Hotel Playa Paraiso

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    Beautiful Beach, Great Weather & Fabulous Drinks!! Definitely going back to Cuba!

    Reviewed by M&M, Chatham, ON on Jan 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Already wrote full review "Beautiful Beach, Great Weather & Fabulous Drinks!! Definitely going back to Cuba!" but wasn't able to upload photos.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    I love my CUban neighbours And they love Canadians!

    Reviewed by Henn to Cuba 5x im the la on Nov 19, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Love my Cuban friends'= Service and food and drink was accomplished impeccably

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    The beach the people but the food is terrible

    Reviewed by cnaps on Apr 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    I stayed at the Pestana hotel april 19-26 2015 the hotel does not look 2 years old more like ten years old and needs work even the lights outside walking to the room where all out for the first two days which made it dark walking back to room but the staff where the best part of the hotel the bar staff cleaning staff and grounds keepers where all very nice and friendly. The beach is very nice a little rocky in shallow parts but once you past the rocks its sandy.people wake up before 6 am to get the shady covers so if you don't get up early your in the direct sun all day.the only problem is the food it's terrible for real there is lots of it but very blan for me and my family. I love CUBA and the people they make CUBA a wonderful experience but the food needs improvement or least at the Pestana hotel

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Goûtez le poisson frit de la cantine de la plage

    Reviewed by Daniel Pouliot on Mar 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Bonjour, Mon épouse et moi-même avons séjourné à l’hôtel Pestana en février dernier. Le site est merveilleux, et de bonne grosseur, tout est bien aménagé. Le poisson frit du de la cantine de la plage est à ne pas manquer. Yosbani, le chef cuisinier de la cantine de la plage vous servira avec le sourire à tous les jours. Que de belles journées nous avons eues. Merci pour l’accueil généreux de tous les cubains pendant nos vacances.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3484 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Second visit. Won't be our last.

    Reviewed by Ann S(Kitchener, Canada) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We visited the Pestana (former name) in November 2018 and enjoyed it so much that we returned in February 2019. We were traveling with one other couple who were also returning. We were treated as returning guests with a Thank you dinner. The staff hands down are the best feature of this hotel, starting with Yoanis and others on the front desk. (Love the convenience of exchanging money right at the front desk.) Taimy looked after us during the day in the lobby bar. Others too, but I have forgotten the names. Food is great especially by Cuba standards. lots of selection. Buffet staff can't do enough to help. Line ups for buffet opening time, but all you have to do is grab a drink in the lobby and wait 10 minutes! Hector ensured that we always had a seat at the pool, no matter where we wanted to sit. There is no shortage of chairs here. There were two of the sun shelters out of commission for improvements, so these should be avaiable now, providing more shade. Beach is gorgeous. Easy to walk on and the water is shallow for quite a while. didn't have a lot of snorkeling opportunities. Enjoyed the paddle boats. Washroom facilities at the beach are non-existent. We enjoy the A La Carte restaurants. The gents making the reservations could be a bit happier. Enjoyed the Cuban, Portuguese and Italian restaurants. Dalianney from the Italan restaurant is amazing! The effort that she and the rest of the staff at the Italian a la carte put in to make Valentine's day decorations was incredible. The room was lovely. We were in bungalow 7. Service wasn't top notch here. We didn't get towels in the room a couple of days. And if you've been to Cuba before, you will know to bring your own washcloths if you want them. We avoided the mosquito bites almost completely, by dousing ourselves with Deep woods insect repellent before sundown. The path ways could do with better lighting for safety. Maintenance of the public washrooms is much appreciated. There are ladies staffing all of them and keeping them clean and stocked. The evening entertainment is fantastic. Very professional dancers. They even debuted a show in that pool which is absolutely worth seeing. I've not seen anything like it before. We had purchased the priority club. This was of no benefit for early check in, as rooms were not available. We did enjoy the Priority section on the beach with not having to line up for chairs in the morning. It would have been valuable if we had a late checkout, but other than that we didn't realize many benefits. Recommend the Hotel Playa Paraiso. We are looking forward to planning our next trip.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    February at the Pariso, Cayo Coco

    Reviewed by shane f(Niagara Falls, Canada) on Mar 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Went to Cuba on February 20-27 and stayed at the Pariso for the first time. Fantastic place with a great beach, sunny weather and very good food. Stayed in building 2, which is close to the pool, snack bar, the show, lobby and the buffet. No complaints. Bar service was second to none, with special thanks toTaimy Leon, who always had my spanish coffe ready. Fantastic server. Also thanks to the dancers in the show, mainly Mari, who is so sweet and helpful. Would and will go back soon

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    great hotel perfect

    Reviewed by Jonathan L() on Mar 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    everything was perfect highly recommeded, the room, the food,beach,service very clean room food was higher than cuban standards i would return there in heart beat really love this resort and the weather was good during out vacation.

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by jon3663(Doncaster, United Kingdom) on Mar 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Well where do I start, having travelled worldwide we know what to expect in the World, everything is not the same as at home. When we arrived we thought looking at the hotel it was what we used too, sadly as the holiday went a long this was not the case. We were in block 5, where we had to go without hot water for 4 days, complaining to reception every day to be told it would be repaired and working by 5pm, well it never happened. Also our chambermaid did not make up our room for those 4 days either. We complained but nothing was done about it, in any way. As for the guest services department they were always on their mobile phones and really were not interested in anything you said. A lot of the time they could be found by the lounge bar ordering cocktails instead of sorting out problems. Every day I would have to from our room to collect the bottled water as there was never any left in our room. As for the 24 hour snack bar well let’s just say you could wait between 1 - 2 hours for your food to arrive. That is of course if they have not runout of bread, burgers, french fries or sandwich filling. The food in the speciality restaurants was disgusting small portions and served cold instead of being hot. Steer clear of them. The main buffet restaurant was not much better except for breakfast, one morning my wife went get orange juice from the juice dispenser to be greeted with a cockroach floating in her glass of juice, hence we stopped drinking juice for the rest of the holiday. As for the bars they would runout of beer or certain cocktails so you would spend time running from one bar to another to get your drinks. The only think good about the hotel were pool guys who would willingly get you your sun beds. The staff on. Reception were helpful when they could be bothered. The beach and sea were amazing. All in all stay near Havana believe you have a better time.

    Fantastic!!

    Reviewed by sancag(ontario) on Mar 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We originally booked hotel Playa Coco and we really tried to make the best of it, but we had problems. We spoke to our air transat rep and she asked if we wanted to upgrade. We said yes! Check in was easy, staff was welcoming and the room was spacious, clean, ac running and plenty of towels, bar fridge was replenished daily with water and 2 crystals. I was beyond myself. The walkways at night had plenty of light, the lobby bar was booming with guests and there was plenty of entertainment for young and old while you sat with a drink or coffee as the nightlife would begin. The front desk went above and beyond to help us track down Pepe's taxi service during our transition from one hotel to the other. The bar staff and servers were very professional! There was always a attendant at the public bathrooms and plenty of food choices at breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was a variety. The main pool bar, was full of guests; from various ages, and there was always some kind of activity going on along with great tunes. This place is clean and well kept, the staff is very professional. The 24hr snack bar can get very busy so wait times for your food items will take longer. I would recommend this place over and over again. Beach chairs - you cannot reserved until after 7 am Pool chairs same, but I don't think tourists pay attention to the rules, there was plenty of activities for the young ones. The water exercises were great and they will get you involved. Would I go again!!! YES!!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX