Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
    6. Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    T

    We would go back for sure

    Reviewed by Tracey Hahnle on Jan 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We travelled with a group of 7, including our 11 & 14 year old, rooms were clean daily and were just fine. The food was really good, some of the best we?ve had on a resort., service was excellent, staff was very friendly. The pool was cons but it didn?t stop everyone from having fun jumping off the rock and going down the slide. The beach was rocky, wear water shoes. This was a lovely resort with great staff and lots to do during the day, NOTHING past 11pm which was a disappointment.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Had a nice stay, dissatisfied with the beach and the time share (Vacation Club, too long. they say 90 Min, it was 4 hours.

    Reviewed by Barbara on Dec 09, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nice relaxing stay the front staff need more training as they take way to long for check in when you arrive after a long flight and you are tired. lots of nice things about this resort, but I think the timeshare is a little taxing, as it is too long, and a bit pushy. Be warned if you go, 4 hours or more.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Several other resorts better then this one

    Reviewed by Lincolnscuba on Apr 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort was very clean, had several pools and restaurants. Our trip wasn't awful but there are a lot of other resorts that are better. As everywhere seating around pools are limited. The two new pools had too few umbrellas for sun protection and the few they had that weren't attached to the concrete were broken and folded down themselves several times a day. At one point one of them blew over and landed on top of my husband. Other quests helped us set it up again and no staff said a word to us however the next day that one had been removed from the area. The food in the restaurants is average at best. We have stayed at several resorts in Riviera Maya area that had excellent food, this resort was by far the most bland food of any of them. If you want a reservation in a specialty restaurant make them early after your arrival. Remember the servings will be small so if you are a hearty eater order more then one entr?e or appetizer. Several other resorts offer snack bars instead of having to go to a restaurant for a meal. The worst part of the stay was that our room in building 19 had no insulation from outside noise. The staff use carts to transport quests, luggage and meals throughout the resort. In our room we could hear every cart go by and conversations of people walking by. The staff seem to think they need to rev the engines on their carts and one night we are sure they were racing the carts during the night because we heard squealing tires (other quests in our building also head this). When we went to the desk to complain about the noise the desk clerk laughed and offered to move us to another floor in the same building. We had already spoke to others in the building and the noise level was the same no matter what floor. We felt the staff at the desk knew they already ha their money and had no concern about quality of stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Y

    Will absolutely go back. Fantastic all around.

    Reviewed by YYCKA on Apr 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Highly recommended. First off, check-in was definitely a trial, made easier by Pina Colada's in our case. Afterwards though, what a place. The grounds were beautiful, clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The amenities of the Marina El Cid were fantastic; a few pools to choose from, lots of beach front seating under huts to choose from. Bars, bars and more bars (wicked Mojitos) Lots for kids to do. You never really feel like you have to leave the resort. Having said that if you do, try the Dolphinaris in Cancun; well worth the money. Just a fantastic vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    V

    We would definately go again with our children!

    Reviewed by Vanessa on Dec 11, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We have stayed at many all inclusive hotels and this is one we would definately return to. We stayed on the Jr suite, king with Murphy queen. It was perfect for our family. It caters to everyone, adult only pool, hot tub, family pools, activities our kids age 6 and 5 loved. Kids club was enjoyed multiple days. Friendly and attentive staff. Great food with lots of choices. Only suggestion I have for this resort is to offer a hot tub that children can sit in, especially for this chilly cloudy days. I am hoping when we return someday that one of the 3 hot tubs on the property are available for them.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Loved our Vacation! Bartender by the infinity pool was the best!

    Reviewed by TDJ on Dec 14, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed at Marina El Cid in February 2016. We paid to upgrade to oceanview when we arrived and got a really nice room by the infinity pool with a view of the ocean in the background. One of the bartenders by the infinity pool was awesome. He tried to teach me spanish while we were there. We loved our vacation, staff were helpful and friendly and hotel and grounds were very clean. We ate at the buffet for every meal and there was always a good variety of food and tasted great. Puerto Moreles is a short 2km walk from the hotel and is a great little town to walk around and shop.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Definitely will go back and always via Westjet Vacations

    Reviewed by R&C Moeller on May 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Definitely would return. The Staff are amazing. Very Friendly and eager to ensure you are having the best vacation. The grounds are prestine. The beach is clean and yes a bit rocky but still enjoyable. The rooms are clean and well taken care of. The front end staff that great you upon entering the main lobby could do with a little cheering up as they were the only people that did not seem to as friendly but otherwise no complaints. Both the main lobby Buffett and the Italian Restaurant morning buffet were excellent with plenty of variety. The evening buffet in the main lobby is always good. We also ate at the Italian and Mexican restaurant and enjoyed them as well. Its a 20 min walk to the fishing village Peurto Morelos and or a taxi ride from the lobby is cheap. Pelicanos is a great beach side restaurant we love to just take in the peaceful view. Lots of shopping in this village. The locals are all very pleasant. BD Travel Agents on site at the hotel are a wealth of information and guidance. We have taken many tours with this company on our WestJet Vacation destinations and they have never let us down, you truly get your money worth on any tour. The activity co-ordinators are amazing with all the entertainment during the day and evenings, plenty to do.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Okay.

    Reviewed by Traveller on Mar 19, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    So where does one start. The hotel is quaint. Small with limited variety for buffet. Things shut down by 10 which were a little odd. The shows were good, but they repeated them twice...the actors/performs deserve a stage and an area to perform not just a temporary stage in a meeting room. Giving the same three performances also takes away from each night. Kareoke twice...fire show twice... The main buffet after a week started to just blend in as one. The mexican buffet for lunch was a great change. We stayed a week. Ate at 4 a la carte...rating them..Italian was the best with the Seafood as the worse. We were in and out of the seafood restaurant in under an hour with stomach aches. The infinity pool was marvelous by far the best feature of this hotel. The main pool was loud and busy, so if that is your thing it is perfect. Kids club from what we could see was fully supervised with many many activities for your kids We did not have any but could see many happy faces . Suggestion is to have a teen club??? The roped off area for the platinum area on the beach was great, however there was no service for drinks there so what is the point? Also many many non platinum people using the area takes away from the extra money one spends to be platinum. Our room had a nice view. Was nice to have extra towels, pillows and aromatherapy. Air conditioner worked and the lighting was good with nice curtains to block out the sun in the early morning.The beach...the hard workers worked endlessly to clear the seaweed and should be commended. The front staff were hit and miss...the time share people were ruthless! Beware. Our personal butler was amazing! Definetely worth the upgrade.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Beautiful resort, fantastic kids club

    Reviewed by Reddz on Mar 18, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This is my second time to this resort and i absolutely love it. It is a perfect location with so many activities. The staff is super friendly and kind. The kids club is the best my daughter has ever experienced. She cried tonight as we leave in the morning, they really have a lot of fun with the kids with all of the various activities. I agree with some that wifi should be provided even if just in the lobby or by the pool. I am a platinum member so definitely am grateful for the perks in that regard. Its a fantastic clean resort and i would recommend it to anyone!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Perfecto! Already planning to return.

    Reviewed by Thomasframes on Jan 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    A virtually perfect resort. I couldn't get the ratings to work, but I would give 5/5 for everything except the pool and beach 4/5. Getting into the ocean was tricky because of submerged rocks. The staff were excellent. We especially enjoyed its location, so close to Puerto Morelos - a "must visit" village. The restaurant choices were superb. We paricularly enjoyed Alcazar, but all were fine. We'd go back in a flash! Special thanks to our butler, Alberto.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8106 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fabulous resort with fantastic people

    Reviewed by nancy f(Hicksville, New York) on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The best all inclusive that I have been too. The food was of the highest quality and the staff were very friendly and extremely attentive. Rooms were spacious and well kept as were the entire property grounds.

    Hotel Marina El Cid

    Reviewed by Explore613074() on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We love El Cid. The staff are lovely, and we enjoy seeing staff we know from one trip to the other. The food was excellent. We always enjoy the catamaran day trip. El Cid is a friendly, comfortable, family environment and we highly recommend El Cid to everyone.

    Excellent care and service.

    Reviewed by Roving712248() on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    They are the most wonderful staff. I slipped coming out of the ocean and fractured my ankle but because of the great medical service and staff assistance I was able to stay and complete my vacation with a minimum of inconvenience.

    Staying at Er Cid is like coming home

    Reviewed by Hans-Juergen H(Scharbeutz, Germany) on May 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family of 10 including myself just love the El Cid and regularly spend time at both the Riviera Maya El Cid resort in Puerto Morelos and in Mazatlan. This year we spent two weeks at the El Cid in Puerto Morelos and had a fabulous time. The food, the drinks and the service were absolutely super. And so were the various apartment units, spacious and sparkling clean. We have been coming to the El Cid resorts for over 14 years, initially to Mazatlan and for the past six years also to the Riviera Maya. and plan to do so in the future.

    A 5 star resort

    Reviewed by Gerald V(St. Catharines, Canada) on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    All restaurants are excellent. A great adult section. Excellent service. I am glad I had the opportunity to have stayed at this resort. Very private. Spacious rooms. The security on the property were very helpful and polite when leaving and returning to the resort.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX