travellers are not couples willing to share a bed, whatever the size of it. The bed provided was acceptable. BUTLER ****Quick response to calls , did their best to fulfill our many requests. Accommodation : ** see below . COMMENTS Noise Brochure advertised no groups, our second week there was a group of 51 truckers from Ontario. Very nice people BUT music at outdoor bar went on til midnight. Next day loud music at siesta time, so no rest. That same night we were woken up at 1:30 am by loud burst of music. Repeated requests finally had effect. I was told the usual custom at similar resorts is for such outdoor venues to stop music at 11:00 pm. Food Amber restaurant had “meltdown’ one evening-while truckers were there. Water drip over our table, we had to move at back of restaurant where we waited 1 hour no bread, no amuse guele, starter came one hour after order taken. Staff obviously overwhelmed. Menus limited- no change for 10 days except daily special. Especially annoying because a list of better meats at 40$- ??$ extra charge was printed on same page as the boring daily menu. Lunch tasty but some issues, i.e. There were 3 dishes with same ingredients, i.e. (1)A Poke bowl with only 3 ingredients; a small amount of smoked salmon, on bed of rice, with only one other ingredient. Itwas flavourful , but mostly rice with a small amt. of salmon. (2) Salmon sushi- smoked salmon wrapped in rice and seaweed. (3) California salmon sushi, same as reg. except with a small amount of cream cheese . Quality of meat and fish ordinary tho prepared well and good flavours. Pork dry not much flavour. The steak was well flavoured, one was cooked perfectly, one lots of gristle and undercooked. (entrecote?) SENIOR citizens, disabled persons; 3 stars. PLUS- all staff extremely helpful, polite (in a friendly informal way) and cheerful, although on issues like loud music and non-functioning blinds it took several attempts to get results. Food was well prepared and portion sizes good for senior appetites. Venue picturesque, lots of greenery, #618 easy walk to beach. NEGATIVE No safety bars in bathroom shower or toilet. We could not open door to veranda. Loud music from poolside bar until 12:00 and once till 1:30. Also one pm at siesta time (truckers’ group) Accommodation Physical and service .UNIT 618; Patio door too heavy to open. Security rules required these doors be shut whenever we were not in the suite, therefore had to keep phoning for someone to open and shut them. Blinds broken, many of the knobs to open and shut them broken, very heavy to manage. No replacement knobs except by taking them from another unit.. Other doors in the unit are sliding, with no handles, makes it difficult to close, esp. cupboard, which needs to be completely shut in order for lights to go off. Cadenza holding bar, fridge etc, doors push in to open, not functioning well. Must read in bed, no lamps near the sofa. Bed was hard, asked for extra mattress cover, it was not a good design, therefore not effective. UNIT 345 the cupboard had no bars to hang dresses, only separates .No grab bars in shower, no bathtub, no hooks. Limited room service even at butler level. It was left to personnel to mention the hours of free service and that outside these hours $20 service charge. The hotel binder in the suite, page 17, says “Room service is available 24 hours. Check attached room service menu. “ There is NO mention of the $20 charge. Would have liked option to have cocktail hour in room, though the particular spread out layout of this property makes it obviously very awkward. Trying to find a quiet pre-dinner cocktail venue we went to roof-top Amber bar. First time no canapés etc., only nuts. 2nd time it was closed. (7;00 pm).

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-5

    Great trip

    Reviewed by sunnysolo15(Winnipeg, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything was great. This was a five-star hotel and we liked how private and isolating it was. We took a bike to get from our room to the restaurant or beach. Our stay was made even better by Samanya, who made our anniversary special by decorating our room and ensuring we got a special dessert. We enjoyed the food, beach and the nightly entertainment as well.

    once again, a delightful, relaxing and elegant vacation at Blue Diamond

    Reviewed by SabaF(Cleveland, Ohio) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our third visit to Blue Diamond in 3 years. We have never done this anywhere else so perhaps this is the best testimonial we can offer. The property is beautiful and understatedly elegant in every respect. This includes the exterior architecture, interior design and landscaping – from expansive lobby to villa suites to restaurants to pool and beach area to spa and fitness center. All are luxurious and immaculate. Staff are constantly raking the lawn areas and beach and maintaining everything. We didn’t even see a single light out on the 1 ½ kilometer path. This is no small feat in this environment. The resort has 2 small shops which offer essentials as well as some clothing, jewelry and decorative items – at reasonable prices. Our villa was located on the lagoon and was unbelievably spacious and well furnished, including a very large outdoor spa tub, lovely patio area, humongous bathroom with dual rain shower, and beautiful bedroom with a firm king bed. All are well appointed. One nit is that none of the faucets are clearly marked for “hot” or “cold” – in either English or Spanish. Even after 3 years, this is sometimes confusing. Also, water wasn’t always hot enough. We had one bedroom lamp that didn’t work, but it was fixed promptly. Plenty of free bottled water and other drinks available in the villa – which are replaced daily. We were welcomed back with lovely tray of chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of sparkly. The property is adults only, all inclusive. It was only about 50% occupied. During our visit, it appeared to cater primarily to couples, including a few internationals. People are private, quiet and not intrusive, but friendly. There is little in the way of night life at the property, with a couple of nights of modest entertainment. There are only 3 restaurants, and one is really very casual near the beach. The ambar is more “fine dining” but the food at both Ambar and Aguamarina is outstanding. There is good variety, and all the dishes we tried were consistently not only delicious but very interesting with subtle tastes and interesting combinations and beautiful presentation, all prepared exactly as requested. Every dinner at both Ambar and Aguamarina begins with an Amuze bouche. Liquor and wine are good quality WE continue to be amazed how they do it. And the service is also outstanding at all the restaurants and throughout the property. All staff are personable, very well trained and friendly and will do anything to please the guest (within reason). These are certainly important reasons why we have returned to Blue Diamond. WE had particularly excellent experience with Pedro and Prisciliano and Roman at Ambar. But we neither had nor were aware of any staff deficiencies anywhere. There are plenty of lounge and seating areas at both the pool and beach. Both areas are constantly serviced with excellent wait staff. The beach has fine sand. Plenty of towels and umbrellas. WE have found it can be windy at times in the first quarter of the year. Sometimes this limits water activities. In general the weather was terrific – temps generally from 75-85 and sunny during day and slightly cooler in evening. WE had very little rain. There are opportunities for various tours and activities off the property, but we preferred just to stay at the resort. At our first stay we did take a tour to Chichen Itza and also to Playa del Carmen.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX