Royal Kona Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    well worth the money. stay here!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The Hotel on the outset looks aged... but it is very well maintained and in good repair. Reno's have brought it up to the 1990's at least. Typical tropical open concept. It's Hawaii... who cares. You have to pay for the intenet if you want it in the room, but it really isn't a huge issue to use it at the bar, that is open from 11am till whenever you go to sleep! Rooms are clean and exactly as expected. Pool overlooks the ocean. While that seems redundant, its not. there is really no beach to speak of. Only Lava Rock and a small lagoon off to the side. But who needs a beach when the wildlife come to you. There wasn't a morning that I was down using the internet that I didn't see fish, dolphins, Manta Ray's, or whales breaching off the shore. A true highlight of the trip. The hotel was great and the staff friendly. Service was impecable. I would recommend to anybody.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3383 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very nice!

    Reviewed by billshaf(Salt Lake City, Utah) on Nov 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed here two nights in October 2018 before we headed to Hilo and enjoyed it very much. It's an older property, but we had no real complaints related to that. Ocean view King room was very nice, plus no charge for a rollaway for my 10 year old (though not sure if "no charge" is the norm). Easy walk to a (very) small white sand beach (Honl's beach) to the south. Easy walk across the street to lots of dining, a bit longer but still easy walk to shopping. The pool was nice, as was the lagoon. The staff was awesome. The only possible complaint would be that there was a wedding going on the night we arrived that was pretty loud. Granted it was a Saturday night, but this IS a hotel, and I expect to NOT have to listen to a party right outside my room past midnight.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Nice location, dated hotel

    Reviewed by Q7075XIjennyc(Warwickshire) on Nov 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed for 3 nights as part of my tour of Hawaii. Really liked the location but found the hotel extremely dated. Room was large with a nice side view of the ocean and a large balcony. Reception tried to charge me for a wifi code even though the room rate specifically included wifi.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Blue Hawaii

    Reviewed by Lee D(Evergreen, Colorado) on Nov 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The surf was up- or high for you landlubbers. Beautiful waves crashing, white crests with deep blue-green acqua and right at our fingertips, we had an excellent ocean view room. We left a cold Colorado snowstorm and arrived to a sunny warm Kona- a week of warmth, sunshine and great Mai Tai’s. We enjoyed a clean, air conditioned room with excellent staff. The pool was comfortable and we also enjoyed the resorts protected lagoon for swimming in the Pacific. The nightly Luau was enjoyable. A great stay and getaway.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    One night stay.

    Reviewed by Suzybee51(Memphis, Tennessee) on Nov 07, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were short one night at our condo so we booked one night at the resort. It is an older hotel but their customer service is extraordinary - they let us check in early so we could put our bags in our room so we could hike to the Green Sands Beach. Our room was clean and quiet. I didn’t expect a good view because of the price. They charge for parking$12 and $9.95 if you want high speed internet. We called for more pillows and they brought them quickly. They helped me get checked in to our airline. I have no complaints except for the additional charges. We slept well. That was all we needed.

    Vacation

    Reviewed by Pat S() on Nov 06, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stay at the Royal Kona every time we go to the Big Island. Its location is great for those who enjoy walking to “old town Kona” where many restaurants and shops are available. The hotel is old but very clean. Could use updates like a microwave, free WiFi, an updated coffee maker. We will continue to visit the hotel as the staff are excellent and make you feel welcome! It’s like coming back home again!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX