Sunscape Curaçao Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    M

    Concierge, did not seem to care that we had paid extra to level up. I was beyond frustrated with this. Sunscape needs to do a better job.

    Reviewed by M and B Butler on Mar 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Curacao is amazing, the capital of Willemstad is a must see. We took the shuttle from the hotel. So much to see, floating bridge and the ferry. Stayed at Sunscape, the service was not great, We upgraded to be in the Level up area pool. It seemed that anyone could use the pool and beach area when though it was roped off. The pool was full of kids, with snorkels and flippers, screaming. Parents ignored the glares let this behaviour happen the entire week of our stay. The water is stunning, there a huge wave break which is helpful. My husband enjoyed the snorkelling along the rock wall.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    R

    Best Caribbean Hotel So Far!

    Reviewed by Robin Ford on Jul 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was our first time to Curacao and we ABSOLUTELY loved it! It's one of the most fantastic destinations we have been to in the Caribbean. It was extremely safe and easy to get around the island without having to rent a car. We stayed at the Sunscape Curacao Resort with our 6 year old son and he had the most wonderful time with the staff at the kids club as well as the entertainment crew. The restaurants all had something unique to offer, but the one restaurant right on the beach overlooking the ocean was our ultimate favourite. There was always something to be eaten at the resort. We upgraded our room for the week for a minimal amount and it was WELL worth it! We had a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. Just beautiful to wake up and open our patio doors to every morning. I can write all the amazing reviews I want, but it will not do this resort justice -- We are planning to head back May 2017 for our 10 year anniversary and bringing our parents!!! Can't wait!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6195 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Quiet & Cozy Resort

    Reviewed by BirdBT690KG() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is a really quiet resort and certainly family friendly. Check in was a very smooth process and the concierge was not very pushy with the offers to come see them about packages and "discounts" -- where other resorts typically "prey" on new arrivals. This is a very small resort and the walk to our room was a short couple of minutes. The room was clean and presented a great "home" feel. My only issue with the room was there were no small, wash towels in the room and they were never provided. The resort did not have any when requested and since I didn't bring my own loofah, I had to improvise my wash cloth. The beach is very rocky and appears man-made, which has pros and cons when walking: less sand enters the shoe and is very rocky and uncomfortable is barefoot. The water is BEAUTIFUL, however and the rock wall prevents a strong undercurrent and make swimming much better. Maximum depth appeared to be 2 - 3 m, which is great for any level swimmer. Additionally, you can see all the beautiful fish swimming around with any goggles (and even without). The dining is average, at best. There are five restaurants and only one (hibachi) requires a reservation. Our food was cold at each of the eateries except Oceana Seafood. Despite being cold, all the food was tasty except for the World Cafe (buffet). The buffet was not very good, but was convenient, quick and useful if you need something fast to get to an excursion of other commitment. Expect a minimum stay of 1.5 hrs at the others (service/cooking is very slow). Finally, this is NOT a party/singles resort. There is an exorbitant amount of families and children staying here. I noticed a family with a baby as young as 12 weeks! Nevertheless, there is some fun for all ages and adults/couples on vacation can find something to do here or enjoy a brief walk to Mambo blvd for to enjoy a little more "adult" nightlife/bars.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    a great vacation

    Reviewed by Sinthu G() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We loved our stay at sunscape. Pros great kids club great day time entertainment they give out sunscape dollars when you participate in activities which you can use toward auction to get free gifts (bottle of alcohol, tshirt etc) pools are great beach is infront the food at the restaurants are great!! beach party and carnival were great! staff are friendly loved snoopy and all the entertainment staffs con: they need varies of food at the buffet (its okay) better nightly entertainment more staff need to be hired long wait at restaurants

    Honeymoon as a Sunclub member

    Reviewed by MrsMcNasty19(New Westminster, Canada) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We both really loved it! They had amazing beaches with a wave breaker. Loads of pools. I would say the looks were t very fancy or big compared to the amount of people there. The all inclusive food was delicious as Da Mario and oceana. Blue water grill was just okay and they only had one 24 hour place to eat that served the same sandwiches and cakes daily. All food was closed by 1030/11 ish. They had plenty of beach chairs too. I just thought fir being a sun club member there should have been a more private beach or pool. We had to wait 90 mins one night just to get into a restaurant.

    Little Disappointed

    Reviewed by vaughn_re(DeLand, Florida) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We first arrived and were given rooms without door handles and there were no elevators in the buildings. Management did accommodate us with room upgrades and free massages. The food was adequate for all inclusive, the drinks were very small and the resort at times seemed under staffed. Employees were extremely friendly and appeared to do there best. Other than the door issue the property was in good condition. We did have issues with local kids jumping the wall and attempting to swim in the lagoon and swimming pool. The location of the property was not near the downtown area but did have Sea Aquarium and other excursions at the end of the road. Downtown Willemstad was awesome and was a short taxi ride away.

    OKAY

    Reviewed by Climber1377(New York) on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The entertainment team had a great canada day party and an awesome 4th of July party in the night. They also put on a great show for flag day. The water at the beach is amazing, looks just like the pool water - beach shoe needed but the resort clears a little area where you can walk in without rocks. The wait at the restaurant is awful. They should really make reservation. We were a party of 9 and had to wait 1 hour to 1.5 hours each day unless we wanted to eat at the buffet. They took reservation at the Hibachi which was delicious and we didn't have to wait. i liked the food at the Hibachi and the BBQ ribs at the grill restaurant. The dinner at the buffet was not great. Also they didnt have a good variety of fruits or desserts. The elevator in the hotel looks rusty, the water in the sink in the bathroom went down very slowly. The shower walls need to be scrubbed as there was black on the grout. the pool bar ran out of cups on 3 separate occasions.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX