Iberostar Bella Costa

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    W

    I would never go back to this resort. It needs serious upgrades.

    Reviewed by WEN68 on Mar 26, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Upon arrival we were given no information or map. I would have expected more from a Westjet destination. The rooms were a disgrace, from mold, broken furniture and toilet, pelling paint on the tub. The beach was very nice, but not even close to enough chairs for patrons, activities were a night show only, internet connection took 4 days to get an access card. Food was average. Most complained and had their rooms changed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Garbage

    Reviewed by Mister Tobin on Jan 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    What a huge piece of junk. Absolutely garbage, A Home Depot Nightmare. Broken elevator, broken full pool liner, broken door slammers- all night people mistakenly slamming doors and waking the guests due to broken door pressure closers. Broken kitchen exhaust, the entire buffet was always smoggy and smelly due to the hanging fog. Broken toaster. Broken patio door locks, broken tiles, all broken exit doors. On the last day our bathroom flooded from the ceiling. The gym had three leaks and both treadmills, the rowing machine were broken. The universal weight machine had the main bar 'tied' not fastened to the machine. Broken walls everywhere. All balcony planters were broken and really just ash trays. Not three square feet in the building that was not damaged in someway. The entire property should be leveled. The food was terrible almost always. ** People were great!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    C

    GO ELSEWHERE!!!

    Reviewed by Cher on May 23, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    My sister & I were very much looking forward to our 4 day vacation in Veradero. The 'transfer' situation from the airport to the hotel was deplorable, & we didn't arrive at the resort 'til 4pm, but should have arrived at 2PM. When we got to our room, I was sadly disappointed. The curtains were missing a few hooks, resulting in the curtains not hanging properly. The refrigerator was dirty on the inside, but we only kept our bottled water in there. Over the beds there was some sort of orange coloured thing, & at the left end of it, threads were broken, therefor this 'thing' was hanging by a thread. We found the bathroom not to be as clean as we'd liked. In the shower stall, the towel rack was so loose, that if you touched it, even accidentally, it came crashing down & landed in the shower, or hit the edge of the tub, & bounced out onto the floor. On the bathroom floor was some door stopper that was not movable, & we found this a rather dangerous item. A door stopper was not at all necessary, as the bathroom floor scraped along the floor when opening or closing. There was a very frequent noise..slamming of doors. Food in "Jimmy's" buffet was mediocre to ok.Remember, this is Cuba, but I always managed to find something. Beware though, the food is lukewarm. The Italian restaurant served excellent food,but reservations are required. Bar staff are a little standoffish. Nightly entertainment in the Lobbybar was quite good. Staff on the front desk were cold. If they were talking to each other, you were kept waiting 'til they finished their conversation, AND they were a little rude. Don't bother paying for wi-fi. It's awful & you likely won't get connection even if you're told to go into the Lobby where they "say' the connection is ok. It is NOT! There's a computer room with 2 computers...don't bother. Connection is terrible, & the computers are slowwwwww. I would NOT return to this resort, & I'm very surprised that WestJet is at all associated with it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    k

    Will not be going back to Hotel Bella Costa

    Reviewed by kelman on Apr 17, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel is dated and needs updating. The beds are uncomfortable, curtains and furniture are old.We had problems with the electronic cards for the room locks and spent two hours having technicians reset our electronic lock as the front desk people did not believe us each time we had an incident. The following day water was dripping from the bathroom ceiling near the toilet, presumably from the toilet above us. We were moved to another room only after we insisted and spent one of our mornings packing, moving and unpacking. The new room was an upgrade but only modestly so. Half of the cardio equipment in the fitness room does not work. The nightly entertainment was often short 40 to 60 minutes , some of it was good, some of it not so much. Generally most of the front desk staff were not friendly and would make you wait until they finished the conversations they had with each other. The bar staff were not much friendlier. The restaurant staff were the friendliest and offered the best service, the cleaning staff were okay but gotten significantly better after being tipped. Tipping the bar staff does not result in better service. There was one employee at the Delicatessen store shop in the hotel who continuously provided the incorrect change on four occasions , we found out on the last night there she was also overcharging on some items as there was another employee who provided the correct prices on some of the items we purchased.The weather was fantastic and the beach was great, food at the open grill was good. The al carte restaurants are good. Hotel would not provide one peso denominations so you could tip, so you had to buy items to get change or tip at a higher rate than required. The hotel displays the exchange rate for foreign currency that the bank will pay but not what they will exchange it for, which was a 7 dollar extra charge for each hundred dollars charged for their tourist currency. Do not bother with purchasing time on a computer it is painfully slow.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    W

    Already planning a return trip!

    Reviewed by Well travelled Calgarians on Feb 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Traveled with my family husband and 9 and 7 year old boys for one week in January. Absolutely loved our stay. The room on initial entrance was a little disappointing, as it was a little tired and could use a few touch ups, but most importantly it was clean. After the first 20 minutes the thoughts on the room vanished and we immediately fell in love with everything else. The service and the hotel staff were above any thing we expected. So friendly and always smiling and willing to help. We enjoyed the buffet restaurant over the a la cartes, and there was always plenty of variety. Food was much better than we expected as we had heard numerous stories about food in Cuba. My boys couldn't stay away from the pasta station, the chef was so entertaining! Great location to head into town, always felt extremely safe. Overall this was Cuba, we weren't looking for a 5* and were more than happy with this property!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3884 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    It’s definitely a 3 star

    Reviewed by Missy937(Bracebridge) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The best part of this vacation was the beach, food and the amazing people! This is a three star just to remind everyone, it is three for a reason, we got it at a great rate! Just one thing though every night we had ppl slamming their hotel room doors, which the hotel definitely need to fix, or hotel guests needs to learn how to be more curiosity of other guests! That was the only real issue I had.

    Beautiful location! Great potential, but room for improvements

    Reviewed by KateSly1() on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I just recently came back from a girl’s trip with my mom at the newly owned Bella Costa Resort by Iberostar. The location of the resort is absolutely beautiful! The beach is gorgeous, and if your beach walkers like I am – the sand isn’t hot which is a bonus; however, you can only walk to the left of the hotel as there is a golf course to the right and no beach to walk. The lobby and bathrooms (in the lobby area) have all been renovated; as well as, the 5th floor (and I’m sure the villas/ bungalows that are in a separate area from the main lobby). These rooms are significantly more expensive than the rest of the resort and I have previously been to several Iberostar hotels in Cuba and Mexico – I could not believe it took 3 moves until my mom and I had a satisfactory room. I wish it would have been a little more specified that there were quite a big difference between room types. I will say that I was impressed that when we went to the lobby to express our concerns with the rooms, the staff had the things that were broken fixed relatively quickly (for Cuba time!) But when the first two rooms had several broken lamps, garbage in the drawers, TV/ refrigerators not working, and then the second room leaked in the bathroom when the person above us was taking a shower – those are issues that I have NEVER experienced in a hotel. I realize that this is an old hotel and it has been recently bought by Iberostar – but to advertise a hotel as an Iberostar and then to see a lot of things that needed to be fixed in the rooms was disappointing. The lobby staff did work hard to give us a nice room (I am sure the fact that the hotel was at capacity our entire stay had something to do with it) by the third day we got a semi-renovated room overlooking the pool/ ocean view and were pleased the rest of the week. A few other notes: as I’ve read a lot of other people say, there needs to be MORE BEACH CHAIRS by the pool area. We got up by 6/ 6:30 am everyday just to get a chair. There certainly could be a lot more chairs and umbrellas added to the resort. I also noticed during meals at the buffet line ups to get in, and one day at lunch, they ran out of plates, bowls and cups. I think this resort isn’t used to such a high volume of people at a time – so this could be easily fixed. I was impressed with the buffet at the resort – there were 4 “ready to make” stations – in the morning: pancakes/ French toast, omelets/ eggs, and bacon stations. In the lunch/ evening: pasta, meat, pizza, and fish stations – It was great to see so many options of hot food being made! Overall, we enjoyed a nice, relaxing vacation – like I said, I think there is just some things that could be improved upon – this hotel has great potential.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Great Vacation

    Reviewed by wayne n(Georgina, Canada) on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were at Bella Costa from March 19th to 29th and had a very relaxing vacation. We have been at this hotel before and it was nice to see all the improvements made by Iberostar. The hotel was very clean and the public areas were always spotless. The beach is amazing and very nice to walk. The food was a great improvement and lots of variety to choose from. We like to eat at Jimmy's as it is indoors and you don't have to put up with the cats that is the only complaint we have is the wild cats roaming around. The staff is wonderful very friendly and helpful there are a few that need to be recognized Haydelis in public relations makes your stay wonderful and problem free if we had any concerns it was taken care of immediately. Yerania in guest service was the same always smiling and helpful. Yadira our maid room 511 was fantastic always had towels and water in the room at all times and it was kept extremely clean. Sandro kept the line entertained with his never ending pasta show he is wonderful it makes no difference if he is serving adults or children he kept them happy. The lady that makes the omelets in the morning was as so very friendly and happy. She makes excellent omelets. The food selection was very good lots of salads, fresh bread, cheese and meats pork chicken turkey beef fish and the best pizza's. Desserts and ice cream were plentiful you never came away from the buffet hungry. They have wifi that is excellent and it is very cheap 1 peso = 1 dollar for 1 hour I never had a problem connecting to it. Would love to go back again.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great vacation at Bella Costa

    Reviewed by Parrothead1964(Thunder Bay, Canada) on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Travelled to Varadero from Thunder Bay and once again we were all greatly appreciative of the excellent Bella Costa staff. Everything went well, service was excellent and one of the main reason why we continue to recommend this resort to other people interested in taking advantage of the direct flights. The resort is a bit older than some but that does not take away from your vacation, as they can you’ll see and read in other reviews they have completed many updates on the property. One couple in our party had room issues (sliding door and safe-box issues) they were provided with another room the following day. Weather was great, a tad windy for a couple days that caused the red flag to fly on the beach. Sunwing service was greatly improved over last time we flew with them, thank you Sunwing staff. Food on the resort was well beyond expectations; having travelled to Cuba a number of times we found the Bella Costa food to be one of the best! Drinks were refreshing, front counter staff always had smiles and were very helpful, the service was excellent!! I can’t thank the resort staff enough, you all do a great job and for that we’ll be back. Remember when travelling to Varadero take some time off resort and walk through the friendly town, it’s awesome! Few points, arrange the price before you ride, take the double decker, try a horse carriage ride and take that yellow train what a blast! Something new, ATM’s at the bank that was easy to use (English options) and offered a lower rate of exchange. Excursions I’d recommend if you only have a week is the Catamaran snorkeling day trip, loads of fun great food and all inclusive. If you are staying longer make sure you go take in the sights in Havana, it’s a must. The Varadero golf course is great way to spend a morning playing 18, with the Bella Costa booking you receive free green fees, 30 CUC for the cart rental and 22 CUC for the rentals you can’t go wrong. Beautiful well-kept grounds, great location, excellent staff and good food…who could ask for more. Gracias y bien hecho, volveremos pronto a la Bella Costa!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Awesome mother daughter vacation!

    Reviewed by shannonk1979() on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My mom and I (39 and 55) arrived March 13 around 8pm. We got to our room 134 and no ac, the tub was gross. And it over looked the front road. The room was yucky. We asked to be switch and were switched the next day to room 280, which overlooked the pool and had a bit of ocean view! Fabulous room! I chose this resort cause it was small and everything was close together for my mom. Pool was great and the beach was fabulous. The food at the buffets were good, always found something to eat! The pizza at the snack bar was very good. This was my 6th visit to cuba and my second this winter. The staff are amazing and if you’re nice then they remember you. Close enough to town for a cheap cab or helmet cab ride to markets or night life. I really have no complaints except for the first room we were given but they made up for it by covering us a fabulous second room! If you want a chair by the pool, you will need to get up early and reserve or you won’t get one. Also a nice touch is the cabana beds. This is not a party resort! It’s 30+ for age range which was really nice. Met a lot of fabulous people! Till next time cuba ????

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX