Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection
    6. Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Great for families

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a great resort for families. The pool and waterpark are great for kids. The pool is also divided and has an adult section. So you can put the kids in camp and have some quiet time with adults. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The restaurants are great. So many that we couldn't even try them all. The room service was a bit lacking. Food was bland. Overall, a great stay for all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Not a 5 * any more! 4 hours for food! Musty stinky rooms!

    Reviewed by The Family Trip Planner on Apr 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is going to be a bittersweet review. I love Mexico and it's people. That still applies! But this was supposed to be a week at a 5 star, expensive property that came highly recommended. We have been terribly disappointed by Finest. We booked it August 2016 for a mini family reunion in April 2017. We had 3 swim-up suites booked with a request that they be as close together as possible. I realize there are no guarantees. The request was on file and I emailed the property who did email me back about a month before our arrival, as a reminder. The front desk clerk must've been new and did not know the property layout. He had us in the same building and assured us "07" and "08" are next door to each other and "04" is just three doors down, same side. Well, not so much! 04 and 07 were on same hallway, 3 doors apart but 08 was on a different corridor altogether. So, quite spread out and two of the rooms 07 and 08 are at intersections of pathways so quite busy areas -- not the best locations, for sure. Anyway, moving past that first let down! The rooms - all 3 - smelled severely musty/mouldy. To the point that allergies were triggered and headaches. Most noticeable when you left for a meal and returned. Housekeeping staff did their best with a lightly scented cleaner and I would think it was gone, 30 min later it was back. Horribly unpleasant. Way beyond that tropical scent that comes home on your clothes. This was nasty! The staff generally were great, just couldn't do enough for you, honestly! The problem is there's not enough staff! Where it's noticeable is in every single restaurant and bar. These men and women are run off their feet! The same person is hosting, clearing, taking orders, serving...maybe cooking, lol? I started to wonder when one night our meal took 4 hours! Not by choice!! Property is only 3 years old maybe. Corona contract ended 6 months ago so no Corona on site! New management perhaps??? Somethings wrong and it's not the staff's fault!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Amazing family resort!

    Reviewed by Ang on May 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was the first time we took our children 7 and 8 years old on an all-inclusive vacation and it couldn't have been a better time. The resort was amazing and we loved that we didn't have to make a reservation for dinner. The staff treated us very well throughout the resort. Our room was spotless. We loved the free wifi throughout the resort and we didn't find it slow at all anywhere on the resort. The food was excellent...but just be aware that you you cannot dine with shorts, t-shirt and flip flops except at the buffet. The drinks were free poured and it was the first time we actually had waiters serve us pool side consistently! The beach had ample loungers and we didn't find it crowded at all. We will be back again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort. Great water park for kids.

    Reviewed by CBFreeb on Jul 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is located in beautiful Playa Mujures which was approx 30 mins from the Cancun airport. There are two water park for the kids. One was for ages 3-6 and the other was for ages 7-12. The older kids' park was fantastic! There is also a playroom with pool, air hockey tables, etc. The resort had lots of live music which was fantastic. The night of the 'beach party' they had an amazing band and a colourful dance floor. The whole family had a blast. There were 8 restaurants and a few bars. The buffet was really good as they have chefs that will prepare your eggs, or grill meat for you right on the spot. Overall the food at the restaurants were really tasty. However, be sure to read the dress code prior to leaving. Men were required to wear long pants and closed toe shoes for the majority of the restaurants so be sure to pack those in your suitcase. They will request that you go back to the room to change. Also, plan to go to the restaurants when they open, otherwise the wait could be fairly long. The service at the restaurants were fairly slow potentially due to being under staffed. It was probably the biggest complaint of our trip. The rooms were really spacious - our room had 2 double beds and there is a pull out sofa. The fridge was well stocked with beer, pop and water. They also stocked the room with chocolate bars, cookies and chips. In addition, the hotel supplied bottles of vodka, rum, wine and tequila in the room...all included! The showers are really big but there are no drapes or curtains which would require coordination if you have older kids sharing the room with you. We will probably go back to this resort but may want to see if the service time improves over time. I hope it does because it was a beautiful resort, with friendly staff and great amenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    WOW!!!!!!

    Reviewed by EK on Jun 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beyond amazing! The rooms are beautiful and a great size, the staff are so wonderful and made sure everything was satisfactory when ever we came accross them. The Japanese restaurant was incredible and the Market Place Buffet was the best I have had in Mexico. I can not say enough about our wonderful experience at The Finest Playa Mujeres and will be back ASAP!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6430 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fabulous holiday down to the staff

    Reviewed by Bill C(Warrington, United Kingdom) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have just come to the end of our 2 week holiday staying in the club - we had both a roof top and swim up room - Both were lovely,contemporary and spacious. The hotel itself is lovely with many restaurants,bars and loads of entertainment to choose from.Food and drink has been great especially for an all inclusive resort and we are incredibly hard to please ! Where this place stands out from many other higher spec hotels we have stayed at is the service and the staff in general - everybody is so eager and happy to make your holiday special and every member of staff from the gardeners to the porters had a smile and a hello. We were blown away with the level of service we received at the beach - Emilio everyday could not do enough for us -Damian who went out of his way to talk to us and our son and make us incredible works of art -Francisco and Sean the kindest and hardest working waiters I have ever met as well as the fabulous Diego and Angel all deserve a medal for the attention to detail and hard work they put in to making our beach days so special - ThankYou x Upgrading to the club in our opinion was totally worth it (thank you Marcus and Issac) and we enjoyed many fabulous breakfasts in the Seaside restaurant - once again first class service from the incredible Felipe who everywhere we went on resort he found us to make sure everything was perfect (it was) the lovely Isabel and every waiter in that place went above and beyond. Another great place for traditional Mexican breakfast and lunch was Duke’s. We couldn’t believe that one hotel had such a plethora of 5 star staff - food and service exceptional special thanks to the beautiful Carmen for always making us feel special. Rocky who we will never forget, Eduardo, Gilberto and the lovely Luigi who all could not do enough for us. Lunches at the beach bar were always of excellent quality and the bands and entertainment were of a high standard. Fredy - huge thanks for taking such good care of us x Cannot complain about any of the other restaurants they were all really high quality and once again had exceptional staff David in the Japanese is one of the sweetest people we have ever met ! We also used the spa and had a hydrotherapy experience- the spa was beautiful and the treatment first class ThankYou Octavio and Ivan for the fabulous circuit and massage . All in all a holiday to remember but down to the staff entirely - a couple of things need sorting such as more beds and cabanas needed in the club beach area and some of the toilets especially around the pool and beach in desperate need of an upgrade - We had a few minor issues but nothing that weren’t swiftly and easily sorted. The roof top room was our favourite, because it offered a little privacy and a space to have a morning or evening drink when our son was asleep. The Club is definitely worth paying the extra for..... in our opinion. For an adults only holiday, I would have preferred there being a completely separate pool, instead of just a designated area on one side of the pool.

    Everything is good

    Reviewed by angelochen829() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hospitable staff providing excellent service made us comfortable during the whole vacation. The swim-up suite is awesome and perfect for selfi. Restaurants and bars never failed us. Our little girl enjoyed herself in the show every night.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Finest club is a waste of money

    Reviewed by Lovetoexplore2468() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The resort over all was wonderful, service was great, but we paid extra for a finest club room thinking it would be worth the extra money. Their concierge service is actually completely useless. They offer you extra pillow options and you really get nothing else... maybe some extra soap if you want. You do get the separate lounge to check in but you have to go back to the main lobby anyway to leave the resort so it’s quite a useless extra step. there’s nothing special about finest club. Don’t waste your money. The process for booking the teppenyaki restaurant is completely ridiculous. We had to line up for over an hour to book, not knowing you can only book one day at a time. My kids were up since 2:30am since we had a super early flight so we asked if we can join the next day since we’d been in line with cranky kids for over an hour already. Answer was no. We initially expected the concierge would be able to take care of booking the restaurant for us but apparently guests have to go and line up to book. No one tells you (not even this magical concierge) that you can only join for the same day. Had we known, we would’nt have lined up for that particular day when everyone was insanely exhausted. We spoke to guest services and Diego claimed to take care of it and discuss the issue with Havier (the food and beverage manager) but he didn’t even have the decency to let us know whether or not he was able to even have a conversation with Havier. Aside from this issue, the rest of the restaurants were great and food was wonderful. My husband had to wear the same shirt and pants for non buffet restaurants since it’s all collared shirt and pants for guys and we didn’t know this packing. Not a big deal, just FYI for those preparing to go...pack a few of those items. Generally speaking, staff were warm and fun aside from the couple we had to deal with regarding the restaurant issue. Overall: food, amenities, grounds, most of the service, beach and pool - all great. I would recommend it with some warnings so people are prepared for some things that may not make much sense. I would go back but would never pay extra for finest club. It’s just not worth it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-1

    FANTASTIC..........ONCE AGAIN!!!!!!

    Reviewed by Frank S(Melissa, Texas) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Having had a perfect experience last year at Finest Playa Mujeres, my wife and I decided to take a little vacation there again this year, and it didn't disappoint! Every detail for our trip and stay was seamless! First off, Florencia (Guest Relations Manager) met us when we first arrived and made sure all of our interests, meal plans, and entertainment were exactly as we wanted! She checked on my wife and me so much during our week stay we thought Florencia was our own personal assistant! Other people who made sure our stay was perfect.........Getsy in the Day Spa couldn’t have been better! Out on the beach, Carlos, Aljundro, and Roger made sure we always had drinks and food! A special shout out to Pamela and Charly at the Seaside Restaurant, and Cristina and Juana at the Sweet Corner! Fact is, everyone we met was unbelievably professional and took care of us flawlessly. If you are truly looking for a place to get away from the regular "getaway", Finest Playa Mujeres is the only place to vacation! The rooms are very comfortable, the food is fantastic, the beach and pools are nothing short of refreshing, and the staff was terrific! WE will be back…..again!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    3rd time and Loved it!

    Reviewed by Alex L() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our third time visiting Finest, and our 4th time visiting an Excellence Resort. Finest did not disappoint one bit, with the exception of a few minor glitches, but it's peanuts compared to the excellent service we received on our stay here. We stayed at Finest for 7 days, 6 nights, and it was too short. Arriving at the gates, you see the word "Love", and you automatically feel like you've stepped into heaven. My daughter asked me, "Daddy, are we in heaven?". From the moment you step into Finest, you are greeted by someone with a drink and wet towels for you and your family. We were so excited, that we almost forgot one of our bags that had 2 Ipads in our transportation car that we took! Once I got to check-in, my room was ready almost immediately, and it wasn't long before we were shown to our room. Since we had visited before, we skipped the staff verbiage of the resort and went straight to the beach. They do a good job of cleaning up the seaweed, and although it wasn't perfect, I enjoyed going to the beach every day. The restaurants here are top notch, even for foodies like us who are critical of every single detail. If you don't mind wearing long pants and collar shirt, then I suggest you step away from "The Market", and visit Tinto y Tapas, Berto was our waiter and he provided excellent service. Tinto y Tapas was our favorite restaurant, and the food was delicious. Brass is also a good choice, as they have an extraordinary menu selection of beef. We also tried Lizo, and although the food was good, it was our least favorite restaurant there as far as cuisine goes. We also were able to go to Le Petit, but my wife wasn't too fond of it. Our waiter Roger there was also top notch, and we appreciated all the suggestions he gave us during our meal. Unfortunately, I didn't inform my wife about eating snails, until after she ate it, and later that night she got a bit sick. I regret telling her after the fact, and should have just told her what it was. I think it was mostly her getting grossed out at the fact that she ate a snail, and not because of the food, as I had it as well and I was fine. In summary, as far as dinner is concerned, the service and staff are great, it just depends what type of food you want to eat and enjoy the most. Every day we ate breakfast at the Market, and enjoyed being served by Fredy and Jorge. They were very good hosts, and Jorge gave my daughter a going away present our last day there. The variety at the Market was good for breakfast and lunch, but we knew for dinner we had to try something new, which is why we tried different restaurants, and I took one for the team by wearing long pants. I don't mind wearing long pants, and support this policy. If I invite someone to my house for dinner, and I am cooking a meal a la carte, I wouldn't want them to come in shorts or a t-shirt. During Lunch we mostly ate at the beach restaurant, and had a good experience with Inocencio, who was always pleasant to deal with. The kids club always exceeds my expectations, and the girls recognized my daughter the moment she arrived. Special mention of Ms. Kimberly and Monse who are great there, and we did do one afternoon of 1-1 hired babysitter, Manuela. She did a great job and played with my daughter, and kept her entertained. I was saddened to know that Ms. Kim and Monse didn't continue with their certifications to continue being 1-1 babysitters, but Manuela didn't disappoint. My daughter took part in almost all of the activities there, and she specifically enjoyed the chocolate party. When you go to the Kids Club, you can stay with them there or drop them off, but we chose to stay with my daughter there. Here are some of the glitches we had which I mentioned above: 1. The second day we were there, the service staff didn't clean our room when we were back in the afternoon. My wife called up the concierge and they were able to fix this issue immediately. This was never an issue afterward. 2. We spoke to Marseille, and I had asked her if it was possible to put chocolate covered strawberries for at least one night in our room so that we can enjoy them when we got back. Unfortunately there was an issue with that, and we never got them. Although, my daughter did enjoy chocolate covered strawberries at the Kids club Chocolate party. 3. The wifi was a bit weak, but I didn't mind much because I didn't come on vacation to be on my phone. They should actually confiscate all phones as soon as you arrive here, because it will just become a distraction from you enjoying you vacation. Just my 2 cents. This was our 3rd time here and there will be a 4th. You won't regret staying here, especially if you have children. Like most things in life, this experience is what you want to make of it. You have control of what you want to do and how you want to react to things that happen. In our case, it was pretty close to perfect, but that's just our personal perspective. We will see you next year!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX