Meliá Jardines del Rey

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    C

    What a rip off! I can't believe I wasted my money and my time. By day 4 I wished I was back at work!

    Reviewed by Cullen on Jan 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I don't understand how they stay in business. The service was very slow. At one of the pool bars with 3 bartenders and 2 customers they couldn't bother to refill the empty cup in front of me. It took 30 minutes to get a hot dog once. In the morning with 2000 guests in residence they were down to one working coffee station that I could find. The servers in the lobby and at the grill often tried to avoid eye contact so they didn't have to take my order. I tried going up to the bar but they ignore you too. The food was worse than the service. The heaters to keep the buffet food warm didn't work so the food was cold. They didn't have a serving utensil for every dish so the food was cross contaminated. If the dish you want was next to the fish your food tasted like fish. The food stations to get hot fresh cooked food had a 20-30 minute wait. The al a carte's were better but the first one still took over 50 minutes to bring out our main course. We had no hot water for 4 out of 7 days. I picked a half dozen cigarette butts out of the pool one day. And a few more the next. But the grounds are well kept and there is a nice sandy beach. So if you can stay tipsy from the moment you wake up until you go to bed this place might be ok.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    First time to Cuba! I wasn't disappointed!

    Reviewed by Mone26 on May 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Last minute trip and for the price I payed I was pleased! seems everyone is complaining about the beach but I didn't have a problem with it. If you take a right and walk a 1/4 mile the beach is really nice!!!! My room was very clean! My maid left me enough towels and water... all I had to do was leave a couple dollar tip and whatever I had wrote on the notepad was done! The entertainers at the pool area were fantastic! The grounds were kind of blah (keeping in mind that i've been to Sandals, Grand Princess 5* Resorts). Food wasn't terrible, I always found something to eat, @ lunch time I would go to the little buffet place at the beach and their pizza was delicious!!! always found something to eat (but I'm not fussy). Excursions... kinda pricey but enjoyed the "swimming with the dolphins" and really enjoyed the jeep excursion to Moron! The catamaran was pretty chill..(enjoyed our lunch on the little island). The staff at this resort go above and beyond!!! I would return if I got a good deal like the last time..

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Cuba many times, but never this resort again.

    Reviewed by Marilyn K on Apr 10, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Stayed for 2 weeks and found the resort and rooms to be well appointed, clean and the food good. The beach was horrible, water so rocky that we went in once and stayed at the pool for the rest of our stay. Go south for the beach! A real problem with towels, both bath and beach, if you turn in your bath towel you get 2 hand towels to replace and then try to get another bath towel. Beach towels, most guest had to wait 2 days before getting one and only if you were there between 1:30-2:00 when clean supplies can in. Restocking coffee and bar fridge was hit and miss, usually miss. Should be restocked daily with anything that was used the previous day, appeared if anything left in fridge nothing gets stocked with exception of water. Reported non working coffee maker to client services 2 days, spoke to tour rep. on day 3 and finally got replacement. Stayed in Cuba many times and never experienced these issues even at lower star rated resorts. Will not be going back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Megan on Feb 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Fantastic experience. Extremely clean and well maintained. Had something to offer for everyone. Will return and recommend this resort in a heart beat. Best all inclusive I have been to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Horrible Beach

    Reviewed by Cayo Coco on Jul 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Wow what a horrible first day in Cayo Coco. We go to Cuba for the beach and this was the worst beach I have ever seen anywhere. There were rocks everywhere, huge rocks on the beach and in the water. This beach is UNSAFE both on the sand and in the water unless you are willing to slice your feet open on rocks or fall on them and break some bones. I have never been so dissapointed with a beach ever. There was no way my family and I were staying at this beach, especially with our Special Needs son. We had no choice but to pay over a thousand extra dollars to be transfered to another resort. I cannot believe Westjet would send families to this resort and Travel Agents can recommend this resort saying how great it is. Such a disapointment. We are now staying at the Melia Cayo Coco and what a difference. We are excited to enjoy the rest of the week. Think twice about going to Meliá Jardines del Rey, especially if you are looking for a nice beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    S

    Huge and will be massive resort..time will tell how it can handle 2000+ guests when beach is so narrow and talapas limited.

    Reviewed by Scuba Snorkeller on Apr 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Location: On Cayo Coco, known for its wonderful talcum-like sand, the beach directly in front of this resort has a sandstone/rocky section requiring rubber 'water-shoes' but 200 metres in either direction the rocks are not evident. I flew Westjet nonstop from YYZ super service thank you for a 2 week stay. The resort is huge..and half open with target for full occupancy in May..the half under final construction and landscaping is of no bother to current guests staying in the eastern half. It was like staying in a self contained village which had just been created. The staff were superb, with special mention to the maids, groundskeepers, and cleaning staff of the public buildings and particularly the public washrooms. Best I have experienced in 35 visits to Cuba. Rooms have either two double on one King Bed and either shower only or combo-tub/shower..lots of hot water. Food was best in Cuba so compliments to Melia..buffet steam tables had visible temp. controls with good preparation and variety. A la carte restaurants varied with my top choice being the Bistro...two others, Aquas and 'Italian' were simply the two halves of the beach restaurant. Wine: The included red and white wine one of each was plonk however, a good variety was available at extra charge by the bottle and reasonable cost..recommended. Getting around:...electric carts/drivers available for transport if the walking is an issue...luggage is delivered to rooms on arrival and a phone call has it picked up and delivered to the lobby on check out. Bars...good friendly service..sometime hectic....the malt scotch and Tanquerey gin disappeared early in my stay and were not replaced..Havana Club recommended for rum drinkers...3 years old for cocktails and 7 years for sipping...good variety of cocktails. Pool: Huge . DANGER: Ent. staff set speakers to full AMP!! Hearing damage likely..beware!! Keep well back...this must be addressed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4732 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Our 3rd time

    Reviewed by penny t(Moncton, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We arrive on 6th of april.check in was a breeze.we were in building 2 room 2216.everything was going good st check in but ac not working but a phone call and it was fix.our room was clean.frig stock every other day.then things start to fall apart.we ask for coffee.but nothing was done.we had to btibe maids with gifts and a beer.next day nothing.then ask for a umbrella.we were lent one from another room.no big deal.when my husband went to get it was gone.he got upsett.then he went to cosmer care and they laugh in his face.not a happy camper.also went to frobt desk to inquire what a repest guest grts.it was a mealon beach.a bottle of rum.water.and a letter to inform us no letter arrive.the start out good and then the morning of check out on the 20th wentto breaksfast thry were out of so many tjings.too much to mention.grounds were kept very blean.snack bar on thursday april 18th went thete.they were out of pretty well everything.only cheese sandwichs.i feel bad for the older people not getting enough to eat.i dont go for food.i go for the people.

    Thanks Alberto from Melia

    Reviewed by 1978karter() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was great time in Melia Jardines del Rey clean swimmingpools Caribbean's water and different cusine restaurants, the team working so friendly could solve all your problems you might face "not limited to your accommodation" Ask about Alberto in the reception, he is really helpful and do his best to serve you from his heart. He really cares and Arisney on front desk both are amazing, they are always smiling and helping even subject out of Hotel facilities "airport, flight or other destination" Really will never forget this vacation with those people and won't forget Catherine from Air Canada vacations group. Appreciate everything Melia team, best wishes for you.

    This is my 7th time to this Resort.

    Reviewed by Lisa V(Halifax, Nova Scotia) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I'm still thinking of my Great Trip as always the memories. I Celebrated my 50th Birthday with the most amazing Staff. The Staff are like my Family. I love them all and there Hospitality Is always very Heart Warming. I miss everyone already. A Special And Huge Thank You to each and everyone one of you. You have made my Vacation a very Special and relaxing one. The Beach is so beautiful with white sands and the water is so Seren with Caribbean colours. The Suite was on the second floor over looking the Ocean. The Suite itself was absolutely wonderful with AC and very Clean. Simply loved it. The A La Cartes were excellent. The repeat customer dinner was a five course meal with Steak and all the wonderful trimmings. The Staff arranged a piece of Birthday cake for my desert with the lights out and they sang Happy Birthday to me along with all the repeat guests. Simply Awesome. Once Again much love to All the Staff of Melia Jardines de Rey. Lisa V. Halifax Nova Scotia Canada Miss You All

    Great Resort

    Reviewed by Jeanneclarkewalker(Fredericton, Canada) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first time visiting this resort - it won’t be our last. The resort is only a short distance from the airport which was a bonus. Check-in was dealt with very effectively in a very timely manner. We found our rooms easily dropped our luggage and were back to the lobby for a drink to start our vacation. The girls serving drinks in the lobby are great, they work hard so don’t forget to tip them. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful It’s a big resort and it’s Cuba so sometimes things are perfect. The morning after we arrived they didn’t have beach towels until 11am. So be prepared and take a couple with you. A couple of days the bar at the pool and 24 hour snack bar didn’t have beer first thing in the morning (plenty of other stuff to drink ) if you need to have alcohol before 11 ish. There were a couple of days that our mini bar didn’t get refilled (probably because your room person didn’t have stock to refill it) contacted customer service and the girls rectified the problem. Remember this is Cuba they do a great job of trying to keep us all happy when they don’t have access to everything like we do at home (Canada) I’m Coeliac do I had a little card saying that I can’t eat certain things all the staff that I dealt with were very helpful and I didn’t get sick. When you’re booking the al a carte restaurants make sure you book the International Bistro. Food was Superb and the staff were amazing. The food in general - you will not go hungry there is plenty. Not all of the dishes are labelled. It might just say Beef, Chicken etc The grill and omelet stations are great. As a Coeliac you can see that the meat/fish is not coated with something that will make you ill. Masses of fresh fruit and the ice cream is delicious. (You have to go to the ice cream girl between the lobby and the beach - make it a daily treat) It is a huge resort so lots of chance to get in some cardio but there is always the option of the golf cart or the donkey and cart (he is so cute) What can I say about the beach and pool The beach is amazing and so are the wait staff - always close at hand if you need a drink. Plenty of beds and sunshades. Restaurant on the beach great for a quick bite of lunch if you don’t want to go back to the buffet The pool(s) are huge good for all ages depths from 45cms to 1.45cms with swim up pool bar and lots of activities during the day. Again lots of beds and plenty of places to find shade if you need it. I know this is an all inclusive resort but a few pesetas to the staff goes a long way I gave the grill staff, the wait staff, the girls that keep the public toilets clean, everyone that helped make my stay better a few pesetas and I left a small gift and money for the people keeping our room clean and stocked daily. Be nice people - remember the staff are helping make your vacation a good experience. Entertainment crew - all work so hard to keep you entertained during the day and at night. Different shows every day. Just in case you haven’t guessed we had a great time and we will be back

    A MUST READ !!!!!

    Reviewed by emilie b() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I rarely take the time to review places but, if you are considering staying at this resort, pls read this. Pros: The resort is right on a BEAUTIFUL beach and has two big pools with lots of lounge chairs/beds + pool bars. I had to consult the infirmary due to a burn on day 2 of my 7-day stay and the nurse consultation was great. They also put on some amazing shows at night time. The overall entertainment was great. Cons: the hotel is extremely understaffed. The waiters are doing double duties: bussing tables, taking orders, seating guests, and bringing your food/drinks to your table. Pack your patience because the service is VERY SLOW. There were a few decent bartenders at the lobby and pool bars but the majority of the staff was pretty rude and didnt speak English. The resort is also really unorganized: alot of the snack bars hours changed constantly, they ran out of beach towels, bottled water, mugs and even bread during our stay. We asked for bottle water 7 times + twice in person and everyone kept saying "we're sending it to your room now" it took them 2 days !!!!! The food at the buffet was TERRIBLE and the selections were really limited (you need to show up early because once they run out of something they dont replenish it). The a la carte restaurants had decent food but again if you have a late reservation, the selections are very limited as they run out of things very quickly. Everywhere we turned, we heard other guests complaining. Some had no running water for several days and some even complained about seeing roaches in their rooms. Don't stay there, the resort is rated 5 stars on their website but I would give it a 3 (at best). I would not recommend this place to anyone and I will never return.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX