Iberostar Selection Bávaro

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    This hotel was not worth the 5 star designation, but had nice beach (fine sand, no rocks, but lots of seaweed) and great weather.

    Reviewed by Sandra on Mar 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    First room upon arrival there was water pouring out of ceiling from air conditioning vent. Second room had overwhelming moldy/mildewy stench, no other rooms stated to be available, offered dehumidifier or deodorizer. Opted for dehumidifier which lessened stench. Waited for third room next day which had strong deodorizer smell but was otherwise same layout. Both 2nd and 3rd rooms had brown stained bathtubs and 3rd room fridge did not work so kept room #2. Ants were crawling around bathroom sink. Only bottled water available to drink was that in bar fridge so had to wait a full day for room service to get bottles. Cleaning was minimal, wet towels were taken but not replaced and no clean ones were ever given. Cleaning lady helped herself to Sprite from bar fridge and left half empty bottle on counter. Westjet representative was contacted about state of room #2, said apology gift would be given, still waiting for it. This was not the renovated suite I was expecting as stated on website. Staff at buffet were unfriendly and would yell at you if you sat at wrong table or helped yourself to cutlery and napkins while waiting with full plate to start eating. Most staff were generally unfriendly. Watch out for your teenage girls - my daughter was very uncomfortable with male staff leering at her.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Always love my stay!

    Reviewed by Shirley on Oct 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have travelled the world, but always enjoy a stay at the Iberostar Bavaro. I am returning for my 5th time on Dec.01, 2018. I have learned through the years how to enjoy a vacation. Remember, you are a guest in the country you visit. If their native language is Spanish, you cannot expect them to speak or be fluent in English. Just as you would be if Dominicans visited Canada. They are hard working people, and how you treat them you will be treated in return. I smile, they smile, I remember their names, they remember my name. I'm happy to recognize workers, and they me. I am thankful for the service they give me and I show it. If you have the attitude that they are there to serve you, and you don't give friendliness back, how can that result in a good vacation for all. We are so lucky to have these wonderful experiences, and should be thankful. The Dominicans do not enjoy the lifestyle we have, and they do not respond well to pompous and demanding attittudes from some travellers. Be happy, relax, have fun, and it will come back to you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    The customer service left a lot to be desired

    Reviewed by Aruna on Apr 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We family of 3 had booked this resort through westjet vacations last week 3-7 April . Whilst the location of the resort and the structure is very appealing, the customer service leaves a lot to be desired. These r some of my observations: - most staff cannot converse in English - 3 of the staff members including a guard could not give us the name of their inhouse Japanese restaurant and gave wrong directions - when I requested additional coffee creamers at 8 am, they hung up twice. Finally after getting the reception, I was told that room service staff only arrived by 9 am so I could not expect it earlier. I was flabbergasted at this as even inns have better service. - the live cooking staff handlers seemed to be totally impersonal and disinterested in their jobs. - while making dinner reservation for the Italian restaurant, i was told that as the computers were not working ,I could walk in at 8.00 pm. Despite that, I went over at 5 to book but was told that there is no problem. When I finally went at 8, they wanted reservation even though the restaurant was only 30% occupied. It was only when I really got upset that they relented. But by then, I was already put off. - at the restaurants, they take order for entree and desert at the same time, can u believe that they brought the desert even though we had not completed our main course. It was as though they were in a rush to finish. The time was only 9.45 pm. The bright side was the pristine beach and wonderful co travelers. All were mindful of each other's personal space during breakfast and courteous during our stay. The housekeeping staff was wonderful. However, I will not recommend this to anybody especially considering better options.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    We loved everything about this vacation and will be returning!!!!

    Reviewed by Family Vacation on Oct 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    The best vacation our family has ever gone on. The staff were so much fun, remembered us where ever we were in the resort from buffet to pool to the evening show. We will be back for sure. Our west jet rep Tanya went above and beyond for us. Everyone from the flights, to the excursions, the hotel staff, were fantastic. Thank you for making this the best 10 day vacation wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11332 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Always a pleasure!

    Reviewed by Sandra L() on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back on Friday, June 7th and we wish we were still there! We have been traveling to the DR since 2001 and Iberostar Bavarro was our first experience in a paradise that we love to call our second home. We have experienced other hotels in the area, but our heart is with Iberostar. We have stayed at the Suites and the Grand a few times and it is a pleasure to say that the Iberostar Team has not missed a beat. We traveled with family, a total of 7 of us and they were able to accommodate all of our requests and needs to make our Anniversary celebration a success. The bartenders and waiters at the Beach Bar were outstanding as well as all the Iberostar Entertainment Team even the Star people from the other sister hotels that we met at the Disco and from checking out other activities on the Iberostar grounds. We look forward to seeing you soon! We can not wait to see the TLC that it will be receiving this year with renovations. Love, LaGioia Family

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Sunny Traveler

    Reviewed by Jan16545() on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I travel alot and this was my first time in Punta Cana. I stayed at the Iberostar Bavaro in a Superior Jr Suite #2462. The room layout was nice but the room had ants, roaches,and water bugs. The property was large and didn't have visible directional signs. Everyone was having a hard time finding their villa. I got in late the first night and ordered room service. The food was cold and not eatable. I tried room service one other time and a rep called to confirm my order but it never came even after several calls to them, front desk and guess services. The hotel staff need to be retrained on being welcoming to guest. Kiko Wow,Jhoeny,Henry,Carlos, and Giermo were all very accommodating and made the hotel experience worthwhile. Anne and Angel de Jesus (in guess services) definitely need more training on property restaurants and being curtious to guess. The airport transfer company was Amstar who were very good. I met them in the theater the second day and Franklin did an excellent job recommending excursions. I took his advise and the 3 excursions were great.

    Amazing and relax

    Reviewed by Ivan_Nik76() on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is 4th travel to DR, 1st stay at iberostar. Superior hotel. Ultimate beach with coral sand. Good food and drink's. Sunny and clear sea. Now living in room 3877 and 3874. No hot water in evening. No minibar refill last 2 days. Nihgt's whiskey party with louder music from room 3875. Enjoy.

    Fantastic Punta Cana Vacation Resort

    Reviewed by Sightseer65957021654(Orlando, Florida) on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Was a little hesitant at first when I was booking by a couple of the recent reviews, but this resort is fantastic. From the grounds to the beach, Beautiful!! All-inclusive!! Yes! Loved it! The options of different restaurants were plentiful, the main buffet was great!! They restaurants other than the main buffet had some issues with flavers, a couple of them the food was bland. However the Japanese restaurant was awesome! Get the shrimp!! The Mediterranean was amazing! The Salmon was on point, melts in your mouth. The French restaurant, was not a hit, along with the steakhouse for me-had the medium rare ribeye and couldnt eat it-different kind of beef, just not what I'm used to, get it well done and you will be ok. The cajon restaurant was also not very good on flavor, again just my opinion-but that restaurant had the most amazing server! Bravo! All in all wasn't pestered with time share issue only the very first moment we stepped on property, maybe the first 10 mins-gave the man $10 and he left us alone the rest of the trip and he set us up for our dinner reservations at 6:30 every night! Prime reservations, my take is if you don't tip, you will love getting 9 or 9:30 reservations. Word of advice! Hook that initial guy/girl up so they take care of you for dinner, and worst case if you don't want to eat that late-go to the main buffet! Which has probably the best food anyways. Great resort!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing

    Reviewed by DF0922(Clovis, California) on Jun 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hi stay was wonderful and I would give it 5 stars OK. The food is exceptional and there is a huge variety and the staff is awesome. My Room was great. I had ocean view., food was very good I will comeback next year God willing

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX