Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
    6. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    J

    I will not return or recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Reviewed by J on Dec 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I would not come here. My number one reason for picking this place was for the heated pool that is advertised. Sadly there is no heated pool and it is too cold to swim without it. There are very few people in the pools and each time someone goes in they make that face of shock from how cold the water is. The service is no where as good as I've recieved in the past in Mexico. Many of the staff have poor English skills so it's hard to communicate sometimes. This is nowhere near a 4 star hotel. Paying for the upgrade to privileged makes you think you get a special Beach and bar as advertised but it's not true. We have been to these areas and there are full of non privileged guests. The staff do not monitor who is using these areas. Why was I charged for this service that everyone else is getting without paying for?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11620 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    The perfect kick back

    Reviewed by Paradise28532210061(Jersey City, New Jersey) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Catalonia resort is a place to relax kick back and enjoy your time in Mexico. With a ton of activities and things to do you will not feel bored. Instead you feel so refreshed and lively. A beautiful scenic view and of the ocean and wildlife.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    would never visit there again

    Reviewed by sofya y() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Very bad beach , a lot of seaweeds makes it impossible to swim. Food is not tasteful, every day the same, no much variety of it. Personnel at front desk is very rude and ignorant, they refused to help me to print my boarding passes.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Wonderful Holiday

    Reviewed by Trip53879884644(Christchurch, United Kingdom) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Really good hotel, bathroom a little dated. Staff throughout very good and friendly. Entertainment staff excellent, with daytime activities and evening shows. Buffet and a la carte restaurants serve a wide range of well prepared food. Usual problems with sunbeds around pools but lots of beds on the beach.I would definitely return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Catalonia review

    Reviewed by Seaside13993673297() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Very pushy staff or "sub-contractors" trying to sell upgrades and excursions all day, every day. Far from airport. Food was just "ok"'. Beach was poor at best full of weeds. The gym was good and the working staff were very good. We had a running toilet, leaky ceiling and broken patio door lock but the rooms were clean.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Awesome

    Reviewed by Companion43130270729() on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Beautiful resort. Meticulously clean. Delicious food (but, I do not reccomend beef belly salad). Some of the best food I have ever eaten was at the 'a la carte' dinners. They are constantly dealing with seaweed on the south end of the beach, but there is a pristine beach that never get seaweed, just to the north and still on the resort. You get 1 hour of free snokleing equipment. So check out some fishes in the ocean. Its large resort and easy to be turned around and lost. Puerto aventuras is worth checking out. Only complaint is the front desk was not helpful at all. They know nothing. They get you to the room and then you're on your own. The drinks are great. The pools are perfect. The sand is warm. Ahh take me back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX