Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino and Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 4595 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Yes to Sonesta!

    Reviewed by 813guadac(Guttenberg, New Jersey) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We are on our way back from Sonesta. For the last two months I have checked and read new reviews for Sonesta. I was prepared for all the messes people wrote about. I even brought my refillable drinks bottles so I could order two drinks at a time. And I brought my own towels. I also told my husband to be patient with the elevators. I was SO ready. But everything was proven wrong as soon as we stepped in. I will be honest and make the disclaimer that we spend most of the time around the island (you should too, no point on staying on ONE resort in this beautiful place). We also don’t do pools. If we go to an island, we’ll be at the beach. So yes, the pool was filled with people who looked like they were having fun and all that, but all the things people complain about didn’t affect us. Check-in took maybe 10 minutes tops. Jessenia was super sweet and she went out of the way to find us around the lobby to give us two champagne glasses to welcome us. Our room was ready. I went straight to making reservations and there were none. So that’s right. We ate at the resort two nights out of the three we were there. Beach bbq was soooooo good!!!! Next night I happened to walk by the Palms and ask if they had a table before we went out. We were seated right away. I guess people don’t show up? So go and check at the restaurant, you never know. Was the food amazing? It wasn’t bad. Want top-notch? Drive to Grand Case. Wonderful! The rooms are awesome, we had a view to the roof, which we’ve had before at other places, so we got to see the mountains and airplanes taking off. We had pleeeenty of towels and it was always clean. Breakfast was totally fine. None of the other issues people presented. Drinks? It was a problem because we had a drink in our hands at all times and never had an issue with that. Yes. Hello daily hangover. I could have those rum punches every day. Elevators? Either we were lucky or people are getting impatient nowadays. Never waited for more than maybe 3-4 minutes? The best thing out of all I will say was the people working there. Everyone was sweet, friendly and ready to help. ALWAYS. We didn’t encounter ONE single person who was inattentive or looked miserable. They seemed proud. Shout out to Jessenia, Kenisha at the beach bbq, and Rafael at hertz. Bottom line? Go, be kind to people, clean up after yourselves (the problem with a dirty resort is dirty guests who leave their cups and plates around). Would definitely be back!

    The bad reviews are real!

    Reviewed by Lisalisa22267(Kennesaw, Georgia) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Unfortunately I had so many issues with my visit but I will just name a few. 1. We waited about a hour at the front desk to check in, the line was almost out the door and this was on a Monday. 2. There is a real lack of hospitality from the staff you can tell by their faces and body language that they don’t want to be there, they are understaffed and over worked. 3.The first day we arrived we went to their kiosk to to make reservations to the restaurants and was only able to get one reservation which was at The Point the day before we were leaving. We primarily had to eat at the buffet and the food is subpar and they were slow to restock some of the food items. 4. During the visit the hotel had low water pressure and my sisters toilet wouldn’t flush and she had to call maintenance and when he arrived he handed her the plunger to take care of it. The owners need to hire more staff and have classes on hospitality!

    TRAVEL AGENT REVIEW!

    Reviewed by Jenn2017(Ontario, Canada) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I stayed at this resort for 7 nights with my family. I am a Travel agent by profession and i have have TRAVELLED! Now, after reading ALL the negative reviews on TripAdvisor i decided to still go with an open mind and give this property the benefit of a doubt because i needed to experience this for myself. During my week stay, i observed the front desk everyday and spoke to as many guests about their stay..the problems at this resort boils down to one thing..POOR MANAGEMENT! This resort desperately needs new management! I watched day after day, the frustration from guests, yelling at the front desk staff. Unfortunately all of the negative reviews are true. This resort has the potential for better but unfortunately its not there yet.They have to work on the issues and this has absolutely nothing to do with hurricane recovery. The staff needs serious training in customer service. If you are a frequent travelers to all inclusive resorts chain like Iberostar, Riu's, Bahia's & Royalton..please know that this will disappoint! Food is subpar in the buffet. The staff is not friendly or helpful. Many days i had to get up and get my utensils for the table and my own drinks..couldn't get any reservations in the specialty restaurants because they are all booked up so ended up eating out for couple of nights..no running water etc. I could go on and on..All of these things i personally experienced and its quite disappointing because St. Maarten is a beautiful island with gorgeous beaches! MANAGEMENT needs to wake up!

    I CAN'T BELIEVE THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS I READ ARE ACTUALLY TRUE!!!

    Reviewed by TNB7717(Brooklyn) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I got engaged at Sonesta Ocean Point in September 2015 and based on the exceptional customer service, delicious food, cleanliness of a well kept resort we decided to return with family and friends to have our gorgeous wedding October 2016. Now 2 1/2 years later we return with our 2 year old son to have yet another great time and to support rebuilding since hurricane Irma to my surprise WE ARE HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED!!!! Customer service and food needs MAJOR improvement!!!!! (This has nothing to do with the effects of the hurricane) None of the amazing manager's are no longer associated with the resort anymore such as Akilah, Kaitlyn, and the wonderful chef Phillip just to name a few!!!! Upon arrival there are only two front desk personale trying to check in large groups of families for a resort of about 400 people! Check in for us went smooth as our room was ready when we arrived. Elevator takes a looong time because there are only three!!! Room was modern but still a few things that needed attention; toilet seat did not cover entire bowl, everytime you take a shower the water will flood the bathroom floor due to design of the shower, No room service (which online claimed there is room service; my family at Ocean Point would order room service for my kids and bring it over to Maho to eat at night otherwise nothing) or microwave in rooms. Reviews about the restaurants having great food is a complete lie!!! Only burgers, pizza (only thing that taste good), American breakfast and pasta!!! Fruits were kept out in the heat. We could not get reservations at the Point because it was booked out for our entire stay! When my sister who is at Ocean Point complained they gave us a reservation only to be served food that looked just the way it tasted, disgusting! We ate off the resort... Chesterfield and Bistrot Caraibes really GOOD food. Pool area was filthy, not cleaned, Dirty diapers in kids pool... We stayed at the beach but make sure you are there at 6:30am to get a umbrella and chairs you need or you will have NOTHING!!! No water the day we were leaving had to wait 2 hours for water to come back which caused a late check out which front desk took care of. Employee's did the best they possibly could to make stay comfortable however they are heavily understaffed and in need to training. Overall Sint Maarten is absolutely gorgeous, just beautiful!!!! I will return to the island but not to Sonesta. Your best bet is to stay at another resort or rent a private villa with a chef. This is more of a three star resort with potential IF CORPORATE TAKE THESE REVIEWS INTO THEIR BOARD MEETINGS!!!

    Beautiful family resort

    Reviewed by EvaP5(Montreal, Canada) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just came back after a 2 week stay at the renovated Sonesta Maho resort in St- Maarten. The resort is absolutely stunning/ the beach is gorgeous. The service is overall good . Some individuals go out of their way special thanks to Diana at the Palms Grill. The only complaint I would have is that the buffet did not have much food variety and would have loved to have more fruits. Overall a beautiful resort. We would definitely return back!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX