Accra Beach Hotel and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Imagine how great the experience would be If they had quality service to go with the beautiful location

    Reviewed by Stephen on Feb 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Prior to our arrival at the hotel, we had read several reviews regarding the lack of hot water and the varying levels of the quality of customer service provided by the hotel. Upon our return we have noticed many unfavourable comments on other travel sites that allow customers to provide feedback on the "travel experience" offered by service providers. Lets start with the positive. The cleaning staff and beach staff were outstanding. Never had to wait to have our room cleaned or to have chairs and an umbrella provided on the beautiful beach. Now to the hotel experience. We were subjected to a lack of hot water for the first several days, and then there was barely enough water to brush your teeth, never mind trying to have a shower. The hotel did offer some compensation for this inconvenience, but they failed to provide any logical reasons for the cause of the water "shortage". We could have lived with the water issue but were very frustrated that the restaurant and bar staff did not encourage us to eat or drink at the hotel based on the below average level of hospitality and service provided. It really shouldn't take 90 minutes to get an appetizer from the bar. We are seasoned travellers and have patience for most situations, but not to this degree.The most disappointing part of the service level was the need to go elsewhere when there were outstanding views from the restaurant. Also disappointing was the lack of feedback from WestJet. The WestJet reps did not alert us to any problems at the hotel and we have not heard from them since our return. I trust they are aware of the problems.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1896 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Another great trip to Barbados

    Reviewed by Katie M(Mississauga, Canada) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We both love Barbados, my hustand worked there years ago and we have friends there. Accra Beach is a terrific resort. Great location in the south. The pools and beach are beautiful, the restos are wonderful with great food and drink. Most of all the staff are simply the most professional and lovely people we've ever met. Special thanks to Yvonne, Everdene and Debra for their cheery "good mornings" and to Earl. And very special thanks to Cornelia, she sure does make an awesome omelet! The rooms are spacious and spotless with a large king and great bedding, balcony overlooking the ocean was lovely. But a little tired. The rooms need a little renovation (like new lamp shades!). Time for new hallway carpets but everything was very clean. Our only serious complaint was the loud sports bar in the middle of the lobby. We were there to hear the ocean and Caribbean music - not sports! It was very annoying and a lot of guests complained about it. The TV should be on mute. That way everybody is happy! Katie & Jack - Mississauga, Ontario

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Quality hotel started poor got better

    Reviewed by JOHN R() on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We booked Accra Beach through Expedia and e mailed them beforehand to tell them it was our 30th anniversary and a special occasion. Stay didn't start well as had to wait 45 minutes for room to be ready then room was fusty and faced onto main road in front of hotel. After breakfast next morning complained and asked for change of room. Next room was on side of hotel, but no balcony but thought it was better than first. While I went to shop for essential supplies receptionist approached my wife by the pool and told her they had decided to upgrade us. 3rd and current room far superior, facing the sea, better decor, balcony and own small hot tub. Food wise the special nights are good value for money with quality food, happy hour at deck bar is really good. Breakfast, if included, is a decent hot and cold buffet, if not included is expensive. Staff are all very friendly and helpful but don't expect snappy, European style service, that just isn't the Caribbean way. The pool area is excellent, the beach must be one of the best on the island and they have a good gym room, better than most 4 star hotels gyms. All in all I would recommend the hotel but I would say, if not satisfied with something politely complain and you will probably be satisfied.

    GREAT!!

    Reviewed by whf13955() on May 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This past week, April 29th thru May 7th, was our 4th time to Accra Beach Hotel since 2017. Each time has been a wonderful experience, especially with the staff. The staff has been warm, hospitable and very kind to us. These are the reasons we returned. Our first trip to Barbados we stayed at the Hilton, but in our travels around the island, we discovered Accra and wanted to stay there on our next trip to Barbados. We were not disappointed! There was a warmth that we felt that was caring like family. Everyone was courteous and very professional from the time we checked in with Judy, until the time we exited the car service at the airport with Mr. Johnson. We would like to make mention of those that we love and made us feel like family when we were around them. Jennifer, Diaonne, Debbie, Aldrae (Management Team), Nikki and Lisa (Activity Desk), Dale, Zoanna and Daniele (Front Desk), Shelley and Raquel (Spa), Anthony, Damian and Sean (Bell Men), Yvonne, Elizabeth, Riann, Everdene and Julisa (Restaurant), Frankie and Timothy, (I’m sure make the best Rum Punches in Barbados!), Tara and Margaret in Housekeeping and Suresh M. (General Manager). We celebrated my birthday during our stay, and I was truly overwhelmed with Accra Beach Hotel and the service I received. I’m asking that you would please continue to renovate and update the hotel. It’s a place that everyone needs to experience. The group that traveled with us twice to Accra, also loves it and says that it’s a perfect location and is looking forward to coming back again next year. Accra is home away from home.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Voucher stay after cancelled Air Canada Rouge flight

    Reviewed by BIGAPPLELOVER(Whitehorse, Canada) on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for 1 night in October 2018, after our Air Canada Rouge flight was cancelled. We were transported here for free, given vouchers for 1 night stay, and an allowance for dinner and breakfast. Nothing extravagant, and it was certainly disappointing after a 5-day stay at Sandals. We had good service and a comfortable night's sleep though. The room was clean, but was lacking finesse. For example, the frames on the walls were crooked, the art in the bathroom was slipping out of of the frame, and the patio door was weird (like a wooden bifold closet door, over the glass). The resort at night looked nice, but in the daytime, it was clear that it was in major need of updating. There was mould in the roof of the restaurant, and the grounds, the chairs, everything really....looked tired and in need of repair or replacement. The dinner meal we had at the beachfront restaurant was DELICIOUS. I had a mushroom pasta with gorgonzola cream sauce and it was amazing. There were quite a few people partying on the beach (yelling and screaming) while we were eating dinner (not guests, I don't think). We went across the street to the plaza afterwards for ice-cream (delicious!) and it had a neat local flair. Got coffee there the next morning which was also great. Several local food options here, in a strip mall type of setting. There were guys openly selling pot in the parking lot, but again, could have been the time of night (after 10pm). We did get great service from the staff and had a nice enough stay for one night. I'm just glad we didn't pay for this. I would have been hugely disappointed had I been booked here out of pocket. We also spoke to someone at the airport who had booked here for two weeks (they were leaving on the same flight) and they said the pool bar wasn't open the entire time and the resort had lost power for a few days during their stay and they had to be moved elsewhere for part of their stay. I would rate this hotel a 2 star at best. The service at the front desk, and the service and meal we had at the restaurant was probably 4 star though.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    Disappointing hotel

    Reviewed by Indi M(Whitby, Canada) on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This hotel is in dire need of refurbishing and upgrading to justify the prices they charge and the online rating. My room was dark and dingy, I had to ask for additional lamps so we didn't feel like we were in a cave. Within the first hour of being in the room, the toilet overflowed and flooded the room. Maintenance came quickly to fix the problem. The walls looked dirty and the wallpaper doing double duty as a headboard was starting to peel. The sliding door to the balcony didn't lock and the louver doors installed in front had chain door guards instead of locks! Very disappointed that my 4 day stay costed just over US$1000.00, and didn't include and food or drinks, what a rip off!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX