Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cozumel
    5. Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa
    6. Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    I

    Great Location. Great staff. Hotel is 2.5 *. Food nothing special. Extremely aggressive and annoying pushy sales staff all over the lobby.

    Reviewed by IS on Jan 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Extremely painful long wait at Cozumel airport. Entering Cozumel almost 2 hours wait at customs. Only 2 customs agents working, they constantly took breaks. The economy of Cozumel is based on tourism. Why treat tourists that way? Leaving the island by air was the same thing. Long line ups, slow customs clearance. Close to 2 hours again. Hotel is nice maintained on the outside. Pleasant to the eyes. Rooms inside not so much. Rooms are dated. Bathrooms not in good shape. Hotel staff is great and friendly. In the lobby area is full of sales people who were quite annoying, trying to push travel deals a little similar to time shares. Their sales pitch is that if you pay for their membership you will be paying 25% to 75% lass for travel accommodations wherever you want, whenever you want (thus a bit similar to time share). Food great in Mexican restaurant (El Patio). Food good in second restaurant (Sunny Side Grill). Italian restaurant (Da Mario) horrible. Horrible pizza, horrible pasta. My son got sick from the chicken pasta and spent the night in the bathroom. Next day he was fine. Buffet restaurant (Portofino) 3 out of 5 at best. The only place opened 24\7 is the bar by main lobby (Starboard). Javier Ventura, bartender who worked at that bar was great. Super friendly, very fast. Mixes great drinks. Was my favorite place to get a drink thanks to Javier. Great snorkeling just off the hotel?s beach. Find a bigger rock in the shallow water and is surrounded by tons of marine life and large number of different fish. Awesome. However tons of rocks as soon as you go in the ocean. Water shoes are absolutely necessary. Came home with cut up feet. There are few better resorts for better price near this resort. Do your homework. Occidental Cozumel, Iberostar Cozumel, Allegro Cozumel are all better resorts.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    Great Place to Unwind

    Reviewed by Frank on Nov 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff works very hard to please everyone. I love the Mexican people. The are friendly and very much family oriented. This hotel is not 5 star but has everything you need for a wonderful vacation. snorkelling off beach-free kayaks and sailboats-paddle boards I was surprised that They even supplied free transfer from the airport saving $133.00 We were never bothered by timeshare people. I would come here again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3043 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    We love the Sunscape Sabor!

    Reviewed by JoyceEllenB(Westminster, Colorado) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The location is great! Immediately greeted when we drove up. Juan Carlos, Antonio, and Randy took great care of us and our luggage. We could walk right out to the beach from our ocean front room which had a nice balcony. Great for sitting out at night listening to the waves! The maid service was top notch! We really enjoyed the breakfast at Portofino. Gloria makes a great omelet. We also enjoyed the lunch buffet which provided a variety of foods to choose from. The service was always amazing. They were serving us another drink before we finished our first one! That's how well they got to know us. Thanks, Isabel, Angel, Rubenl, Rucel, and Luis. We enjoyed dinner at Da Mario. Sit outside if you can. The sunset is amazing.We also love El Patio. Very authentic Mexican cuisine. The Sunnyside Grill by the pool was also great! The beach bar Coconuts was fun. Shout out to Rico! And Tortugas by the pool is fun too! Christian and Alfredo--great bartenders. The spa was very nice. Great water treatments before our relaxing massage.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Less than What You Pay For

    Reviewed by jennyome(Milwaukee, Wisconsin) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    CONS: WIFI - Forget it. Heard even people who paid for wifi did not have a very strong signal. ROCKY BEACH. There is no way you can walk beyond the shore and not feel as though you are going to break an ankle. HORRIBLE FOOD SELECTION - There were 4 places to eat. Buffet which was hit or miss. The trays seemed to ALWAYS be empty. Salad was more so for the amphibians that strolled the resort or the birds that were flying over your head and eating off of unattended plates. The Italian restaurant offered very little their Alfredo was like flavored milk! The soups were like broth, the buffet used ALL the food from previous meals and created new entrees. The Patio; make sure men have slacks! for dinner you can not dine inside if you are wearing shorts. I mean really? you are in the tropics who the heck brings pants? There were some women in there dressed in less than I would care to see when dining! Yet men could not access without full length pants on? DRINKS - very watered down. I am not a drinker. I can have one Mojito here in the states and be literally buzzed.. I think I had at least 5-6 drinks before I even felt as though I was drinking. ROOM (3615)- very outdated. It smelled moldy when you first walked in, the bathroom drain on the floor smelled like sewer and each time you flushed the toilet it was like you can smell it coming up from that drain. Ants all over counter of bathroom and where the coffee pot is. The tub you literally need a step stool to step into it as it was so high and the toilet you surely get a work out in your thighs because you have to squat so low. The sink leaked around the handles and under the sink. I had to keep a towel under there. They never replenished my water in the refrig. I never drank any of the soda, juices or beer so I asked for water only and I had to snatch it all from the cart. the door knobs were all just "hanging" they were not securely in place (bathroom and adjoining room) POOL(s): There was a "quiet pool" right outside our room which was quiet for the most part until more people came and kids started to come hang out there cuz the mom's were probably too lazy to walk to the larger pool where all the fun and activities took place. The pool looked cloudy and dirty. They were replacing wood banisters on the balconies and all the wood shavings were falling on top of us and into the pool. The entertainment pool was nice. Not enough seating though. SMOKERS: Be warned if you do not like the smell of smoke this resort is NOT FOR YOU! ya just never know when someone is going to light up a cig or cigar or blow that vape stuff your way. Being an Ex Smoker, I get it; ya want to enjoy a smoke and drink around the pool but next time, I will choose a resort that is completely smoke free. PROS: Very friendly staff. Entertainment team was fun and engaging. The staff spoke English well. There was about 4-5 tv channels in English. The grounds outside the room were very clean.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Never Again

    Reviewed by hawkerr(Feeding Hills, Massachusetts) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    For the price this is a dump. Old, outdated and tired. We twice had to have our key pad worked on because we, and the housekeeper, couldn’t get into the room. Our refrigerator also died and we had no cold water. They then sent us from one person to another for help for over 2 hours. Luckily Arbey and Oscar were shining lights on our otherwise at times not a happy vacation I will say our view was awesome

    More value than you can imagine

    Reviewed by lunchladylucy(Woodstock, Georgia) on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Room 3421 a corner suite with a beach/ocean view. Buffets/restaurants were plentiful and foods very good. Be sure to pack water shoes, beach is very course, seaweed. The staff was what made our stay! Gracias Max at El Patio.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Neat hotel, friendly stuff

    Reviewed by YoHighness(Jacksonville, Florida) on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first all inclusive family vacation. We usually are no big fans of large hotels. But we have been positively surprised by the hotel and especially the lovely and friendly stuff. Especially the animations team (Arbey) and the Restaurant personell (Isabell) have been great and had always an ear for us and our needs. The hotel itself is about 30 years old and got renewed around 8 years ago. It has all it needs and also the restaurants are not as busy as we expected them to be. The food is fresh and for variation they offer 4 restaurants and occasional pop up restaurants. The pools are always clean and we’ve seen them taking water test to keep quality standards. Also the private beach is nice and very clean. This was an awesome overall experience, eventho we are not really resort vacationiats. We definitely would recommend this hotel to families.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX