Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    Stunning Property and Awesome Staff

    Reviewed by Mac on Jan 30, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Likes: Property is stunning, spotless and beautifully designed. Buffet offers excellent variety. Staff is phenomenal, so pleasant and accommodating. Entertainment is uplifting. Dislikes: Samana - shop owners are in cahoots with taxi drivers and will rip you off. Purchase goods at the resort gift shop instead. Final dislike is leaving the Island. :(

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Very effective and friendly services

    Reviewed by Dan and Marilyn on May 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I would like to thank Lizairi, Diego Gomez chef cook of this beautifully resorts , Would like to mentions all staff of this hotel Island was very notable during our visit with the warmest welcome with the Concierge Gabriel,Emanuella ,Caesar,took time and good care of us as we were celebrating our 35th anniversary.we were a little deceived about the cleaning in the room example sheets were not change every second day as we know some accident can occurs during the 7 days so imagine 14 days. Food were superb in the Don Pablo, Rodiozio grill, Mediterranean,was excellent. The Elportillo was not bad except for Banos a lot of Beach flees and strange crawling insects. Required more insecticide. All other Banos were very clean. Bar at the Jaccussi was very high quality service thanks to Leudy , Sanael De La Cruz and Measael. I would like to thank West Jet Crew for the care at the Pearson airport as we required assistance for spouse as she very ill on the arrival. My spouse and I are very thankful about the help we got outstanding to West Jet and Pearson airport personnel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    Not a 5 star resort

    Reviewed by mmahal99 on Jun 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    If you are truly looking for a luxury 5 star vacation, this is not the place to go to. I would say it's more like a 4 star overall. We stayed here June 11 - 18, 2016 for my birthday and selected the resort based on the great reviews we read. We were quite disappointed. People can smoke anywhere outdoors, around the pools & the beach. This made it hard to get away from the smoke fumes. The good side of the beach there's a calm side & windy side is pretty confined. We had to move locations 4 times one day to get away from smokers. The resort really should divide the beach and pool areas into a smoking and non-smoking side. Furthermore, the service on the beach was pretty much non-existent, despite us tipping. We were there for a week and were only offered drinks on two occasions. Also, people hold the good spots on the beach all day with their towels as the resort doesn't set a time limit for chairs to sit unused. We noticed beach chairs would be reserved with towels yet unused for hours. Because the beach isn't that big, they really should set a time limit and remove towels from chairs that go unused for a couple hours as some of the other resorts we have been to do. We had upgraded to one of the villas that offers butler service, and the service was pretty much non-existent. Little things were missed, the maid didn't leave any shampoo or soap one day and didn't replace the empty tissue box another day. The toilet was dirty upon our arrival I just cleaned it myself because I didn't want to bother waiting for someone to come clean it . On my birthday, we had ordered champagne and chocolate strawberries for an additional fee to be delivered at a particular time, which never came. Management did apologize, but you get the point that this was no where near the 5 star experience we had hoped for. Other small issues of note, we ordered tea, they delivered coffee instead. Then they brought tea bags with no hot water. The hot water finally came about 20 minutes later.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Simplement fantastique

    Reviewed by Josiane on Apr 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Tres beau sejour, tout simplement parfait, chapeau au represetant westjet Herman, disponible et tres gentil.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6140 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful and amazing island resort!! A++

    Reviewed by iamcoryp(Calgary, Canada) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our second time staying at this wonderful island resort. Our first stay was about six years ago (as a couple) and this time we decided to bring our daughter with us as we loved this resort the first time around. We stayed at this resort for 11 days at the beginning of August 2019. Unfortunately from Canada this time of year (off season) we had to fly to Puerto Plata which consisted of a drive of about 3.5 – 4 hours. It’s a long drive but I enjoyed it as we got to see a lot of the northern coast of DR which was nice to see something different and experience the travel along their roads. Check-in at the main dock was very quick and pain free. Loaded the boat to the island and greeted with friendly staff, cold wet cloth, and a drink and directly headed for dinner. Luggage brought to room for us. All in all we enjoyed the main buffet restaurant (never tried the a-la cartes this time around as we prefer the buffet style). There was a different theme every night for supper. Great selections of food for breakfast, lunch, and supper. Mostly ate lunched by the pool restaurant as close to beaches and pool. We stayed in the Junior Suite Superior in Villa 6. Beautiful large room with nice large balcony and great view. A single cot was set up upon arrival for our daughter. Great butler service as well – ice delivery, pillow selections, scents in room if requested. There are small shuttles that take you around if required but we mostly walked. There are some decent evening shows to watch which we enjoyed as a family. By this time of the evening and after eating supper we were pretty tired anyways. The entertainment staff did a wonderful job. In the evening we enjoyed playing billiards as a family. We spent most of our time at the private beaches which were fantastic! Beautiful water and view I must add!! Wasn’t crowded at this time of year. Also spent a fair amount of time at the Upper pool which was sooo quiet and relaxing. Service at this pool bar was fantastic! If interested there are numerous excursions you can participate in for a cost (we did ours through WestJet Vacations). We went on the Samana Zip Line excursion again (did it also six years ago) as we wanted to take our daughter on it this time. Exhilarating experience zip-lining down the mountain over the jungle with 13 zip lines. Definitely recommend doing this if you are the adventurous type. After ziplining we went to a secluded beach (Playa el Valle) which was so nice to see with hardly no one there. On another excursion we took a Jeep Safari to Playa Rincon (another beautiful beach where we spent three hours there). On the way there we stopped at a private farm and saw how numerous exotic foods that are bought in a grocery store are grown. Our final excursion was that of a catamaran sail from Samana through Samana Bay and ended up snorkeling at a ship wreck near this island (saw lots of fish) and a second stop again near this island where we saw plenty of starfish. Recommend all these excursions! We went to the El Limon waterfall last time we were here but not this time. This is an amazing resort!! Sheer beauty of the island, we loved being on a little island, exceptional service at the restaurants, bars, front desk, shuttle drivers, and villa staff, and a very beautiful beach/water/pools to spend your days. Weather was hot and sunny for our whole time there except for some rain one night around supper time. No rowdy people ever. There were other kids there during our stay but that was never an issue as it was NEVER loud nor the kids were barely even noticeable. The resort hasn’t changed too much since our last visit six years ago as we remember it and will definitely be coming back again one day in the future. I HIGHLY recommend this Bahia Principe resort!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Relaxing vibe

    Reviewed by Starfish03(Terrebonne, Canada) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Welcome to paradise – that’s how I would describe Cayo Levantado. A relaxing beach, enough shade and lounge chairs on the beach, a section of the beach with waves and another one with quiet water/no seaweed, a picturesque scenery/heavenly for the pool beside the Rodizio restaurant, luxurious gardens and impeccable service throughout the resort, what to expect more? Waiters at the restaurants know our habits and provide top notch service, to our kids inclusively. And service is provided with a smile. Restaurants are very good, and my favorite A la Carte were the Rodizio (surprisingly as I usually am not a big fan) and the Don Pablo. Make reservation to the A la Carte restaurants upon arrival at one of the desks near the buffet, since the app does not really work well. For lunch, the buffet offers much more choices than the restaurant near the beach/activity pool, for me it was worth the walk! Shows are more the “chill out” type and there is sometimes a mini-disco for kids. A show not to be missed is the Circus show. We went snorkelling with the Scubaquatic team, Manuel and Reggae, to 2 spots near the hotel. Manuel and Reggae helped our kids (5 and 7 years old) during the snorkelling tour like if it was their children – this was well appreciated. The resort seems very environmentally friendly – no straws, water dispensers to fill up your bottles of water, etc. Thumbs up on all the initiatives! One thing I would have appreciated is a self-service coffee machine near the beach. When the restaurant is not opened it is either not accessible or it is, but I have not tried going there… Anyway, it still deserves 5 stars!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Vacation in Cayo Levantado

    Reviewed by Sergio T(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel is very nice, located in a beautiful island. Check in was terrible, slow and could not get a room until 4 pm. Hotel with about 50% occupancy, resulted in half a la carte restaurant being closed, reservations usually available 6 pm or 9 pm or later. The buffet restaurant was very good. Service was slow due to cutback in waitress personnel. Customer service computer internet not available most of the time. The hotel personnel cutbacks resulted in low service quality and an a costly vacation not worth the expense.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    The best resort I have ever experienced.

    Reviewed by Andersnielsen45(Frederiksberg, Denmark) on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Even though our expectations where high we were very positively surprised with our stay. The only bad experience was leaving the island without knowing when we could visit again. Luckily, we have just ordered our next stay at the Island. This allows me to write this review without so much longing. The whole island is perfectly maintained and gardened to perfection in a combination of wilderness like parts and other baroque parts. It is such a joy to walk around on the island. In general, there is a quiet friendly atmosphere in the resort perfect for getting totally relaxed. Kids are now welcome at the resort but at our stay there where only few so it was nice and quiet even at the pool area. In my mind the island is even more beautiful than you sense from the pictures in reviews. The area with the private beach holds everything you will need during the day. Bartenders takes orders for drinks right at the beach chairs. Drinks quality is not really consistent, but in general good. Really cool that you can use the sailboats for an hour a day free of charge. It is fairly easy to sail even for a total amateur. I bought a one hour practical lecture in sailing first day and sailed on my own after that. We started in a standard room but upgraded for a “Junior Suite deluxe” mostly to get a better view. Both rooms where well equipped and build in good quality materials. You see that the resort has some years but it is not a problem at all. The rooms where really big and cleaned very well every day in addition the bed is prepared in the evening and chocolate is placed at the night table. The personnel all over the resort is extremely friendly and go a long way to please the guests even when you have special requests. The food is good for an all-inclusive resort. The food is plentiful and tasty. There is a different theme for the buffet every day. We preferred the a la carte restaurants with nice atmosphere and personal service. You will find luxury ingredients like lobsters, rib-eye steak and so on. There are so many pros so I will only mention the ones that are extremely nice. When it comes to cons I feel silly because most of them are insignificant and underlines how little we had to complain about at our stay Pros: Really beautiful island in relation to gardens and pool areas Perfect conditions for beach life and quiet relaxation Friendly personnel Good food The island was not overcrowded I love the fresh mango, pineapple, passion fruit you get at the Caribbean Cons: The wifi/internet speed is often slow. It seems there are no wifi at the “Jacuzzi pool” at all The app used for booking restaurants and getting information on different activities is not perfect I was missing guacamole for the Mexican food in general (normally really good at the Caribbean) Be aware! You may hate you self for leaving the island for a long time when you get home. Tips for guests: Diving is not as bad as people say. We dived two dives just next to the island and it was better than expected. Pickup at the beach very convenient. There are no ATM machine on the island so it is a good idea to bring some cash if you like leaving a tip from time to time. We never felt it was expected or needed to obtain good service but we like to tip when the service is extraordinarily good. There is an ATM close to where the boat for the island leaves from. Tips for the resort: It would be very cool to have a viewpoint or suspended terraces at the eastern part of the island. Perfect spot for sunrises and night photography. Maybe you could have some nose bears or similar wild life at the resort. That is normally very nice for the atmosphere. We have been at resorts where they where living in the public area to great amusement to the guests.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderfull place

    Reviewed by Dorota C() on Aug 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Travelled to this islend Resort in July, very nicely situated place, beautifull beach, lots of trees, many birds, good quality food and drinks, very friendly staff, Smooth transportation by the bus and the boat. This resort deserves its 5 star rating, we will come back

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX