Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    hidden fees

    Reviewed by Disappointed on Jan 02, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Our experience at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace is similar to many other posted reviews. Despite four attempts, we were unable to get an extra bed cover. We later found three large garbage bags of dirty bed covers in the hallway. On one of the days we had to search for our own bathroom towels and ran into other guests doing the same thing. The icing on the cake was being charged for use of the room safe when we checked out despite not being notified in advance. They told us there was a sign on the safe, and there was no sign. Then they said that we had been told when we checked in. Sure enough, as we were complaining to the person in charge, another couple was making the same complaint. High on promises, low on delivery. This is not an “all inclusive” resort. Will not go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4371 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing!

    Reviewed by Benjieana C() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is my 2nd year and there will definitely be a 3rd time. It was a group of 23 including my son and my husband and we had a blast. There are always different activities throughout the hotel for everyone. The staff are very nice I highly recommend you to visit Raul at the main lobby bar and ask for The Especial. I also recommend Katy for your tour guide. We had her last year and this year and she always takes good care of everyone. We are already planning our 3rd trip. Great place to go with friends and family.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing with a lot of joy.

    Reviewed by mike s(Koningshooikt, Belgium) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My experience in Palace was great, I was able to go to the other hotel, My recommendation for the employees is to tag the map and all the areas to make a difference and indicated in which hotel are you. I have a lot of fun with the Special boy in the Lobby Bar, but the best in all the hotel are Jonathan in Guest Service he has a very good german, and also my friend Fredmark from the reception Palace he makes a great effort to speak german. thank you very much everyone, see you next year. Greetings to all from Switzerland

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Fantastic Resort by read reviews so you arrive aware

    Reviewed by amy M(Saint Paul, Minnesota) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We spent 8 days at the resort with our 3 kids (16, 13 & 12). We had an amazing time! So much to do. The beach and water is amazing! Read reviews before you go. They cater to 5 different languages so not everyone speaks good English. This did not impact our trip at all but knowing this ahead of time makes it understandable when you struggle to communicate some times. Staff was friendly and attentive. We brought our own insulated cups and the bartenders always refilled them. The cups at the bars were typically clean but sometimes they run out of clean glasses and just rinsed the off to use again. We are Wyndham members and got VIP bands and were able to make unlimited reservations at restaurants. We ate at Italian twice but enjoyed all the restaurants. If you want a steak go to the Dominican restaurant. Asian and Mexican were great. My son at almost every meal at the Pizza restaurant, they make pastas there too. The buffets were fine but nothing amazing. We used kayaks, pedal boards, tried to boogie board, and played on the inflate-able slides daily. A lot of the handles were broken off so hopefully they replace them as they were so much fun! We went snorkeling for $15 adults and $10 kids. It was perfect for a taste of snorkeling for a family. We also took the horse ride to the caves. Our families favorite adventure! Bought the pictures too. Finally, the trapeze crew was amazing and 4 out of 5 of us tried it. My daughter got so good she got to get caught! The first day one of the instructors tried to claim he couldn’t speak English which was a little annoying but they all speak enough English to teach you. Try it! We didn’t drink a lot but we never waited very long for drinks and got tons of non-alcoholic strawberry daiquiris. We can’t wait to go back!

    Animation

    Reviewed by janegova(Bratislava, Slovakia) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our stay was very pleasant here, we really enjoyed it. The animation team (Yan Carlos, Chloe, Bayron, Angelo, Jovanny, Vera) was awesome, they were all always positive and they got awesome vibe:) Our favorite was Zumba, Aqua Gym. The animations really made our stay in Bayahibe great

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Spotless but NOT American friendly!

    Reviewed by LisaFa55() on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We just returned from 8 days at the Wyndham Beach Palace. It is a beautiful resort that is spotless. I’ve stayed at many all inclusive resorts and this is the cleanest one I’ve ever been to. That being said, here are the things that you need to consider before choosing this resort: 1.) There is a HUGE language barrier. If you do not know Spanish or Italian you will struggle w this. Hardly any “work staff” can understand you or your requests. 2.) This resort caters to Italians. They do not go out of their way for you in any capacity. You really feel like you are on your own island. 3.) The entertainment shows (other than trapeze performance) are not very good. The USA show depicted Americans as very sexual creatures and it was offensive. 4.) From 4pm-7pm the only food available is the snack bar by the pool. They have hamburgers (awful) and fries everyday. My suggestion is to change it up. Offer chicken fingers, chips/salsa, etc on different days. 5.) Pool entertainment is excercise...everyday! Play some interactive games like musical floats, farthest basketball shot w floating basket, etc. there is no poolside entertainment. We were thankful for Felix and Julio at the main hotel bar for interacting w us and Chloë from entertainment for reaching out to us. They are the only 3 staff members that interacted and made us feel welcome. Otherwise, we were ignored. The Dominican is beautiful. The ocean is amazing. The pools were nice (no swim up bars). We will return to The DR but not to this particular resort.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX