Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    E

    Amazing - you must stay here!

    Reviewed by Emmacarla on Mar 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    WOW! This was by far one of our best vacations. We were greeted with champagne. The service from the hotel and restaurant staff was amazing. There are four pools with ample lounging chairs. We found the pool side service was exceptional. The food was really delicious - Oceana, Portofino and El Patio were among our favourite places to eat. The atmosphere was really relaxed. I would consider this resort more adult friendly although there were some children there. I did notice there was a kids club. The resort is quiet after 10pm which we loved - we slept great. Our room was massive and overlooked a tropical field. The shuttle to and from the resort was well organized and included in the vacation package. Internet was also really fast. We will be back!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Not a DREAM, a NIGHTMARE. Worst Vacation.

    Reviewed by Cheryl on Feb 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    GOOD - showers - Caesars with Clam BAAAAD *resort half condos, be prepared for RULES and NO fun (the unwritten rule) *No wrist bands req?d but after having to state my room number 10 times a day to prove I was all inclusive for a drink/towel/restaurant/ general existence I would have preferred one *Absolutely NO drinks in the pool. Maybe 2-3 waiters for the entire 3 pools anyway. If you tried to sip a drink in the pool, you were immediately approached by 1 or 2 security people for reprimand. We ordered drinks from the waiter while we were in the pool, he set them a foot from the edge. Security quickly came up and LITERALLY made us move the drinks 2 more inches away from the edge of the pool. They stood there until we did so. Seriously ridiculous. *Pool chairs the most uncomfortable things I?ve sat in. A hard metal bar that dug into your back *Umbrellas cemented to the ground so no way you are moving them with the sun *Restaurants ?worst food I?ve had except for the Italian. Prepare yourself for a 2.5 hour LUNCH if you want to eat in the service restaurant - do not bother ordering anything other than what is exactly on any menu, it will come as stated anyway. *Do not ask for a straw ? they were very rude to me, said they didn?t have them b/c they are bad for the environment. This happened to me on day 1. Very hard drinking a slushy drink without one. Later, I saw a few people with straws so I caught on it depended who you asked for one. But after that you felt uncomfortable even asking for one. *Wi-Fi is out of range the minute you go by the pools *No ice machines worked from floor 4 to main ? didn?t check any others as on floor 4 *Air conditioning broke halfway through the week. *Room service mediocre will not let you order alcohol. No champagne breakfast for you! *Lobby bar closes at 10:30 and then one choice for all the hotel * WORST VACATION EVER ? we were with a group of 24 and NO ONE had any fun except OFF the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    P

    Awesome holiday destination in Puerto Vallarta

    Reviewed by Prairie Couple on Dec 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We returned to Dreams Villamagna for our second holiday at this resort and truly enjoyed our experience. For us, it was a bit of a splurge but we were rewarded with a no-worries extremely comfortable holiday, great food and drinks, and exceptional hospitality. The staff were great to us, and really went the extra mile especially knowing that we were repeat guests. On our last night, we were treated to an exceptional private meal with the head chef and sommelier - a real touch of class. The free tennis clinics with Miguel were a highlight, as well as the espresso bar and Italian restaurant. There were many families around but there was plenty of space and we never felt bothered by the noise or activity. We would love to return again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Best vacation!

    Reviewed by FM1234 on Oct 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    My family and myself recently returned from Dreams (we stayed from Sept 30 to Oct 7 and have 2 sons ages 5 and 8) and had the BEST time. I would highly, highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting rest and relaxation. I have never been depressed leaving a place, and I can honestly say I was about to cry when we left here. I am looking forward to returning in the future! Overall, we loved this resort. We loved the size and that you aren?t walking 5-10 minutes in the heat from building to building. We loved that we saw familiar faces over the week (everyone seemed happy and loved the resort too). We loved that it?s quiet and great for true rest and relaxation. And we loved the service (truly exceptional). I wouldn?t hesitate to go back, and really miss it! We had the BEST vacation! I know it?s not the perfect fit for everyone, but it was for me and my family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Wont be coming back.

    Reviewed by L Harper on Oct 12, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    I had an awful experience and you couldn't pay me to go back to this resort. To start off, the food was terrible. The Seafood restaurant didn't have seafood. The closest they had was salmon which came with plain tomato sauce on top and instant mashed potatoes. Buffet was buffet, nothing special. The only good restaurant was the Italian one. All the restaurant hours were very limited, and the 'snack bar' wasn't included in the all-inclusive so there were no snacks freely available. Mini-bar was stocked with only juice boxes, beer and soda, and I drink neither beer or soda. It was like pulling teeth to get 2 mini vodka bottles in my mini-fridge. There were no snacks provided inside the room either. Housekeeping would come in frequently even when the Do Not Disturb sign was on my door, and at some point they got annoyed enough they took the sign away completely and I had to get a new one. They would also take towels/face cloths that were hung up for re-use, but would not replace them with fresh ones. So I would have to call down to get new ones. My room was EXTREMELY noisy. All the doors on my floor would have to be slammed closed because the frames/doors were swollen from heat/humidity. At some point maintenance was doing something in the room next to mine and it sounded as though they were hammering on my beside table. The jacuzzi on the balcony was just a glorified bathtub with 2 jets. The cold water would come out rust-brown coloured, so I would fill it up with scalding hot water. But with housekeeping returning to my room constantly, they kept draining it before it would cool down enough for me to use it. Beach service was almost non-existent. I sat in the beach area for over a half hour watching only some people get service before it was finally my turn or something. The only tolerable staff were the check-in people and the actual restaurant servers.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5809 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice place strange room layout

    Reviewed by 738garryk(Saskatoon, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort was very nice. Well maintained. The rooms have a strange configuration with very little privacy for the bathroom. The World cafe people, Yadira, Gabriela and staff Josue, Mararilla, Ernesto were great. The activities lady Anabel is the friendliest person on the resort and of course Adolfo the pool waiter was great. We did have issues with the waiter at the Oceania restaurant. Slow service for the meal and then waited for 3/4 of an hour for coffee and dessert. which never came so we just left.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Great vacation!

    Reviewed by Rachel F(Dallas, Texas) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just got home from Dreams and had the most wonderful vacation!! From check in to checkout everything was great. The bartender at the Marlin bar and lobby bar, Jesus, was awesome!! He remembered us day to day and was always in a great mood. He was personable and we enjoyed talking with him each day! The beach servers, Chuy and Angel were equally as awesome!! They also remembered us by name daily and were always happy to help with whatever we needed. We enjoyed our daily conversations with them all! The restaurants were okay, we never went hungry. The room was nice and comfortable. The hotel is great, but the people are what make you want to come back!

    Average Hotel !!!!

    Reviewed by ChristyXT(Edmonton, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I’m shocked this hotel had as many good reviews as it did because it definitely was a let down ! We went for a family trip with 9 people in our group. We were expecting the quality a Dreams resort is known for and this hotel definitely is not up to Dreams expectations. I will start off by saying some positive things . The rooms are huge and the beds are cozy ! I recommend using the jacuzzi on the deck at night . Very romantic . The cafe makes a deadly latte and the woman behind the barista is so friendly . The service in this resort - at every restaurant is TOP QUALITY ! Never once had we had a bad server or service . The resort itself is very pretty . Now all that being said - here is what we did not like. The food is not the greatest . Very limited and not good quality . We kept trying different restaurants and had the same outcome of opinion about each . The best one of the resort is the Italian. The fact that the resort is half residence and half vacationers, there is next to nothing going on for entertainment . It’s very boring . The nightly entertainment - such a let down . It would be nice to have music and fun things to do for longer then and hour during the day . The resident owners frown upon this so it’s very minimal . You are not allowed drinks in the pool - which I can understand why , but it’s also a let down too . We had a great trip because we made the best of it but all In all it’s a very boring resort with great service but less then the quality of what you would expect for being a Dreams resort . Go on the Pirate ship dinner and show ... off the resort ....absolutely amazing ! Cheers

    Far less than we had hoped for

    Reviewed by pamU6757CQ(Minnesota City, Minnesota) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I am surprised at the number of over-the-top reviews. We did not find our stay exceptional at all, with the one exception being the wait staff. They worked hard and were very polite and did anything they could to enhance our days. Our original room was too moldy smelling for my husband's asthma so we were moved after the first night. We had asked for a dehumidifier, waited all day and then were told they couldn't find it, so we were moved to the other building. This room was much better. However, unlike the Sunscape and Now Amber, both part of the same chain as Dreams, we were unable to get body wash, conditioner for hair, or bars of soap after several requests, so we had to take a trip to WalMart. Shampoo was provided and was plentiful. The food was all the same temperature- lukewarm. The buffet was extremely limited and not as well furnished with options. Nothing was "great". The Mexican restaurant El Patio has the same menu every night and features a small menu, and Oceana for dinner was below average, with a wait sometimes of nearly an hour. One night I killed 4 large, fast, tentacled bugs as we sat waiting to eat.... The Mexican night was an exception, the food that night was pretty good. Also, Oceana's lunch menu was good. The evening show entertainment took place on the main staircase and was short and limited. There was soft music at the first pool during the day but no hint of organized activities, though there was an activities board that listed things gave the impression there were activities somewhere that were happening. Drinks were ok- no top shelf liquor- we went to WalMart for our own. We didn't have to get up early to save chairs until the last few days when the population changed and increased in number. Things were quiet- few people in the pool- bars closed at 11 except one, and that one was real dead. Lots of things needed a good cleaning- windows at 9th floor bar, windows in the elevators, bird poo off chairs, etc. We left the property for good food and a little more life and had a fine time, but the bell staff were not helpful when our taxi drivers tried to charge us far more than the posted fares. We tried room service once- ordered extra Diet Coke and limes. We got the Diet Coke, but are still waiting for the lime. Finally, we were really pressured to go to the presentation for "a new way to vacation". We weren't even in our room before we had to sit down with a concierge and hear about all the great things we can do for a discount if we sign up to hear about their presentation. We were pressured for the first 3 days- to the point where we wanted to shrink and look the other way when the concierge staff was roaming the pool area. Seriously. We had barely started our vacation and we were being pressed to commit to another. It was too much. No means no. We had hoped for a better than average experience. What we got was great weather in Mexico but our best days were off site on our own at Bucerias and in town. Overall we are disappointed at the resort and would recommend Now Amber in this chain over Dreams. We won't return to Dreams. We have been to Puerto Vallarta many times and this trip is still better than being at home in the snow and cold, but it was still pretty disappointing. We're ready to go home.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Customer Friendly

    Reviewed by keescus() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This a great resort where the customers are "King"! No wristbands required and no reservations required at any of their five-star restaurants. The "Portofino" restaurant has the most delicious mussel appetizer and most amazing Salmon dinner. The mexican restaurant had divine "Mahi-Mahi". Every restaurant was superb! Easy check-in and check-out. Staff always available to assist with every need or want. Location is fabulous - can walk the beaches forever and there are well developed walking paths as well - walked 3 to 8 miles a day with lots of time for beers, tequila sunrises, and delicious food morning to night!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX