Iberostar Selection Varadero

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    I wish I could have stayed longer.

    Reviewed by Susan Finlay on Jan 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    All I can say is that it was perfect and I would love to come back. If only we could put in an order for ideal weather. However, on days we could not enjoy the beach we signed on for excursion trips that were excellent. I worked in the hospitality industry in Canada for 26 years and wish all our staff were as completely accommodating as the staff we encountered at Iberostar Varadero. The food was varied and delicious and the grounds immaculate with almost no indication of damage from hurricane Irma.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    I am definitely coming back with my family next year!

    Reviewed by Nina R. on Jul 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    While travelling throughout Cuba last month, I stayed at a hotel two doors down and it was not as nice. We ended up going to the Iberostar Varadero by fluke when our previous accommodation arrangements fell through. What a lucky break! This hotel was so much better in terms of the hotel itself: very clean and very nice and more updated. The beds were softer, there were more pillows; squishy nice huggable pillows. The staff were amazing and they were super attentive unlike the first hotel we ended up at where I felt I almost had to go behind the scenes and get a glass of water or a cup of coffee myself . Some people say that the food at Cuban hotels is not good... MYTH BUSTER: It's not the Cuban food, it's YOUR HOTEL'S FOOD. The Iberostar Varadero had a selection of fresh, colourful fruits and and salads, more international dishes to choose from and the food looked good and fresh not like it had been sitting there for a couple of hours . THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD!!!! The beach was one of the best beaches I have ever visited and I come from a country in the Caribbean so that's saying something! . The pool was nice, didn't try the hot tub though. In terms of Amenities, they were good. They have a pharmacy onsite as well as medical attention should you need it during your stay. There is also a nice store on the premises as well as a separate unit where you can purchase tobacco and liquour. You can also buy books in various languages should you run out of literature. THE KIDS AREA!!!! I didn't bring my kids with me on this trip since they wouldn't have survived the 12-plus hour days of roadtripping but the kids' area at this hotel is beautiful! I know they are gonna love it. I am definitely coming back with my family next year!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to friends

    Reviewed by Sonia on Mar 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed our stay, were very satisfied with our room and the food was great. Very good selection in buffet and staff were very good. Grounds are well kept. Pool was very clean and a pleasure to swim in.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    I'll be back for sure

    Reviewed by Riss on Apr 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2014

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Loved this. So much fun.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8151 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Eye opener.

    Reviewed by minhle86(Ontario, Canada) on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our first trip to Cuba just to ensure ourselves about the tales tell of bad food, lousy services from Government employee.....etc. Chose Iberostar from Trip Advisor and it turned out all stories that we have heard about Cuban resorts are just the myths or we may just be the lucky ones - however many thanks to Iberostar Varadero resorts management and staffs that changed our views about Cuban resorts. The hotel room is super clean with dedicated cleaning staffs, Food at Buffet restaurants are very good with many varieties to keep our appertise alive until the day we leave, beach front is a crystal clean and calm all week long (A La cart restaurabt food is not up to 5* level)..... Too many good things to say but also there is something Iberostar Management can improve on, first, the staff customer service behavior from food service and bar tender should be consistent and equally toward all guests regardless of their skin colour not only after receiving good tips from them. (we are asian canadians) The cocktail preparer skills of the bar tenders at the pool and beach side kiosks is really needed to be much improved - they are not really cocktails just some alcohol and water..... But the cocktail drinks from the Lobby bar is expertly prepared help lighten up our spirit during week night amazing entertainment shows Cheers and will be back soon

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Excellent Experience

    Reviewed by CubanMermaid() on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Iberostar exceeded my expectations. I wasn’t expecting to be blown away but I definitely was. The food was excellent — buffet, restaurants, bars, mini grilled food restaurants by the beach & pool. The restaurants did an excellent job at giving excellent service. We really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant, our chef Javier put on a great show! The entertainment was excellent: games & activities during the day and talented dancers every night from 930-1030. The night club was from1030-2am Drinks: At first I wasn’t too happy with the drinks but if you ask your bartenders to prepare it a certain way, they will. The CocoLoco was delicious and if not, a good old tequila shot. The cup sizes aren’t too big so bring a cup with you. Music: during the day the music at the pool and beach was very old and the same songs over and over. During the night time, the club did play new songs. I suggest you bring a speaker with you to the beach. Rooms: were nice and clean. The a/c was perfect. The views were incredible. Customer Service: everyone was friendly and helpful. I was truly in paradise. Excellent Experience— can’t wait to go back.

    3 Star at best

    Reviewed by angeladavid2018(Bengaluru, India) on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Currently staying in the resort and reality isn’t the image that is sold to you before coming:- - Cocktails extremely poor quality and no flavour (Basically coloured ice) - Spirits what you see aren’t what you get, as I witnessed major brands bottles being filled with cheap replacements - All drinks are in glasses (sometimes plastic) and not great for beach - Rooms big but seriously require upgrading, dirty & tired - Shower cubicle is actually revolting and likely to contain legionnaires - Ants everywhere in the room and seem to be getting worse as week goes on - Mini bar consists of 2 cans of beer (different kinds, one not to our taste but can’t be swapped) bottle of water and couple of cans of juice and are replaced daily - birds are allowed to enter restaurants and eat of buffet tables (incl. food areas) There are some good things like hairdryer in the room and short walk to the beach but very much basic overall. Hate to see what other hotels are like if this is classed as top. Photos to follow

    Fantastic hotel!

    Reviewed by Chloe P(England) on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here in Oct 2018 for 1 week. The hotel was faultless, the sun was shining and the location was great. Close to the beach and plenty to do at the hotel which meant you did not need to travel any further afield. The food was delicious with restaurants you could book into if you fancied a change from the generic buffet style. Havana rum is really cheap to buy here, however there is a limit as to how much you can take back through customs. The hotel itself is spread out and the rooms are well equipped. Men could wear smart tailored shorts of an evening, long trousers didnâ??t seem to be required for the evenings. I would return to this hotel.

    Wonderful Week

    Reviewed by 05JEM89(Cape Breton Island, Canada) on Jun 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from an amazing week at Iberostar Selection Varadero. This was our fourth trip to Varadero and our first at this resort. We picked this resort based on the reviews and we were not disappointed! If you're looking for the most beautiful beach, and amazing, friendly service, look no further. To start, the staff are wonderful, friendly, and the service they provide is excellent. A few stand out, and I wish I could remember all of their names: the bar tenders at the beach and in the lobby, Susan and the animation team, the wonderful servers in the lobby, the waiters & waitresses in the a la carte restaurants, and Judy, the lady who cleaned our room. Another thing that sets this resort apart is the quality of the room and bed. The King size bed was very comfortable and the room wasn't a bit damp. This was the first time I can remember not having a damp room! The food is good with a wide variety. The meal we had at the Gourmet a la carte was my favourite and would rival any fine restaurant. We will definitely visit this resort again and would recommend it to anyone looking to relax and enjoy the exceptional Cuban hospitality!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX