Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    D

    Outdated resort and would not recommend!

    Reviewed by Dana Thompson on Oct 18, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Our trip was very disappointing on several levels. A group of 4 couples of which 2 were doing their first all inclusive. On our suggestion to go to a Bahia Principe, we decided to go to the one in Dominican Republic. This was based on us having travelled to this chain 4 previous times with WestJet vacations. The very first day our room had no AC. Which took over 2 hours to fix. This continued for the next 3 days. Upon which we were finally moved to another room. This fixed our AC issue however it had major problems with water (hot, cold or none at times). This was never resolved for the remainder of our trip. If this is a resort that WestJet promotes we felt our experience should be made know. Extremely dated and would not recommend!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5498 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Read now

    Reviewed by Sakharova03() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Ok , where to start. We’re still in the hotel for another two days. We checked in on June 16. Family of 5 people. Two kids and tree adults for two room. On the Second day my husband fell down on the chair on the balcony. He hit his back and hit the wall, and when I talk to the front service , they said it’s life, it can happen. Really , no it’s about old furniture. My daughter, she was so excited about it and she love children club. For the first day she was there about 45 minutes, they don’t do anything and when I come to pick her up she was by herself, alone. I picked her up , nobody knows anything and nobody ask after where she is. When I mention this to managers he said : no, it’s not possible. Only after miss Diana became in charge of Kids Club kids club start to be awesome. SHE IS THE BEST!!! This resort open to the public and it’s terrible. You can’t have a lunch or dinner in the buffet , line it’s insane .. for breakfast we come late ( around 9:30) and they don’t have half of the food available at all. You can’t use pool or beach it’s over crowded with locals. You pay money for vacation not to stay in your room. For the weekend it’s overbooked.Like for the bar if you ask mochito afternoon, they don’t have them anymore. I know they will say it’s the standard thing. I am not recommending this resort. People who work here very nice but management not really. They don’t care about clients, so people don’t want to come back....

    Long stay 29 nights may til June 23rd

    Reviewed by MikeyDomrep(Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic) on Jun 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Loving this final week of 29 nights ... probably one of my best vacations in gran bahia san Juan.. I normally go high season.. Christmas. February for carnival or April for semana Santa...Easter.... December can be hit or miss with rain .. early may also... but the last few years we had bad week's weather wise in February... I'm here 25 days out of 29 we didn't have one bad day .. late may 1 or 2 showers and some showers at night but weather has been excellent.. also the first 3 weeks I spent days at quiet pool or outa resort but this last 9 days I have really enjoyed my time at main pool with entertainment team ... take advantage when quiet.. unfortunately Saturdays can be hetic..but we do our own thing then .. I'm now part of my bahia and think we'll have another long stay next June..when I worked here 8 years ago for Thomas Cook.. I would have had 250 to 450 UK guests ... sadly no more UK guests or flights from Thomas cook or TUI.. we are having a fantastic vacation.

    Terrible experience

    Reviewed by Amar N() on Jun 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    In room service was terrible, Fridge was not working, the water pressure during shower was very very low. Too many locals and foreigners are ignored at the bar. My kids had so many mosquito bites. Foods was just ok. Beach was ok. Overall, I would not be returning to this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Grand Bahia Principe - San Juan

    Reviewed by Libre J() on Jun 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Spent a week at the resort- loved it! We ate, drank, swam etc everyday! Bartenders & all staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the use of the Privilege lounge often. We sat poolside & used the beach cabanas often. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

    Ms

    Reviewed by pressh(London, Canada) on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was my first stay at San Juan. We had a great time Food was great, rooms clean and well kept and the service was outstanding. The grounds and beach are beautiful and we couldn’t have asked for nicer weather.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX