Angsana Cayo Santa Maria

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    T

    Board to death. Horrible food no selection. Mosquito smoke in your face and flys all over your food. Bad food handling methods.

    Reviewed by Thehowie on May 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Would never go back. First of all if you have breathing issues do not go. The have this truck that goes around at least twic a day. Went past us and would not wait amd we were on the path way. Eyes burn throat was soar it was nasty. Rhe person I went with was gasping for air and was planicing as it made it hard for them to breath. Caused them to vomit. The food is hirrinle lunch same items as dinmer you get items like muscles sitting out for hours on warm air just waiting to make you sick. Flys are over everything. Sitting in tue rice pudding. Disgusting. Very boaring nothing to do very little music no shows even seniors get board. Nice and quiet but too quiet. Not worth the money. Also they think the pesoo cuc very strong and gauge you on exchange anotu 68 cents on dollar. When you leave cuba currency worthless as it is a closed currency.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 255 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice facilities, subpar food

    Reviewed by ParadiseBoy909(Montreal, Canada) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I went to this beautiful resort mid-June for one week with my mother. It’s an adult all inclusive my hotel. It wasn’t the busy holiday season that you will find during winter time. In fact, the resort was at maximum 20% full. Sunshine was present throughout our week stay and it was quite hot and humid. Rooms: we were in Bungalow 3 with a beautiful view of the ocean. My room was on the second floor. Nice to sit on the balcony and hear the sound of waves. Very relaxing. The room itself is very colourful, bright and well decorated. Nice big bathroom. Maid service is exceptional and rooms are kept clean every day, no complaint there. I also found the rooms to be soundproof, nice if you want to rest. Ground: being a newly opened hotel ( November 2018 ), the infrastructure is in very good condition. The opened lobby has a wonderful view on the Caribbean sea and it’s colonial décor is very chic and Zen. The vegetation is lush, well groomed and maintained. Being a smaller hotel, everything is reachable and close by. Beach/swimming pools: 2 beautiful swimming pools in front of the main lobby with lots of loungers and palapas. There are 3 beaches. When you face the sea, the biggest beach is on the extreme left of the property. It is a long white sand beach with emerald waters. The second beach is just in front of the lobby. It is very small but has a romantic feel to it. The 3rd beach is on the extreme right of the property. It’s a medium size beach with shallow waters and lot’s of corals and fishes. You will feel like Robinson Crusoe. Food: this was the weak spot of our stay. We always found something to eat but the choice was very limited. It’s not the first time I go to Cuba and I know that it doesn’t compare to other Caribbean islands with respect to food, but this time it was below my expectations. One could blame it on the US embargo and on the crisis in Venezuela ( Cuba was buying lot’s of cheap oil from Venezuela), but unfortunately the Cuban government is the major responsible for that situation, taking it’s population in hostage with a non viable economic model….small politic digression… On the bright side, the cocktails and drinks prepared in the lobby bar are excellent Entertainment: since it was the low season, there wasn’t much in term of entertainment. Good music players during the evenings near the lobby bar. There was also a very professional and talented group of Cuban dancers during an outside BBQ near the pools and beach snack bar. Overall, a beautiful human size hotel with great infrastructure, superb beach and friendly staff. Nice place to relax. Just too bad that the food was subpar.

    The Allure of Angsana

    Reviewed by Cayocasa(Owen Sound, Canada) on Jul 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our recent vacation at the Angsana Cayo Santa Maria marked the second and third weeks we have stayed at this hotel since late April. For those readers who would like an overview of the rooms available at this property, I would refer you to the hotels website. The Angsana is an adult only resort located approximately 90 minutes by bus from the airport in Santa Clara Cuba. It is a property which prides itself on its tranquility...and delivers upon that promise in many ways. Upon our arrival at the Angsana, we found our check in smooth and effortless: thanks Jessie and Duvier! We were surprised to learn that we were only two of sixteen guests in the resort: during the two weeks we were there, client numbers ranged from 12 – 54: we did learn that all other hotels in the Cayo Santa Maria area had comparable occupancy rates. While we were concerned that such low numbers would negatively effect the service we received, I can share with the reader that the service from staff was outstanding! (Note: we are experienced Cuba travellers, having visited the island one hundred plus times: over the past five and one half years, we have stayed in a variety of hotels in Cayo Santa Maria for thirty-nine weeks.) Staff went above and beyond to ensure that client needs and wants were met. In addition to outstanding service from all staff (gardeners, wait staff, maids, bar tenders, cooks etc.), the dining options at the Angsana, while more limited than our last visit, reflected the quality of food we have come to expect at this hotel. The Buffet, the Ranchon (buffet and a la carte) and the Snack Bar (a la carte) provided us with some creative menus. A good selection of fresh fruits, vegetables, meats and postres ensured that there was something enjoyable for all tastes. The Angsanas food offerings continue to rank with the best we have experienced in the Cayo Santa Maria area. While service and dining are important components of our vacation, the beach facilities available for guests is very important. Here, the Angsana does not disappoint. It's main beach while not overly long, is quite beautiful. A second, “quiet” beach is located at the opposite end of the resort to the main beach. A wonderful feature of this, is that one can literally walk in the pristine turquoise water along the shoreline fronting the hotel from one beach to the other: a unique and beautiful experience. Additionally, the waters at and between both beaches offer excellent snorkelling to those so inclined. Both beaches at the Angsana are serviced by bars: during our stay, the bar at the quiet beach was not open. Javier, at the main beach bar, provided stellar service to clients. Gracias amigo. Javier was not alone in providing outstanding service from his bar. The bartenders at the lobby bar take great pride in their mixology and serving skills. Eduardo, Pocurull, William, and Erik are simply amazing. Martinis, Negronis, gin and tonics, frozen coffee ...whatever one's fancy, these “amigos” can do it all with a special “twist” of their own. As a side note, the selection of Cuban rums and liquors available at the lobby bar is the best we have ever seen in the cayos! The staff of the lobby bar also tend to guests who enjoy either of the two pools (the smaller one was closed while we were there due to annual servicing.) the Angsana offers to guests. The larger of the two is particularly attractive and serene. Clients who have an affinity for a pool over la playa will not be disappointed. Clearly the Angsana has a number of attractive features which might appeal to prospective guests. Superior service from staff. A wonderful beach. Zen like tranquility. Very good and varied dining. Excellent bars. For this writer, these qualities combine to provide guests with a remarkable vacation.... remarkable enough for us to have already booked another trip to the Angsana in late October. Gracias to the staff and management: hasta octubre.

    Great Place

    Reviewed by HavanaClub38(Ottawa, Canada) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I traveled Jul. 6 - 13 on an Air Canada Vacations all-inclusive package. We arrived late around 10:30 and we were the only guests getting off the bus at this resort. The bar staff brought us 2 iced drinks and we checked in without any trouble. The booking had us in a main-floor room and we upgraded to a 2nd floor for about $90 per person for the week - which was a good deal because Air Canada wanted about $200 more for this upgrade at the time we booked online. Before our arrival I sent an email to the resort telling them that we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary on July 9th. Because of this we were welcomed with a bottle of champagne and the customer service manager sent us a letter to our room asking us to come talk to her about preparations for this event. The upgraded room was overlooking the ocean and was very clean and spacious. Every day our room was nicely cleaned and the fridge was filled with soft drinks, beer, and water. The food selection was appropriate and was very good. We learned that the resort can host up to about 500 people but this being the low season we were only about 40 - 50 people on the resort therefore everything was adjusted accordingly, which suited us very well. There were no shows, but they had very talented musicians show up to entertain us in the evenings. On Monday July 8 there was a 4-person band which played an incredible array of songs and were very good. Similarly last night they had "Cuban Night" and the band who showed up was also very good. On our anniversary the management set us up with a table near the beach, with a special menu including "langusta", and a saxophone player, who was amazing. A thunderstorm moved in and we had to take the dinner in the Snack Bar - but that was only a minor inconvenience and the whole evening turned out excellent. We spent about an equal amount at the pool and the beach. Normally we'd go to the beach in the morning and then hang around the pool after lunch. The beach is nice, although there are a lot of rocky areas when you go in the water. It is recommended that you bring footwear to protect your feet. It is for this reason that we favoured the pool in the end. There were no beach activities or water sports at Angsana but we were told that we could visit the nearby Dhawa Resort and they would provide those activities for free. Although the Dhawa is a short 5-minute walk along the beach we did not go there. We also heard (and did not verify with Management) that we could attend the evening entertainment shows at Dhawa - so if you're set on that kind of entertainment I guess you're covered. In all we had a great, relaxing stay in this resort. We were looking for a quiet, adult-oriented place, with a 5-star rating - and we found it. Cudos go out to Willian, Alain, Yosbel, Feliz, and the staff at the Customer Service desk.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Sanctuary at Angsana

    Reviewed by sandals6305() on Jul 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I travelled to this beautiful resort in June and could not have been happier. I chose Angsana based on the multiple reviews that described it's serenity and Zen-like atmosphere. This description could not have been more spot on. The resort is gorgeous and very well layed out. Pools are perfect and the beach is flawless. I have always been skeptical when reviewers have described resort staff as friends/family. Now I understand!!!. Having travelled throughout the Caribbean over the last 20 years, I can honestly say the staff here are the friendliestI have ever met. I have already re-booked for July 2019. Thank you to everyone at Angsana for have given me a perfect vacation. See you again in a few weeks. Mark W.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing stay

    Reviewed by jayandtoni(Alliston, Canada) on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A friend and I did a quick 4 night stay in May for my birthday! Hands down one of the best resorts I have ever been to! Food was amazing, beach was gorgeous, rooms were spotless and comfortable, and the staff treated you like royalty! I have already booked our return trip with 2 other couples in August to celebrate our wedding anniversary! I have travelled to Cuba and other Carribean countries multiple times(Cuba 10 times, And others such as Mexico, St Maarten, Antigua, etc) and I can honestly say this is one of the FEW resorts I would return to!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX