Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Everything I could ask for !

    Reviewed by Jamie on Mar 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Friends

    Generations is an out standing resort, I would go back in a heart beat. The rooms are gorgeous and very clean I was on the third floor and it was always nice going for a morning dip in the pool. The food was great have no complaints about that everythjng is updated and nice. The people working there and amazing ! Always putting smile and their faces and mine making your vacation wonderful. The location was breath taking, the views are also breath taking. The only complaint I have about generations is the cost... But you got to pay to get what you want, but it was so worth it. Thank you generations for making my vacation a lasting memory.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2888 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Best ballon animals ever and service

    Reviewed by Justin L() on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Thanks Nick, Majo and Israel for the great balloons you guys made for our kids. Thanks the nannies ceisy, nowmi fabiola and Mar at the kids club. Imelda, Victor and Beto do a great job as well and Vladimir at the pool bar was great as well!

    Vacation Getaway

    Reviewed by Robert S(Woodinville, Washington) on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall very happy with the experience. People were very attentive to our needs, friendly & fun. Food portions at dinners were small but mostly very good. Drinks were plentiful however it is hard to justify the expense of all inclusive. Beaches were not swim friendly but the "Bali' beds were great!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Mixed feelings

    Reviewed by emmabob86(ontario) on Dec 09, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I really have mixed feelings about this resort, and will strive to include the positives along with the not-so-positive experiences of our week. We had pre arranged transfers to and from the airport with Lomas Travel, part of the Karisma organization. Arranging this was easy and done on the phone when we paid our all-inclusive fee. Our driver was very friendly, a good start! Upon arrival, our bags were taken and we were shuttled by golf cart to the VIP check in office at Generations. Jesus offered us some info and a glass of bubbly while we waited for Senora Claudia to arrive to check us in. They had our arrival time confused and were expecting us later. This was the first disconnect...and a bit of an omen as it turns out. Our room was very nice, huge bed, lovely bathroom with a massive tub and rain shower. At our check in, a note was made for a bottle of wine to be in our room as one of us is celiac and can’t drink the beer in the mini bar. Oddly, the minibar only has beer and soft drinks, not gin or rum, and wine would usually have to be ordered by the glass from room service. We asked for some tonic and ice to be delivered each afternoon, and we'd get some gin from the pool bar, no problem. This was Saturday evening. A nice young guy, Javier, came and offered to unpack our bags but we declined. Later, we realised there was no remote for the TV. We finally got one delivered 24 hrs and three calls later. On Monday afternoon we had a poolside visit from Claudia, who seemed surprised that we hadn’t seen a butler again and none of the things we had arranged at check in had been delivered. Second disconnect... In fairness, some tonic was delivered shortly after talking with her and later the following day we were happily surprised to find a bottle of gin had also appeared! Back to the disconnects, no bottle opener for the tonic until Wednesday and still no wine. This pattern continued throughout the week. Items had to be requested again and again. We sort of gave up on the whole 'personal butler' thing as it just wasn’t working for us. I’d have preferred to get my own ice as and when we needed it than have the daily disappointment of a service promised and not delivered. One evening, we took advantage of room service but were very disappointed. Nachos for two consisted of a small plate of soggy corn chips, with some sort of nasty cheese liquid and a smattering of topping. It took over an hour and they were cold. So many little things just took the edge off what could have been a stellar experience, and it certainly is not what I expected from a 5 star resort. No TV remote, broken hairdryer, broken iron... these are all items where attention to detail make a huge difference to guests and it wasn’t a great first impression. Housekeeping was spotty for the first couple of days, and I never really saw the point of the turn down service as that was literally all that was done. In other resorts, turn down service has included towel refreshment, mini bar replenishment and usually some sort of little treat. We did receive three strawberries one evening, though. One thing that really surprised us as we'd never seen it before ( and we've stayed in all-inclusives all over the world) were the extra costs for certain menu and drink items. You want steak when you dine at the Wine Kitchen? That’s an extra $50, minimum. When is all-inclusive NOT all-inclusive? When it’s at a Karisma resort, apparently. We were also disheartened at the general lack of knowledge or care when it came to the gluten allergy. Kitchen and serving staff could and should be better trained. At every meal we were asked if either of us had a food allergy and there are some marked items on each menu but never did a member of staff at Chef Kitchen buffet make any effort to point out which foods contained gluten and which did not, even when we asked. There is gf bread and some plastic wrapped pastries but those seem to be the only consideration for persons with a gluten free/celiac diet. There’s nothing like a gamble on your health at each meal to help you relax on vacation! We enjoyed the beach beds very much and beachside drinks service was great. We didn’t swim in the ocean at all due to the ongoing problems with seaweed, and the huge concrete blocks were an eyesore. Yes, we understand why they’re there, but you’ll notice they are not in any Karisma photos of the beach! We also didn’t swim in the pool, which is unheated and consequently very chilly in December. Maybe I didn’t look hard enough, but access to the pool seems more a case of style over practicality. We took part in a Membership presentation. Basically a quick look in some nicer facilities in the neighbouring resorts, some financial whizbang-ery and a slick patter, and we came away with that 'too good to be true' feeling and said no thanks. As an incentive, we had been offered a resort credit of $100 and the Couples Massage which is advertised by the roaming spa staff as a 1-hr experience in the main spa with access to the hydro tubs etc. Be aware, this is not what you will receive. Our massage was nice, but in the tiny indoor spa at Generations, and was a 25 minute back and neck massage. Not what I had been looking forward to. If you’ve ever had a treatment in a spa in someone's home, that’s what it was like. Nice, but not 5 star. We used the $100 for the wine pairing at Fuentes and that was very enjoyable. There is so much potential for this resort but it missed the mark as far as we were concerned. Were the staff friendly? Mostly yes. Was the food gourmet? Mostly no. Was it 5 star? Definitely not. Did the staff try to remedy any problems? Kind of. But it could be outstanding if the staff training and systems were in place to deliver what they advertise. Don’t sell me the Garden of Eden and then give me an allotment and a shovel. Truthfully, we have had better overall experiences at other resorts at a much lower cost. Room tip. Don’t upgrade to a swim up in December-water is cold! Also, say no thank you to rooms in building 18 that end in numbers 71 or higher. These face the side of the main building and the outdoor walkways. Building 19 seems the ideal location based on talking with other guests.

    Great Resort, Awesome service.

    Reviewed by mystay1234() on Dec 09, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is a great resort with an awesome staff & service. We enjoyed our stay immensely and want to thank Baldomero Arellano for his outstanding service we received during several meals at the Chef Market restaurant.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Ingrid and Erika rock

    Reviewed by TStevenson88() on Dec 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I had a fabulous stay at Generations. Our Personal Butlers/ concierge senoritas were personable, friendly, helpful and kind. They greeted us every morning with beautiful smiles. Muchas gracias! Theresa and Roberto

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX