Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    d

    There's no place like Jamaica & Sandals Royal Caribbean was the place to be.

    Reviewed by dobrosky on Aug 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff were very refined, professional & delightful. The room was fantastic. The private island was an oasis. Close to downtown Montego Bay!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6543 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Quaint, quiet, laid back

    Reviewed by Higham1(Northampton) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Visited this hotel in May 2029. The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport, and Sandals provides either a private transfer or a coach (which for us was also private as we were the only guests on it!). We arrived at Mobay at 4pm and was through Customs, baggage control and in the hotel by 5pm. This hotel is very quiet. The beach at the main hotel is really small, but there are plenty of sunbeds. The beach at the private island, is also small but slightly nicer. There is a little boat which runs to the island every few minutes and it only takes a couple of minutes to get there. The Jerk Shack at the island was our 'go to' at lunch times and we thought better than the Jerk Shack at Montego Bay. The Thai Restaurant on the island was probably our favourite, the meal was hot and spicy and service was excellent. The main restaurant is great for a buffet lunch or breakfast. If there was any kind of negative it would be the entertainment which was a bit lacking. Silverbirds were as always excellent, but it would have been better to have them on at 9pm rather than 8pm at most people are eating at 8pm and I felt like they did not play as long as when we saw them at Ochi Beach. All in all very good and we will be back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Paradise

    Reviewed by crafty928(Aston, Pennsylvania) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have been going to Sandals The Royal Caribbean in Montego Bay for many years. The reason we keep coming back is the staff and resort are awesome. Any type of issue if you have one would be addressed right away. The food in all of the restaurants are delicious. The uniqueness of the private island is wonderful with the Jerk Shake and Thai on it running so often back and forth to the main resort. The swim up bar and location is awesome. i have already booked with the Loyalty office for next year. The staff make you feel like family!

    Wedding at SRC 5/3/19

    Reviewed by kalieborynski(Cheektowaga, New York) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The resort is beautiful. We requested the 3 rd floor of the Romeo and Juliette suites and got just that. The room and view was exactly what I wanted and I would stay there again. The construction right in front of our balcony and noise disrupting the main beach was less than ideal. To remedy that we spent a lot of time on the Island. Love the island. There is a perfect spot right between the beach and pool that I claimed daily. I can’t wait to be back! We absolutely love the property, the staff and the food. It never feels crowded and it’s the perfect size. My next sandals trip will be at SRC and some of my wedding guests rebooked at SRC as well. The salon was great. Audrey took wonderful care of me and she was so fun to chat with. Leroy the shuttle driver always went above and beyond for his guests. Give that man a raise! Our favorite bartenders were Shwayne and Kevin/ big bird. They always remembered us and our drinks and were oh so entertaining. Boy Big Bird can sing! My favorite entertainment is by far the piano song along. Our butlers Dwayne and Sherrianne took great care of us. Always had champagne and iced tea everywhere we went. Lots of special treats and bubble baths. Aside from the construction there were only 2 other bumps for us. The island routes desk was very nice but they didn’t have all the correct info on our excursion. They told us the blue hole had no waterfalls which is wrong and didn’t tell us we needed towels or water shoes. Then we dined at Mobay at the Italian place and the server Sheriann was extremely rude to me multiple times. I am a restaurant manager by trade and she had no business working for Sandals. She scolded me multiple times. First for asking if they had a signature cocktail. I still do not know the answer. Then When ordering dinner I began to order she put her hand in my face and said no not you and chose a different member of our group. I did lose my diamond necklace in my room. Hopefully it will turn up but that is my fault as I forgot to put it in the safe. Tannif was our wedding planner and she and her team made sure our day was perfect. She is so caring and helpful. She was there for whatever I needed. They stopped the construction the whole time. All of the details I asked for were taken care of and I didn’t have to worry about a thing. Everything was as I envisioned. Dwayne was amazing taking pictures and Cupid was the best server/host of the reception. Everyone went above and beyond. The food and signature drinks were amazing. We chose the Mai tai the knot and loved it. Best mai tai ever. Thanks Tannif!

    Excellent Property and Vacation

    Reviewed by evem306(New Windsor, New York) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The private island is really a nice feature. If we had to Do over again we would stay at the Sandals Montego Bay resort. The good thing is you can take a shuttle back and forth but we didn’t want to bother. Plus: Service is top notch. Jorvan , Alonzo, and Garfield were our top picks for outstanding service providers. Thank you so much!!! Staff is so friendly! The grounds are amazing. Period! Plenty of free activities! Lots of nooks to hang out. Didn’t have to fight for seats at pool ( we would arrive between 9-10am and still find shade seats). Attended an on-site wedding. Planner was on point. They did a great job on the wedding. Minus: Room we stayed in was sub-par compared to comparable resorts for the same price paid. It had no balcony and no outside light which made me quite unhappy. We were not satisfied with the minister Sandals provided for a wedding we attended. I would insist on interviewing the minister(was told could not do that). Beaches are small but not crowded. I never felt crowded. If you’re a partier you may get bored. We liked it quiet.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Great place

    Reviewed by Companion39324492625(Fort Wayne, Indiana) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Three staff members took this trip from a “nice” experience to an “AMAZING” experience. Garfield, a server from the Regnency breakfast and lunch spot by the beach went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. We never had to wait long for drinks or food. He even remembered our names and came to say goodbye when we left since we asked him to. He was amazing! Our butlers Akine and Andre were equally as great! They knew what we needed before we did! The resort is currently undergoing construction but the workers don’t start until late morning and seemed to be done by 4pm daily and even they were super friendly. We are already planning our next trip back!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX