The Verandah Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    We absolutely loved our stay and would go back again.

    Reviewed by Mary on Mar 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Book the better suites. They are well worth it. Family resort. Beach and pools are great. Other amenities not so. Staff are courteous and friendly. Don't come here if you are afraid of birds. No bugs at this time of the year. Food at the restaurants are good. Book them ahead of time. Buffet is similar to food courts, not bad and not great. Lots of booze, they don't skimp.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    Just bad. Not worth of money paid.

    Reviewed by Former customer on Jul 24, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Not coming back. The reasons are: 1. Poor quality of check-in and room services. 2. Bad food and water quality. 3. Unprofessional, unresponsive, inattentive, short-tempered restaurant staff which oversteps boundaries. 4. Poor time management in restaurants except for Nicole's .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    S

    Amazing vacation! I'd recommend this to anybody who loves to be pampered!

    Reviewed by Sneha on Dec 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    My vacation with my family was in April. At first, we were booked in a suite and then last minute I changed it to a villa. One of the BEST experiences I've had! The only flaw i'd say is that the food wasn't the best, but that seems to be a common thing all across the Caribbean. In either case, the food was plentiful and there was a large variety each day. The villa was cleaned everyday and the staff were so friendly to talk to. Even though it was dry season, the entire resort was sparkling green. Best part about Verandah is that they are very environmentally friendly. Oh did I mention, I loved the shampoo they provided in the bathrooms! For the villas, a separate pool is provided- all the pools are nicely maintained, and the two beaches are so clean! Loved the people there, they are amazing. Would definitely recommend this anyday to anybody!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Enjoyable stay

    Reviewed by Romanie on Jun 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This resort was beautiful, well cared for grounds, and nice pools. The rooms were a good size with a large bathroom. I enjoy a nice large tub to relax in and this one fit the bill. The food was enjoyable, very tasty with many options. The main beachs were decent, but the Rasta beach had a lot of seaweed 5 feet out from the shore, so prefered the main beach. I would go back to this property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Great property something for everyone

    Reviewed by Barb on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I was impressed with this property, it is very well kept, the grounds are beautiful and well manicured. The pool area very popular also has an adults only pool. There are 2 beaches on property in a cove like setting and the water is very calm, the water is shallow. I spent as much time as I could in the tranquil ocean waters. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. I had a beautiful view of the cove. Enjoyed the balcony. This property has connecting rooms. Rooms connect through the balcony. I lost my room key and within 5 minutes one of the employees was there to let me back into my room. Service is great staff very helpful. The 3 restaurants offer great options for dining. The evening entertainment is very enjoyable. There is a fantastic kids club on property, it is open from 9:00 am to 10:00pm I would recommend this property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Amazing Staff

    Reviewed by DH on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Rooms are very spacious. Staff was great. Always willing to assist with any needs. Golf carts are always a phone call away. The atmosphere throughout the resort is very friendly and welcoming. Loved the beach area. They do bring venders on site to sell their crafts and such. Would definately go back with my family. They have something for everyone here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Jewel on the island!

    Reviewed by Kim on Jun 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This a jewel on the island! The rooms are spacious and have large balconies. They have a microwave and mini fridge in them and sink with counter top so that was very nice. Lots of channels on the TV. You can pay to have internet access in your rooms. Pool is very nice - lots of seating. Food was good - restaurants are very warm inside though. Didn't feel the a/c much. It is a large resort but they were very quick to pick you up in the golf cart once you called. Beaches were lovely. One beach you could walk out to but the other one there were stairs you had to go down to the beach. There is a nice beach as well within walking distance - Long Bay Beach - where we went snorkeling. It was very nice.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    k

    Great Service!

    Reviewed by kr on Jun 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Verhandah is a wonderful resort! Their greatest assest are the people. Everyone is so friendly and willing to please. Its doesnt take long to recognize that all the staff is genuine in their approcach to service.. Not unusual to see even the General Manager driving guests around in the resort. Or to have your server from the previous day come to your table and ask how everything is., Loved Vivane! We experienced all the restaurants except Nicole's, which has a $35 addlional cost. The Sea Breeze offers breakfast, lunch and evening buffet. The breakfast is typically the same each day with different options for omelettes each day. The Beach Grill is a lovely setting for diinner, overlooking the beach and offers a good varieity of local cuisine. The Beach Grill is open all day for lunch will you're enjoying one of two beaches. Only complaint with the beach is they remove the beach apparatus too early. At 4 o'clock the "floatiing donuts" are removed and the non motorized water sports closes. This is a very relaxing resort. I would recommend this resort to families looking for a good 4* resort with above average food and service.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    I enjoyed my stay!

    Reviewed by Heather on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I was there for a business trip and had a great time. I really enjoyed my stay at the Verandah. It is a beautiful resort set on very lush, tropical grounds. The hotel and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. My room was beautiful, very clean and spacious. I enjoyed all my meals and felt that there was some good choices. I also like the beach grill to have an afternoon snack of fresh made nachos.The pool was large and clean and plenty of room for everyone. The beach areas were great. I really enjoyed the use of water sports such as paddle boards, kayaks, peddle boats and snorkelling. There was lots to do at this resort including mini golf, ping pong and pool tables. I would visit this resort again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Love this resort !!

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I loved this resort! We traveled as a large group and had a blast. The entire staff were awesome, friendly and always helpful. The food was great, location was great, the rooms were large and cleaned every day with a number of staff around to help. The pools were great, we spent a lot of time in the main pool and quite enjoyed it. Wow to the beach, we had so much fun on the lazy water loungers, it was great to just to sit back and enjoy the water with our friends. The people here are second to none when it comes to being friendly!! There is a true kindness in their personality especially our driver John Henry from Discover Wadadli who we absolutely loved. We were fortunate enough to go to and swim with the sting rays, and what an experience that was , if you can you should check out Stingray City Snorkel Adventure. The staff here were so patient as some of us were a little cautious but so happy that we did it. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4449 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing holiday !

    Reviewed by Rachel174() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Recently stayed at The Verandah for ten nights, all inclusive in a water view suite. Upon arrival, the staff were very friendly and we were taken to our room on a golf buggy. The view from our room was incredible and it was lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the sunset. The food was excellent. We had lunch at Rasta beach most days and very much enjoyed the cheese and tomato paninis and the cheese burgers. The lunch at the Beach Bar and Grill was also excellent. In the evening, we enjoyed dining at the Beach Bar and Grill and Buccaneers. The fish was delicious, especially the salmon and the marlin. There was lots of choice at breakfast in the Sea Breeze restaurant and I enjoyed the smoothies, pastries and omelettes. The buffet food at night was good but did prefer to eat at the a la carte restaurants. The staff were incredibly friendly and always waved when they were driving the golf buggies. The range of watersports offered was great and I especially enjoyed the hobie cat sailing. Near reception there were tennis courts, mini golf, pool and table tennis. The resort is beautiful and it feels like you are staying in your own private plantation resort. There are two beaches and I enjoyed running round the resort every morning. It is situated on a quiet part of the island, near to Devil's Bridge. This resort has lots to offer and I cannot wait to return !

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    4th visit, just as good as the 1st !

    Reviewed by Keith M(London, United Kingdom) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 4th visit to the Verandah in the last 7 years. Each time it feels like we are coming home. We love it here. The staff are wonderful and the resort is beautifully maintained. We first went when our children were 9 &11. This year we asked them where they wanted to go and they chose the Verandah again. They are now 16 &18 so that says it all.

    Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua

    Reviewed by kevandmaz2019(Portsmouth, United Kingdom) on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had this holiday location pop up in a feed from our travel agents , having read about and been lucky enough to have a friend who had been here and gave good positive feedback we booked and didn't regret one minute of our 2 week holiday , Our second week coincided with memorial week (USA) and half term (UK) so there was a slight influx but nothing the resort and staff couldn't handle in their stride. The staff work really hard around a 30 acre site but always take the time to acknowledge you and will chat about this interesting islands flora and fauna , the grounds staff work very hard as do the room , bar , and restaurant staff. The main pool area was always clean and tidy with popcorn and cool drinks available , a wide selection of meals in the restaurant from buffet to al a carte , the drinks are always of a healthy proportion and you can be encouraged to sample something different. there is also a small adults only pool with its own bar as well as a beach bar above the main beach where the water sports are based which does snacks, A quieter smaller beach with the Rasta bar and grill near the reception and activities . The resort uses golf buggies to get about as taxis which will stop and offer lifts up and down the hillside which is great fun but don't be lazy you need the exercise after the meals, don't be alarmed by the chorus of frogs at night and the occasional sight of the banana spiders they're more scared of you than you them . The rooms very well proportioned and clean with huge baths/showers ours was a short walk from the main pool. This is a great location for an unwinding holiday to charge your batteries so much so we have booked for another 2 visits.

    Amazing Vacation!!

    Reviewed by Shelley P() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I was here from June 22-29 with 3 other gfs to celebrate our 60th birthday year. What a fabulous time we had at this resort. The customer service, food, villa were so lovely. I read several reviews before we came & some had me a little concerned. If your reading this - wipe those concerns out of your mind! Top notch resort from the porters that run the large golf cart around the resort every 15 minutes (no resort I have ever been to provides this service!) Shawn, Jonathon, Pearly were our favorites!Two friends took the Pink Panther guide tour with Shelley & Maquila and they loved it. They raved about how informative and fun it was. I was here from June 22-29 with 3 other gfs to celebrate our 60th birthday year. What a fabulous time we had at this resort. The customer service, food, villa were so lovely.

    Low Energy Resort

    Reviewed by Steve H(Freehold, New Jersey) on Jul 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My family of 5 just returned from a week's vacation at the Verandah Resort. Overall, the resort is nice and we enjoyed the accommodations, but the resort was lacking in energy and we were all bored for much of the week. I suspect that part of this was due to the resort being about 50% filled as it was the off-season, but the resort could also do a lot more in its layout and activities program to create more energy. The resort is located on the side of hill which provides some beautiful views of the lagoon below, but walking throughout the resort can be tiring. Thankfully, there are golf cart shuttles that will take you where you want to go which was helpful as the resort is spread out. The villa that we stayed in was spacious and clean. It included 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a private deck and pool which we enjoyed. The resort provided 3 main restaurants and 2 beach side grills that offered limited menu selections. One restaurant was buffet style and was always open. Only 1 of the 2 restaurants was open each night I suspect due to it being off peak season. We did eat at Nicole's one night, but the $40 per person upcharge was not worth it. In general, the quality of the food was quite good throughout the week. Much of the week was spent lounging either by the main pool or one of the 2 beaches. The activities program was quite limited and generally not well attended. Consequently, the kids bored quickly. Evening entertainment was also limited to either a DJ or small band playing outside by the main bar. This grew tiresome by mid-week. In summary, it's not a bad resort, but your enjoyment will depend upon your interests. If lounging by the pool or beach all week and reading a book is your thing, then I think you'll be happy here.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX