Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Good food and extremely clean

    Reviewed by Chard on Sep 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Cleanest hotel I have stayed at, the food was really good as well and the staff was extremely attentive.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11573 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Week in Royal Service At La Perla!

    Reviewed by Atch13() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in a Royal Service junior swim-out suite for a week and it was wonderful. The room was good sized with plenty of space and ample storage. It had a king-sized bed, sofa and a small table for 2. The bathroom was good sized and had an extra large tub and 2 person shower with dual rain shower heads. There is a separate water closet which was nice. There is a small fridge stocked with beer and soft drinks and a few snacks (customizable). On the back porch there is a Jacuzzi tub for 2, a pair of chairs with a small table and a double lounger. The best part is that the steps off the porch lead right into an infinity pool accessible by only the 10 suites on this end of the building. That pool flowed into the larger pool that is exclusively for Royal Service guest use. You can stay in the infinity pool if you choose and Alfredo will bring you drinks and food right there (he is the man!). You can also go over the wall and socialize in the larger pool or head to the swim up bar. Just be warned - going over the wall comes with its challenges. It is not a comfortable or graceful endeavor. Service around the pool was excellent and I recommend trying some tropical drinks (Rivera Maya and BBC's for sure). We did not venture to the larger general purpose pool so I cannot speak to the quality of that. If you're looking to relax or socialize the Royal Service pool is for you. The food was excellent. We did the breakfast buffet most mornings which was good by buffet standards. Omelet and quesadilla stations plus a wide selection of hot and cold items. For lunch we usually had Alfredo bring us burgers, nachos or quesadillas poolside and ate them on our porch. The dinners are where you really get treated. Our favorites were Bana and The Market. Bana has hibachi, sushi bar and fusion - we tried all of them. If you like sushi sit at the bar and ask the chef to prepare a plate of his choosing - you will be very pleased. The Market is a churrascaria so if you like meat you will be happy. We never tried room service but heard many people tell us how good it was. My wife visited the spa twice - once for a facial (where she fell asleep) and once for a massage. She was was happy with the services and came back pleased - except for not remembering the facial. I cannot say enough about our butler - Neftali. From the moment we checked in he was always there to ensure we were pampered and not in need of anything. He helped re-arrange dinner reservation, get spa appointments (sometimes last minute) and did special things that we will always remember. He was always just a text away and so calming in his demeanor you could not ever be stressed or upset while speaking to him. Miss you buddy! We were well aware of the potential seaweed issue before we arrived (actually before we booked) thanks to a previous visit to the area and this site so that was not a surprise or disappointment. Being in and around the pool was just fine for us but if you wanted beach time it may be a problem. My only complaints would be about a couple closures and ground transportation. The ground transportation was arranged by the resort and provided through a company called Otium. They were easy to locate at the airport but then there was confusion about what van we would be riding in. We waited for about 15 minute and then they took us to a departure point where we waited for another 15 minutes. Then we were taken to another departure area where we waited for about 20 minutes before being loaded into another van (not Otium branded). Then we had to stop at another resort to drop off some passengers and pick up others. At the airport we were told who to meet and where at Paradisus to arrange our ride back. After several trips to the other side of the resort to find this person and being told they would be there later in the day, early the next day, etc. we asked Neftali to help and he took care of it straight away (as always). If you have the option to use a service other than Otium I would recommend that. As for the closures 2 days after we arrived La Papala and the Red Lounge were unexpectedly closed. La Papala is the Royal Service restaurant and its closure was disappointing because its location was so convenient to our suite and the pool. Without it we had to walk a fair distance to the main area for breakfast and lunch (when we didn't eat in the pool). The Red Lounge is really the only nighttime bar with air conditioning so it made for some sweaty nights. We were never really told what the issue was and at first were told it would be closed for just a day and then no updates but they never re-opened. All in all it was a great vacation and I would recommend this resort. Aside from the couple small issues noted it was a perfect week in paradise!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great all inclusive resort

    Reviewed by Guide396753() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great place to stay except the night life there ends early. The wildlife is cool. The detail to the royal service is great. Loved having a bed turn down service every evening. They came to check on our room at least 3 times a day.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Much Needed R&R

    Reviewed by YoungFunTravelers(Washington DC, District of Columbia) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just left our 6 night stay at the Paradisus and it was well needed. My husband and I traveled with another couple and spent most of our time on the resort sampling all the restaurants for dinner, enjoying the pool bar everyday and making new friends. Guadalupe greeted us after check in, gave us a tour and the lay of the land. She made sure to check in with us throughout our stay and planned our dinners for every night of our stay. Hector was our butler and he was attentive, answered our questions and provided us with whatever we needed when we asked. My husband and I enjoyed a couples massage and spa day one morning and it was delightful. I wish I remembered the names of our masseuse but they were both great. The service from start to finish was on point. We were taken to separate changing areas and then brought to the spa pool area which was extremely relaxing with waterfalls. We spent 20 minutes there before heading to our one hour massage. The one thing I was slightly concerned with was the beach area. For this hotel to be so beautiful and impeccably taken care of, the beach was not picturesque. There was seaweed all over the sand and a slight odor in the beach area that I think came from the seaweed. But after laying out in a chair, enjoying a margarita, the sounds of the waves and reading a good book, the smell was a distant memory. I didn’t go into the water because it looked a little brown and unappealing due to the amount of seaweed around. Overall, we enjoyed our time here as it was relaxing and restful. Which is what we needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Cellphone stolen inside hotel room. Furto en la habitacion

    Reviewed by vitorbrixi(Brasilia, DF) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I left my new cellphone charging along my old one inside the room and went to the conference that I was attending in the same hotel. My wallet was near it. When I got back to the room there was only one cellphone charging, my old one. And 250 dollars missing from my wallet. Called the security and guest services that said that they would make an investigation within people that entered my room. Security guys showed me a paper that shows that the cleaners and mini bars entered the room. Also showed me a picture taken by one of the security guys with both cellphones charging. I showed them the purchase receipt for my cellphone. As I was leaving the next day they said me that investigation would last 48 hours. And convinient to them that when I arrived in Brazil they send me an email saying that the investigation could not get any proof that was their fault. Not the kind of service expected in this kind of hotel and by a Melia hotel. I was left only with the accessories of the phone and the lame excuse that is attached to this review.

    Guest from Texas

    Reviewed by Passport11179303783() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Horrible beach. Check in wasn't pleasing. No alcohol in mini bar. Most of food was not good. Resort claims all inclusive but they still want to charge you for activities, some alcohol and restaurants at the hotel. Alcohol wasn't available on the property after certain hours at night and not before 11am everyday. Restaurants weren't available during the day leading up to dinner. Pool closes at 6pm daily. $5 environmental fee at check in and $5 for each room service order before tip. You aren't allowed at certain pools if you aren't some type of special member at these particular resort. Over priced spa services.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX