Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa
    6. Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    Will never go back

    Reviewed by Jules on Dec 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I will not recommend this place, red flag the whole time on the beach. Even the Mexican restaurant didn't make Mexican food. The only good meal we had was when we walked down the block 10 minutes to a restaurant.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    Amazing staff would go back for sure

    Reviewed by Kenny on Aug 15, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our first time in Mexico and We were pleasantly surprised with the service at this hotel. The staff was Amazing , so friendly ,always happy, humble, hard working and would always accommodate your requests. They would always go above and beyond their duties to fulfill your desires. We even received a free upgrade to an ocean view room upon arrival after my husband requested for one. The food was awesome . The best food was at the Pier Restaurant. The Shangri-La restaurant has formal-casual dress code in effect ,but I personally didn't like the taste of food at this restaurant. Oscar who works at the Paradise restaurant was the best. Others were great too. The bartenders were amazing. The resort had entertainment programs throughout the day. The Group who performed at the karaoke night was amazing. Although I wish they had similar programs each night .We always felt safe, secure and pampered to the extremes at the Golden Parnassus despite of all the horrible stories we here about Mexico in the news . I would say the beach was a little rough at this area. The tide was always high and the waves would really kick you out always. The guys who picked up at the airport (Best Day Travels)were really nice and helpful too. All in all since the moment we stepped in Cancun till we departed we had an Amazing dream like experience. The only thing the resort lacks is free wifi, You have to pay $21 CAN for a day for the internet which is only available in your room..If you want to connect to the internet though the La isla mall is just 3 km away from the resort and has MacDonald's and Starbucks that has free internet. And the Bus that goes in the hotel zone only take 12 pesos to get there. But all in all I would give it five stars .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8055 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Staff, Awesome Beach, Wonderful Adults ONLY Hotel!

    Reviewed by Go53346818499(Green Bay, Wisconsin) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great stay for the second time in a row! Being a teacher, we were looking for an adults only vacay that has activities to join on days that you want! We were welcomed at check in with a cool beverage and about 15 minutes later checked into our room and ready to hit the pool. Everyone is friendly and goes out of their way to help! Our room was lovely on the second floor, would have preferred a bit higher to see over the palm trees but a large group wasn't checking out until the next day. They would have changed our accommodations but after a night were remembered we are barely in the room :) Pool time and beach time were equally exceptional, clean and warm. Pool bar was our favorite as Carlos remembered us and our drinks everyday! The staff truly makes your stay fun and silly, warm and welcoming! The "beach swing" bar also provides shade for that afternoon cocktail, relaxing and meeting the beach crowd. Our favorite activity was pool volleyball daily ! Actually tequila volleyball with funny antics, joking around that seemed like a show in itself! Thank you Martin, Rosie & Patty and Itzy!!! Best time laughing! Chairs around the pool, in the pool and beach were easy to get, no overcrowding. Another great perk, no reservations needed at the restaurants! only if you want to do hibachi, and we got in whenever we wanted !!! Crepe station after dinner is a must! as well as a night cap outside...or at the nightclub, just great people and guests to visit with everywhere! All the food was A+ in our book...even the night we ordered room service, awesome and fast! WE will be returning! Love the Golden Parnassus...we make new friends every time we visit you! XO until next time!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Fantastic adults only location

    Reviewed by 2001joanneh(Cambridge, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    As many reviews I have read indicate, the service is indeed fantastic. The place is older, smaller and very well kept. The food was beautifully presented and was delicious with many choices (especially Sumo). It is nice to not have to make reservations or to have to wait for a table. There are plenty of activities going on during the day but I was there for a quiet relaxing vacation and did not partake. In the evening there are dance and competition shows which are ok but not too exciting. The lounge and bar could be more lively. I paid $50 for wifi for the week which didn’t bother me and I was able to get a signal from any location, even the beach. A fridge in the room would have been great but not missed. There was plenty of water provided in the rooms but I would recommend bringing a water bottle to fill up with cold water at the bars/buffet. The gym has pretty good equipment but the AC needs to be pumped! AC worked well in my room though. Lack of AC in the buffet but I didn’t mind as there was a nice breeze. There seems to be lots of regulars at this location. This was my first time there. I tend to not visit the same place twice since the world is too large!! I highly recommend if you are looking for a great value vacation!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Very small but lovely resort.

    Reviewed by jeanlrn4kids(Saint Louis, Missouri) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I was surprised by how small the resort was. In many ways, it was very nice, as we got to know some of the other guests and staff, and we never had to walk far to get to anything. It is an older resort, but has been updated and is very clean. Close to the airport, surrounded by lots of other hotels. Very loud at night; we were glad we brought our little white noise machine. The staff and service were all excellent, and it was nice that we did not have to make reservations at any of the restaurants. We loved the outside bar in the evenings; the bartender was very fun and it was great to hang out with other guests by the ocean. A very relaxing vacation, and close to plenty of excursions.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    amazing resort

    Reviewed by Tour08774360273() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Every time we go back the staff makes us feel like we are back home. The bartenders fonz,Perfecto,Santiago,Edeth,Juan,Fedamine were extra special.The bell boys went out of their to help in any way they could.The room service guys were very friendly and professional.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Disappointed

    Reviewed by Cool G() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The beach and pool almost make up for the fact that you have to pay for wifi. The food is mediocre. The staff was great and really tried to compensate for the issues that were out of their control. I realized that it's adults only, which is why my friend and I pick it, but I didn't appreciate hearing the live music in the lobby until 1:00AM from my room. It was noisy every night. I definitely do not recommend this hotel since there are so many others that are much better.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX