Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    R

    Beautiful location, poor management from Sandos.

    Reviewed by RSG on Apr 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Pros: - beautiful location. - Great kids facilities - General staff very nice. Cons: - Poor Management - Buffets and bars are not well kept, temperature checked, or cleaned on a regular basis. - Lack of staff means long lines. - Resort runs out of basics regularly. Overall, I experienced enough, and heard enough negative comments from Sandos staff, timeshare staff about Sandos, Travel representatives from all the Canadian companies (Westjet, Sunwing, Transat) about Sandos in general. Not to return to a Sandos resort. There are simply too many other choices out there. One supervisor said ?I wish the entire management team would go back to Spain?. That said a lot for me.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay! We will definitely be back!

    Reviewed by Shauna Cutcliffe on Jan 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We just got home from our first experience at the Sandos Caracoal Eco Resort. It was AMAZING!! We did not book an excursions as there is so much to do for FREE on the resort! Monica took us on an Eco Tour which was so informative. The Entertainment team was hilarious and so interactive with our kids (ages 7 & 9). The only negative things I would say is: 1) we did not get to go to the Tepinyaki restaurant as there were no reservations available when we arrived, 2) the Brazillian BBQ was only available to families after 8pm; 3) the Laguna buffet food was lukewarm 99% of the time. We upgraded to the Eco Signature room and it was well worth the money! We loved it so much. We will definitely be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Go for the nature not the accomodations

    Reviewed by M on Aug 07, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We (family of 4, two adults two children) spent 1 week at the resort. Positives: beautiful wildlife, jungle, lots of chairs on beach and overall the food was great (lots of options at buffet). The Japanese and Mediterranean restaurants were amazing and highly recommended. Negatives: Massive amount of seaweed on the beach (other resorts we've been to clean it with a tractor), room service was unreliable/very limited menu and took far too long to arrive (90 minutes for a fruit plate and sandwich). Very rude/unhelpful concierge manager, although all other staff were fantastic. Parents traveling with children should note that life jackets are not provided to use at the beach or pools (you'll need to contact the Sub Director for assistance). Rooms aren't anything special and wifi is spotty at best. Overall, its an okay resort for a family with children but we likely would not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    c

    Eco Family Suite; separate kid room with a bunk bed/trundle was most attractive to us

    Reviewed by cold in calgary on Jul 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed for 6 nights in the eco family suite (newly renovated) with 2 kids (5 and 3). We were on the 3rd floor and overlooked the waterslides from our balcony with a plunge pool (never used it, but sat in it without water). We had two shower stalls and 1 water closet (toilet), not as the described on the webpage. The shower stall(s) had water flow issues, with just one in use the water would stay cold the entire time or ?run out? and then come back on randomly. We called for service and they did come the next day and seemed to get it running again for another day. The in-room water dispenser (room temperature) was handy to encourage the kids to drink more water. The separate kid room with a bunk bed/trundle was most attractive to us and ultimately why we selected this resort for our vacation; for that reason it was a success.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Great time, loved the eco theme of the resort.

    Reviewed by Rob A on Mar 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were great. Had trouble with logging into the wifi and went to check with staff. A manager Patrick was very helpful and found out our middle name was needed to sign on. The staff were all very helpful and took time to change our minibar with just the things we liked. We really enjoyed the canoe ride which included champagne and chochlate covered strawberries (all free). The evening shows were great especially the Mayan ones. We loved that the resort had so many animals. Several monkeys showed up on our deck to monkey around. This was a definite advantage and source of interest. The beach was a bit rocky but I was prepared for this from the start. The food was good but the Brazilian food was excellent. Was in the select adult section so there was always lots of lots of chairs and service. The eco tours were nice which gave a good understanding of the Mex ecosystem. Very pleased with the whole experience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Mediocre for the dollar value.

    Reviewed by RLS on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    This resort had lots of nice plant life and animals. The waitresses/bartenders and staff in the restaurants were all very attentive and friendly. The layout is quite large so be prepared to do a lot of walking if you haven?t upgraded your room. Our room was in the 44?s and it took us 10 to 15 minutes to walk to the beach. Our room itself was a disappointment. It was dirty and smelled very mouldy. The balcony was overgrown with trees so we were unable to even sit outside. The housekeeping consisted of making the bed if they even showed up that day. The booklet in the room mentions 24hr room service but when we called for lunch they told us our room did not include room service. If you choose this resort I recommend upgrading your room and wristband to gold or black as the green band doesn?t allow you to eat or go in the ?select club? areas. If you have kids they aren?t allowed in some restaurants on certain days at certain times. Overall a disappointment for the amount of money we spent.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Excellent family vacation

    Reviewed by JWhite on Jan 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Amazing staff and resort! I gave it a 4 out of 5 only for 2 reasons: The rooms are more 2.5-3 star but the resort, staff and restraunts make up for that. Tip: Bring swim shoes for swimming in the ocean as it is very rocky and don't expect luxaury for the rooms. They are super basic.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Water slides are over rated not worth the Extra Money

    Reviewed by Brian on Jan 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Beautiful Jungle Resort..with the monkeys and racoons and wild life! My beef is with the slides, we spent alot more here than previous resorts to try the slides. My wife and I have a son of age 3...The Todler water park had a little Mexican blowing a wistle stead yelling something then saying ..Just for kids...Just for kids. Aparently adults are not allowed to use them and hold your child! The next size slide my son was to small...oh I was to Tall...lol I,m 5'7" The next size up well of course my son was to short never came for the hike up. When i got up there I wasn't allowed ...I had a watch on.....so I had to hike down. Slides were a waste of money for us! Food was ok ..Steak was all grissel. The Staff Were The BEST!! The room was on the second floor, stroller no elevator....we survived it. Any Vacation in Mexico is better than 8 days in the Alberta winter!!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    People are friendly and helpful

    Reviewed by Anton on Dec 31, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We would definitely go back. This was an excellent WestJet recommendation. Not the best resort but well maintained with friendly people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    c

    We are planning on going back!

    Reviewed by chantel on Dec 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Family of 4 two boys 8 and 5. We loved this vacation. Spent alot of times at the water slides water was a bit cold but didn't seem to bug the kids to much. The activities for the kids was amazing from face painting, feeding the animals, swimming in the cenota, playing ping pong and Foosball. They had two night that we were there with amazing children shows what i rember most is iron man shooting firworks from his arms and spiderman coming down from the ceiling, Disney themed show as well with frozen and toy story. lot of options for food for my picky eaters. really the only negative i have for this resort is the beach is nice and sandy but to swim in the ocean at the resort the bottom is super rocky so really hard to swim there. We plan on going back this winter the kids loved it and i felt super comfortable and safe.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 17935 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great family resort

    Reviewed by Liza M(Maryland) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is a very nice resort for families. There are plenty of activities for younger children. The animals at the resort are this location really fun and unique. The dining options are plentiful and all have something to offer for everyone. We did have an issue while visiting. The manager, Miguel, went above and beyond to rectify our issue. I would definitely say that they value there visitors and that customer service is a high priority for them. I've traveling extensively and would definitely recommend this resort for other families. We celebrated two teenager birthdays while there and both will have memories to cherish forever.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Family Vacation

    Reviewed by Jenny C() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Nice Hotel Good service and food. Animals are all over and live in the habitat. The restaurants have bast food. Mariana, Karina, Ursula,Adrian, Mauricio all were very nice and helping with all our doughts.

    Great stay

    Reviewed by thatguylol() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The resort is a eco friendly resort first things first. It's beautiful. The resort is literally like it's in a jungle. Plenty of onsite excursions, like cenotes and snorkel lessons. The staff is amazing! As soon as your glass is empty, it's full again! Front desk, and Karina from concierge was first class! Any time of day, they got your back with any answers. If you've done Sandos before..the perks are also there for you, for a exclusive sites like Adults Only and their Elite club with HIGH end bar and private Infiniti pool-ish design. All in all, your vacation will be A1 here. Do it. Just go.

    Best Destination Wedding! It was close to a five for us!

    Reviewed by nicoletbay() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    After spending months carefully comparing pricing and amenities, we decided on Sandos Caracol as our dream destination wedding location. As a couple, we've travelled off the beaten path in Costa Rica and Nicaragua and we feel in love with the jungle, so Sandos Caracol was the perfect choice -- an all-inclusive that had all of the amenities and creature comforts for our guests, but felt like some of our past jungle escapes. Additionally, it was more affordable than a lot of the other destination wedding resorts in the area. Sandos Caracol is unlike any other place on the Yucatan because of it's eco-resort values. Rather than clearcut and manicure the natural beauty of the area, they have built the resort to coexist with it. The result is endless breathtaking natural beauty throughout the resort. Everywhere you looked was another scenic view. This made our wedding photos incredible. We were a group of 45 travelling from Canada. Anyone traveling without kids in our group was upgraded to the Adults Only part of the resort which was an amazing treat. Our wedding coordinator Lulu was fantastic, and although there was one hiccup regarding the scheduling of our menu tasting, she more than made up for it as our big day approached. It was so easy once we sorted everything out. We got married in the Gazebo on the beach, and had our reception on the rooftop terrace, and it was so beautiful. I brought some extra decor and they set it up perfectly. The food was great, the DJ was awesome, and their officiant onsite, Christian was the ultimate pro. I have never seen some deliver a more moving ceremony. The florist on site was phenomenal and made the most exquisite bouquets. I also have to give a shout out to Julisa for making my hair and make up look phenomenal. I have never felt more beautiful. Besides the wedding day, Lulu helped us make a group dinner reservation for our rehearsal dinner at Los Lirios. We ordered the lamb and it was fantastic. We also had the opportunity to go on the romantic boat ride, and our guide Nester was so informative and enthusiastic. We also went as a group to the cenote swim, which was memorable. Included in our wedding package was a couple's swedish massage, and it was phenomenal. We enjoyed all of the restaurants we ate at. The Adults Only was great because it meant that we could avoid the large buffet at breakfast and lunch. We still went to the buffet, but we loved the quaint, relaxed feel of the Adults Only a la carte restaurant. Now for the items that should be considered, if you are looking for a more 'upscale' experience: - After it rained hard, we went to the Mediterranean restaurant and the washroom had water all over the floor because it is an open-air restaurant. It made me wonder why it wasn't mopped up, and also made me concerned for my mother's safety with a bad back. It resulted in me escorting her to make sure she was safe. - There are no elevators, so if you have mobility issues, ensure you've notified the resort staff in advance to be place in a ground level room. -The beach really isn't that bad at Sandos Caracol, but it's not perfect either because it's a little rocky. Bring water shoes to get in. However, with the seaweed problem elsewhere, at least we could get in the water at Sandos. We honeymooned in Puerto Morales and we never got in the ocean because the seaweed was so bad there. Overall, I would recommend this resort to anyone. It was unique and provided our guests with an unforgettable experience. Thank you to all of the resort staff who made us feel so welcome and taken care of. We will definitely be returning in the future!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by gracegason(Canmore, Canada) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is my second time in Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. Me and my husband brought my family from Toronto and New York. We are truly amazed with the resort. Friendly staff, good food, amazing restaurants, safe and friendly environment, entertainment, leisure, what else you can ask for. Staying in a penthouse suite with a swimming pool and beach front view is the most amazing experience. My whole family was so happy and loves the resort. We will comeback again for sure and bring more family members to experience our true haven!!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX