Meliá Cayo Santa Maria

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    A

    We had a blast at the Melia. The rooms were super clean. We had a lot of choice at the buffet. The restaurants were good. Nice staff

    Reviewed by Alexandra Lussier on Jun 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Great service. Super clean. Animation crew was awesome

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5241 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Gorgeous Beach!!!!

    Reviewed by yacopow(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    BEACH: Absolutely stunning and warm! Walk for miles in either direction. Lots of beautiful sand and great selection of palapas! No seaweed. On windy days, lots of waves. Hard to swim! HOTEL ROOM: Very spacious and nice. No problems with water pressure or warmth. GROUNDS: Very beautiful and clean. FOOD: Not great. It's Cuba. Not for lack of effort but very redundant and boring. DRINKS: Best known for their beer and Mojitos. Many people brought their own bubbas. They have very small plastic drinking cups! They don't know what Daiquiris are! SERVICE: Depends on who you get. Difficult sometimes to even get water. Slow service. POOLS: Very nice big pool. Another smaller pool also very nice. Some spots had chipped tiles. No need to worry about mosquitos at this resort. They go around spraying with vehicle almost every night. You can expect an almost 2 hour drive from the airport by the time your bus drops everyone else off as you will be one of the last to reach this resort. It's Cuba so you need to want to go for the beach which is beautiful. Keep your expectations in check for the rest and you will not be disappointed for the price you pay compared to other destinations. No one in my family of 4 got sick. We had fun and we were happy to have tried Santa Maria, Cuba. Weather was gorgeous and really hot so bring lots of suntan lotion and aloe vera gel for burns. If it rained, it was quick and then sun again. Enjoy! Very good hotel compared to many others.

    Best Beach Vacation We Have Ever Had

    Reviewed by estrellitamaria(Miami, Florida) on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a dream we lived by staying at Melia Paradisus Cayo Santa Maria. Brand new hotel with every luxury you can think of for a summer vacation. The evening shows are AMAZING. Guaranteed fun 100%!!! ??????

    First family vacation all together

    Reviewed by JTPC21() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hi, I just wanted to say a big thank you to Meliá cayó Santa María. This was the first family vacation that we had together. First off, the beach was so beautiful. There was lots of shade. Every morning, there were different activities happening at the beach such as volleyball, dancing, Aqua zumba and Taichi. For my kids, they got to build huge sand castles with the staff and play throw the hoops, tug of war. I have to mention that most of these activities happened at the end of the week when more kids arrived. In the beginning of the week (June 26) there weren’t many children. For us adults, the staff did their best to get us up and dancing at the pool and at night. Obviously the more people who participate make the activities more fun. We noticed that the hotel wasn’t packed. Which makes sense as it was low season. Our waitress told us that we were 240 guests. Pro is we got all the reservations we wanted for our family, we got the spots at the beach that was best for my babies and also by the pool. Con: not many people and kids were there to participate and less opportunity to make friends. Example, sometimes my husband wanted to play beach volleyball but even when the animation crew joined in, they weren’t quite enough to play. Other people couldn’t be bothered to get out of their chairs and play. Food was excellent. My babies are picky eaters. We always had options that made them happy! Thank you to staff for their attention and help. Room was always well kept, waiters always attended our needs, their was always a show at the end of the night with 2 brilliant dancers, a great violinist who is so talented, a great rock group and swimmers who pulled a great show. Thank you once again Meliá cayó Santa María, staff, waiters, cleaning ladies and entertaining group! :)

    Comments regarding Lobby Staff

    Reviewed by MissJo66(Montreal, Canada) on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Hi, as you may know - the Melia Cayo Santa Maria is my home away from home. I am a re-re-re-turning guest (you get my drift) have been going there and only there for the past 5 years, 3 to 4 times a year. And the main reason is : THE STAFF. Having visited Cuba for 20 years, the entire hotel staff distinguishes itself. Especially the Lobby staff. They will do everything possible, and even impossible to ensure your comfort and happiness. So it breaks my heart when they are unfairly criticized or verbally attacked by ignorant groups of travelers who have unreal expectations and then blame the lobby staff for situations out of their control. I have the utmost trust, respect and admiration for the following staff; and administration at the hotel should recognize their value: Adriana, Bryan, Alejandro, Adilen, Daymara, Yusdelkys, Mislady, Giselle, Reinier and Nahomy :-) I look forward to their excellent service when I return to the hotel in September. And for anyone wanting a beautiful clean beach, deep gorgeous water, a calm and well kept hotel and a fun, friendly, courteous staff: I INVITE YOU TO TRY THE MELIA and if you like it, please post it on Trip Advisor. Everyone comments helps!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Girls trip 2019

    Reviewed by kmmed16(Montreal, Canada) on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My friend and I were debating going to Varadero or to Cayo Santa Maria. I heard many good things about the Cayo and had gone to Varadero many times. To me, there is no comparison: Cayo Santa Maria was just all and all amazing. After reading a few reviews, we decided to stay at Melia Cayo Santa Maria. The resort was nice and not too big; the room was a good size. One thing I didn’t really like is that the air conditioning vent was directly over the bed. We tried playing with the setting and it never felt like it was “warmer”. So it can get a bit cold at night. The food was great! Compared to my last trip to Varadero where I thought it was horrible (I am not a picky eater). It was spot on! The à la carte restaurants where a step above the buffet, without a doubt. They also had a 24/7 snack bar which has sandwiches and yummy pizzas! What really made our stay more than incredible was the staff. From Adrianna at the front desk, Duneisy who was always available and ready to change our towels, to all the people in the entertainment staff (Alex, Felipe, Nayibi, Daniel, Yoanni, etc) ready to get you to participate in all the activities they had planned and to all the other men and woman either bartending or waitressing (Yosvanni, Nestor, Yunesi, Carlos, Osman and many more). They were always so friendly, attentive, helpful and always did everything with a smile! I overall really appreciated my experience mainly due to them! I’d go back in a heartbeat no questions asked. Also, this is a very kid friendly hotel! Animation staff many things lined up to keep your little ones entertained.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX