Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
    6. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Perfect Place for a relaxing Family Vacation!

    Reviewed by Carlos on Apr 19, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    After a lot of research we decided on Paradisus La Esmeralda and it did not disappoint! The service was superb and all staff went above and beyond to provide the best service especially Joao he helped book restaurants and gave us a fantastic tour of the resort, excellent service. We tried several restaurants and they were great ( only complaint is they need to have more seafood selection without additional charges). We had a fantastic photo shoot and they pictures turned out amazing, a little pricey but well worth it. I also booked Xcaret park through the resort, again a bit pricey, the park it self was mediocre but the dolphin swim was well worth it ( pictures are an additional fee) we booked with Fabiola and she was great. We also went to the 5th avenue markets a few times paradisus will have a taxi ready for you within 5 minutes and it?s a great place to visit, eat good Mexican food and buy Knick knacks. The beach yes it had seaweed but so does the rest of the cancun area but it was cleaned every morning. I would highly recommend booking a Bali bed at least once near the poor for parents to relax and kids to enjoy- also highly recommended a swim up suite. My kids absolutely loved the new water park and pirate ship. I consider myself to be fairly picky and I would highly recommended this resort, food was good customer service was above and beyond and all staff were friendly and helpful ( don?t forget to leave tips!)This is an excellent place to visit with or without children, it?s beautiful and the service is absolutely fantastic!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10429 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    great vacation

    Reviewed by csmetalworks(Boise, Idaho) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    the only downside to the entire trip was the beaches are covered in sea weed. playing in the ocean was not an option from the hotel. booked a trip to go fishing and snorkeling and it was great saw rays and eels multiple fish on the reef caught a mahi mahi/dorado

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Whiteley family vacation

    Reviewed by tbone538m() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything was wonderful everyone was so sweet and kind! The grounds are keeper clean ever worker on site works very hard to make sure everyone is happy. No bad expierance , food was great . The spa was great

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Watch out for the Coatis and Sargazo

    Reviewed by eduardort7(Mountain View, California) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Let me start by saying that our stay was very good, however it is worth to mention that the Coatis (animals from the area) attacked our cabana due to a sweet in my wife's purse. They are after food at all hours of the day and there needs to be more hotel staff attention as people are in the pool or enjoying a walk... to come back to a wrecked cabana! Additionally, when we were reserving the hotel, I called to inquire about the sargazo (algae) which is in most of Mexico's atlantic coast. I was told by the staff that this was gone and should not be an issue during our stay. It clearly was nowhere near gone, we only spent 2hr in the beach during our 8 day stay as it was not enjoyable. The staff is cleaning, but it requires more drastic measures as the beach was constantly empty. The rest of our stay was great, food was very good overall and the staff was attentive. The kids had a blast in the water park pools.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Review with Teenagers

    Reviewed by Cowie44(Denver, Colorado) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned from the La Esmeralda and had a great time. We had the family concierge. For teenagers, there isn’t much engagement for the concierge so that might be of consideration if you are thinking of upgrading. Our concierge Albert was great when we did engage him but I wouldn’t upgrade in the future. The food was great & our room was in good working order. I wish they would’ve had more options for bourbon but thats a minor nitpick. The property is clean & pretty. One thing I missed is a view of the ocean. Water was not good but that had nothing do with the Paradisus.

    A family Vacation we will never forget!

    Reviewed by Kate M() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The most wonderful family vacation at Paradisus La Esmeralda. We choose to partake in the family concierge package and it was well worth it. Hector H. was top notch and the kindest most genuine person you will meet. He went out of his way daily to make our trip extra special! Thank you Hector it was a pleasure to get to know you. The food was also exceptional! From the daily fresh guacamole and chips pool side to the elegant opportunities at each restaurant, every meal we had was fabulous! A special shout out to the entertainment staff. Christopher, Ileano, Angel, Kevin, Karen, Zuhle, Luis, Angel, Andres and Dan. They filled our week with games, laughter and a lot of fun! They kept the kids (12, 9 and 4) very entertained and each evening had wonderful shows and events to partake in. Ricardo was our server at poolside and took time to get to know us personally and was always so friendly. Francisco the swim up bartender at La Esmeralda pool made the best drinks!!! He was so kind to the kids and probably made more virgin mudslides and Miami Vices then I've ever seen before. :) We also did a family photo shoot and the photographer (Parbarbie) and she was wonderful! She not only too great pics but had so much fun with our family! I am looking forward to ordering prints as she captured such great memories for us! Finally the overall service and genuine hospitality was the BEST!!! Everyone, and I mean everyone was truly so kind and went above and beyond to provide the best service!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX