Fairmont Grand Del Mar

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Amazing girls weekend!

    Reviewed by JR on Jul 25, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel is a little out of the way but it's so worth the drive! I felt like a princess the entire weekend. Everything is so fancy! The attention to detail is superb. From the scented candle in the lobby to the chocolate covered oreo at bed time, all of your senses will be delighted. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, even anticipating our needs. They noticed that we had purchased two bottles of wine and brought an extra ice bucket to our room! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, luxurious getaway.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2046 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful Resort with mediocre service

    Reviewed by jenilynp08(Irvine, California) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My husband, son, and I decided to spend Easter weekend at this resort chosen for its amenities as well as the seemingly amazing Easter festivities for our son. I’ll start with the good: I have to say that the grounds of the resort are impeccable. The grand driveway, beautiful and inviting lobby, perfectly placed fountains and gardens made such a strong impression us and made us feel as if we were in another country. Upon check-in we were asked if we would like to upgrade the next day to a Suite for a reasonable fee and we happily accepted. Our deluxe veranda king room (room 346) was still quite nice: on the third floor with a Juliet balcony overlooking a small courtyard with a firepit. It was also a very nice size, perfect for two people. The Toscano suite on the other hand was just ok. Although its size was impressive, the rest left much to desire due to the lack of oversight on details (hair in the tub from previous guest, lack of hooks to hang towels, dead bugs on the terrace furniture, plates but no utensils, very old and outdated TV, crown moulding in the bathroom with what looks like blood splatters, stains on sofa pillows and dining chairs). We were on the first floor and had a view of a walkway. I think this location would have been great for someone with a dog since both terraces openes up to a lawn (take note dog owners: suite 169). We could hear everything loud and clear from the adjoining rooms and also footsteps from the room above us. We had a rude awakening one very early morning by the kids next door screaming at the top of their lungs and to add even more insult to injury it sounded like they were jumping on the bed from the constant pounding on the walls which went on for about 15 mins or so. Amaya restaurant: We decided to have dinner both nights at Amaya and we felt very welcomed there even with our young son in tow. They even offer a kids menu with crayons. Ignacio was our waiter both visits and he was definitely top-notch. Outsourced nanny service: they use a third-party vendor for their nanny service called Sitterwise which we used one night. Our sitter was awesome! She came prepared with all kinds of activities which my son enjoyed. I knew he had a such great time with her when he was sad to see her go. Room service: the service itself was excellent but the food was definitely mediocre. The bad: Concierge was definitely hit or miss. I was in contact with them prior to our arrival to set up a train pickup and nanny service. Although the first person I spoke with was professional, she was unhelpful and also extremely unfriendly. She did the bare minimum and definitely did not take pride in her position. Also, when we decided to take an earlier train home and my husband called concierge to see if we the towncar could take us to the station they said they would call back to check on the car seat for our son. Long story short, we didn’t hear back from them and would have missed our train if we didn’t take the initiative to call an Uber. On the way to the train station we receive a call and a text from them informing us that the town car had been waiting for us. We texted them back to let them know we called an Uber and they surprisingly sent a somewhat defensive text back saying they called us a couple of times. They certainly did not call us in the room or on our cell phones which definitely do not have any missed calls prior to us having to call an Uber. I’ve experienced concierges in various five-star establishments around the world which all went above and beyond . The lack of discernment and even professionalism with the Fairmont concierge is certainly the first time I’ve ever experienced this. Pool service was a disgrace. In fact, it was so bad that it was comical. It was apparent that there was no one there to manage these barely 21 year-old pool attendants. It literally took 20 sometimes 30 minutes to receive our drink orders since this crew thought it was more important to congregate at the bar than to actually do their jobs. There was no rhyme or reason to their service (or lack thereof) and at one point one of these kids ended up playing bartender. The bloody Mary’s were also terrible and I’m certain it’s made from a bottled mix so don’t bother ordering it. Easter Day activities: dreadful at best. Let me start by saying that even as paying guest staying at the hotel, we were denied brunch reservations since they were “fully committed.” Where is the sense in this? In my experience, guests staying at the hotel take precedence and are always welcomed to hotel events and restaurants. We opted to just order room service for breakfast and just join in on the Easter activities which were also atrocious due to its lack of organization and also the fact that it was geared more towards girls with Disney princesses and fairies leading the show which we walked away from since my son has no interest in any of those things. We were waiting in line for the egg hunt and pushy parents were vying for the front of the line which is where we were. I reminded my son of his manners and told him we would wait at the gate for him once he was done. When the gates opened it became a free-for-all with these pushy parents following their kids into the egg hunt and picking up eggs for their children. Last I checked egg hunts were for kids but I guess not true with this lot. I decided to go in to protect my son from these savages and we ended up walking out since it started to feel unsafe. I felt really horrible for all the disappointed young kids on the ground with no eggs to grab. My son was also disappointed but quickly got over it. Not to sound ungrateful but there was only a tootsie in each of the half dozen eggs he managed to collect. We decided to escape from this horrific crowd and spend the day at the pool with terrible service. We at least knew what to expect. Tip: if you’re looking for a great Easter egg brunch with an organized, safe, and generous egg hunt, Pelican Hill in Newport Coast does it so well! With all that said, it is such a disappointment to lose such a beautiful resort to mediocre service due to a lack of proper upper management. I really hope this property will somehow get it together so we will feel confident in having it be a place where we can come back to time and time again.

    Great Service, Awesome Rooms and a Perfect Getaway!

    Reviewed by Pallavi G(Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    If you are looking for something secluded, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, then this resort is perfect to go for. Although not much traveling required, and you just looking for a romantic, slow and peaceful stay, go with your beloved as you will be mesmerized by the beauty of this resort. The Resort is amazingly built and lobby inside is so magnificent, as you feel transferred to another world. The moment you enter the room, you are just bowled over with the decor and elegant furniture in the room, which is so silent to give you a feeling of eternal bliss. The room was super spacious and the beds super comfortable. The hotel staff was very pleasing and attentive, made all efforts to make our stay comfortable. Went to lobby bar, and it was fabulous as you see singers performing and playing piano making it a spectacular moment. Overall, this resort is a dreamy experience. Will plan for a longer stay next time.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Elite Resort

    Reviewed by David G() on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is my second visit to this property and it is quite impressive. It stands out amongst California's numerous premier resort properties. My colleagues raved about the golf course and next time I plan leaving the meetings early to go for a horse ride. Dining choices are numerous and high quality. I found the rooms extremely comfortable and clean, while the staff is top notch and unobtrusive. You couldn't possibly go wrong staying here.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Afternoon tea shouldn't be missed!

    Reviewed by 690CT(McLean, Virginia) on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had an elegant afternoon in the charming Library! We've been to nearly 80 locations world-wide for afternoon tea service and this is in the top 5. Our hostess Gillian was extremely knowledgeable about the teas and cuisine and attentive to every detail of the time-honored tradition. She definitely is a valuable asset to the Fairmont.The finger sandwiches, scones and petite pastries were over the top! We have told others they need to go to afternoon tea at the Fairmont!

    Beautiful Property

    Reviewed by Venture62667999896(Carlsbad, California) on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything about this hotel stay was wonderful. Great attention to detail by staff, they made our anniversary celebration special. From the front desk to the bartenders at the pool to the waiters, everything was outstanding. Thanks, Grand Del Mar. Our stay was outstanding. We'll be back.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX