Crowne Plaza Hotel Times Square Manhattan

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 11979 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Refund

    Reviewed by Vivienne P(Miami, Florida) on Mar 24, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I have been attempting to get a refund from this hotel since May 2020. I had left multiple messages for the billing department and never heard back from anyone. I therefore resolved to writing emails. I did get a reply back and was told they were awaiting funds, due July 10th, 2020, in order to process my refund. After that, the date kept on being pushed back and, to date, have not received a refund. Not to mention, they are not even responding to my emails. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau on March 9th, and just received information that the company (IHG) has not responded as of yet, but they do have until March 31, 2021. The customer service is horrible and I will never stay at this hotel and I urge others to consider another hotel when staying in New York City.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Worst Customer Service

    Reviewed by jennifersC3172JO() on Mar 11, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I will never stay at a Crowne Plaza ever again! I had a reservation to stay at this hotel July 2020. I tried for months to get a refund because of COVID and was told no. I decided to make one last call to see if I could get a refund and was told that the hotel wasn't even open and wouldn't be open when I was planning on staying. I was told that I would get a refund by October. The first problem is that it's ridiculous that no one told me the hotel was closed. What if I didn't call and decided to make the trip? The second problem is that I still haven't received a refund. I was told that they have to wait for funding. They apparently are spending more money than they have. What they are doing can't be legal! I paid for something that Crowne Plaza couldn't provide because they were closed. Don't waste your money because if you have an issue, you will never receive your money!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Cancelled holiday

    Reviewed by Beattie2114() on Feb 11, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Reservation cancelled in April 2020 due to covid. Was told refund with 90 days. 10 months on and still awaiting refund. Shocking customer services. Multiple different excuses. Had other trips cancelled and have had no problems getting refunds. Worst company I have ever dealt with

    GREAT VIEW!

    Reviewed by BDMom(United States) on Feb 07, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My teenage daughter and I stayed here in February 2019 and not March 2020 (TA doesn't allow a poster to choose a month and year that's more than a year ago). I've been to NYC many times, and my daughter had been a couple of times prior to this trip; however, I've never chosen a hotel in Times Square before. Since our trip was focused on seeing a few Broadway shows, I decided to try this Crowne Plaza and used my points to pay for it. I received an email about a week or two before the stay that asked if I'd like to request an upgrade for an additional charge, and I quickly sent that in. I knew it wasn't guaranteed, and I wouldn't be charged if I didn't get the upgrade. We took a taxi from LGA to the hotel and arrived right around the stated check in time, and the line was LONG. It went pretty quickly until the group right in front of my daughter and me got to the desk. It was a group of 5 friends who were very upset that the hotel had lost their reservations. The front desk staff called a manager out to try and sort it, and it was discovered that they were at the wrong IHG property. Honestly, how does someone (let alone a group) take a taxi to the wrong hotel? I was very impressed with the front desk staff as they handled this very difficult group. Not once did they lose their smiles or tempers, and I didn't even see them roll their eyes once (as I was doing behind them). After that group was sent on their way to their correct NYC hotel, my daughter and I were able to check into our room. I was immediately thanked for being a Platinum, being so patient waiting, and told that I did receive my upgrade. The wonderful check in employee (I wish I remembered his name) told me that he was putting me in his favorite room that was eligible for the upgrade. He also gave me vouchers for free breakfasts each day for my daughter and me and A LOT of drink vouchers to make up for the inconvenience of standing behind that group. Our check in was quick, and I was very impressed with the entire staff that I encountered. They were very welcoming and a great asset to the Crowne Plaza. My daughter and I went up to our room, and we couldn't believe the view! We had a corner room with huge windows that overlooked Times Square, and my daughter's reaction was worth every dime I had spent on the upgrade (which was, I think, around $50 per night). She immediately claimed the bed that was closer to the windows and kept talking about how lucky we were to get this room. When we went downstairs to start walking around the city a bit, we stopped by the front desk to thank the gentleman who checked us in. He was thrilled that we loved the room, and I'm sure he'll never know that for my daughter, it made her birthday trip even more magical (she still mentions our room 2 years later). We did have breakfast in the hotel every morning, and the buffet was wonderful. Also (since I had so many drink coupons), my daughter and I visited the bar area a few times (she ordered her Sprite, and I ordered my lager), and all of those employees were great and engaging. The beds were very comfortable, and the room (aside from the fantastic view) was wonderful. If you're in NYC once Broadway opens again and this hotel does, too, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here. I do hope, however, that IHG investigates exactly what has gone wrong with refunding so many guests' deposits. At the end of the day, it impacts how travelers view the IHG brand.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    False advertising - So much deceived

    Reviewed by 855thierryd(Hannut, Belgium) on Feb 06, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    So much deceived by the false advertising around this hotel, and from the IHG group. I booked for a stay in June 2020. I had to cancel in April 20 due to the Covid crisis and I was promised to get a refund, inline with the advertising on the IHG group (mother company of Crowne Plaza). After a lot of reminders I still got no refund as of Feb21.