Ocean Maya Royale

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Not again.

    Reviewed by Shawn on May 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Hotel was older. Not a lot to do on site. Staff was great.food not so good. Stephan was great had a lot of fun visiting with him . Best of luck to him on all his travels. Would not go back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Fantastic Trip

    Reviewed by Tanya on Jan 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    This review is a little long but I think it’s fairly comprehensive. A few months ago my friend and I were searching for a resort for a girl’s trip. We had stumbled upon this one, but had doubts due to it being so new, the distance from the airport and the majority of traveler photos only showed desolate landscape This was false advertising on part of those travelers . We are so happy we decided to choose this resort. I’ll start with the bus ride – it’s about 1 ½ hours, which sounds like a long time but it really wasn’t. The bus to the resort sold beer and had a washroom. You will travel through 3 towns; Camajuani, Remedios and Caibarien, the tour guide will tell about each town. Treat like an excursion and enjoy. Now the bus ride back to the airport didn’t have a washroom, but if people need to they will stop in Caibarien for a pit stop. It will cost you 1 peso to use the washroom and I recommend that you bring your own tissue. Check in – fast smooth and easy. The front desk staff is very friendly and extremely efficient. We had no issues so we only dealt with them for check in and check out. Resort grounds and beautiful right now and will only get better once all the vegetation has a chance to grow in. There is a stretch between the main resort and the beach; it’s a little barren right now. This used to be a lagoon and they have filled it in and created a walkway. They are now working on creating the gardens and putting in vegetation. In about 5 years this will be an absolutely stunning spot. There are pools and accommodations on both sides of the main building so you it’s almost like two small resorts in one. The buildings are new and modern. The beds are firm and the pillows are flat, it didn’t ruin our vacation, I would recommend that the resort upgrade the pillows and maybe put a mattress cover on the mattresses. I say this because they use flat sheets on the bottom and if you are anything like I am and move in your sleep sometimes you wake on laying on a

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8797 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fun at Ocean Maya on the Playa

    Reviewed by lonb690() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The rooms are immaculate. The air-conditioning is very cool. Some of the people working there are amazing, especially our "cruise director" Arturo and our best waiter ever, Eusebio at the Blue Moon restaurant. Almost every employee is welcoming and friendly with a smile and an "Hola" or "Buenos Dias" whenever you pass. A few upfront people, as in the Lobby bar, need to step up their English skills as the majority of the guests are American, British, German, etc. Best places to eat: Blue Moon, just off the lobby and La Dolce Vita, down by the water in the "Premier" area. (Don't be fooled by the signs that say Premier Only - it's open to all for dinner!) Worst places to eat: Yookoosa and El Charro. Yookoosa needs to train their servers on the art of Japanese food. She actually took my chopsticks and laid them point down on the place-mat. No sake or Japanese beer available for the all-inclusive price. Plus it is so hot in there you can't enjoy your meal. El Charro's buffet sits there alllllll-dayyyyy. Best drinks: The Pool Bar, of course! Worst wine: the house red Tempranillo. They really make it difficult to not pay for a better wine. Worst service: Mike's coffee. Good coffee but the guy scowling at you from behind the counter is not customer-friendly.

    Spontaneous Vacay

    Reviewed by 201charityh() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a 6 day vacation at the OMR. Had a fantastic time overall! The pros way out weigh the cons, which are very few and minor. I was not initially impressed w the hotel itself, it seems a bit out dated, the lobby was closed off to renovations upon arrival, but was reopened before we left and had a much fresher appearence and look. Check in was quick and seemless, we arrived prior to check in so we were escorted to private changing rooms, which was really nice as most hotels just direct you to the public bathroom. We were given a tour of the property by Victor, who had only just started a day or two prior. We would have never known, he was very helpful and we enjoyed seeing him throughout our stay. As far as the rooms, they are VERY BASIC. Probably the most basic room I have stayed in, couple of negatives about the room were they have no full length mirrors in the room, only the bathroom mirror above the sink. For femails this is a big let down. Also, the water pressure in the shower was very low and it took forever for it to get hot. The grounds are clean and well maintianed, lots of great little spots to take fun pictures. Lots of wild life as well which was enjoyable to watch from our patio. The Pools are great! they have the option of a calmer, quieter pool and just steps away, they have the roudy pool with the music and swim up bar. Johnny at the main bar was a fav of ours! Within a very short time they all knew what our drink of choice was and didnt even have to ask. Was impressed w the selection of alchol as well! The games conducted by the entertainement staff through out the day are fun and entertaining! Lots of laughs. The entertainment staff are what make this place so great, honorable mention to a few of our FAVS, Ulisis, Rodrigo, Ines, Naomi and of course their fearless leader, Oscar. They were all so friendly, interactive and fun! I recommend making sure you are there on Weds or Sunday to participate in the foam party, its a blast! Also take advantage of the quick tour they do the Lagoon just north of the hotel, its stunning and only a quick walk away. We only made it to one evening show and it was entertaining, a little sleepy at times but no complaints. The live music they had afterwards was the best part, great latin band, and latin dancing. We met a lot of wonderful people and i would totally recommend friends or family to stay here. We didnt know the resort was Adults Only when we booked so that was also a bonus. I would certainly return to this resort if the oppertunity presented itsself.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    My vacations with my friends

    Reviewed by arbrooks10() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I think this place it’s amazing I meet people from other countries, I like the food and drinks especially tequila shots it’s nice, I want to thanks to Ines because she is nice and funny, I like her activities

    40th birthday trip amazing!!!!

    Reviewed by 31janelh() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The entertainment was amazing. They kept all the events exciting and we all had a ball. The rooms were nice and they kept them clean and stocked on the daily. Special thanks to Inez and Arturo for their great service. We will definitely be back!

    Incredible

    Reviewed by Adriana M() on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My first time here and then we it was a great experience! Great entertainment (Arturo and rodrigo) and also butler service (Juan)! The bar service/food is amazing!! Will definitely come back and worth my trip!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX