Sunscape Curaçao Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    M

    Concierge, did not seem to care that we had paid extra to level up. I was beyond frustrated with this. Sunscape needs to do a better job.

    Reviewed by M and B Butler on Mar 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Curacao is amazing, the capital of Willemstad is a must see. We took the shuttle from the hotel. So much to see, floating bridge and the ferry. Stayed at Sunscape, the service was not great, We upgraded to be in the Level up area pool. It seemed that anyone could use the pool and beach area when though it was roped off. The pool was full of kids, with snorkels and flippers, screaming. Parents ignored the glares let this behaviour happen the entire week of our stay. The water is stunning, there a huge wave break which is helpful. My husband enjoyed the snorkelling along the rock wall.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    R

    Best Caribbean Hotel So Far!

    Reviewed by Robin Ford on Jul 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was our first time to Curacao and we ABSOLUTELY loved it! It's one of the most fantastic destinations we have been to in the Caribbean. It was extremely safe and easy to get around the island without having to rent a car. We stayed at the Sunscape Curacao Resort with our 6 year old son and he had the most wonderful time with the staff at the kids club as well as the entertainment crew. The restaurants all had something unique to offer, but the one restaurant right on the beach overlooking the ocean was our ultimate favourite. There was always something to be eaten at the resort. We upgraded our room for the week for a minimal amount and it was WELL worth it! We had a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. Just beautiful to wake up and open our patio doors to every morning. I can write all the amazing reviews I want, but it will not do this resort justice -- We are planning to head back May 2017 for our 10 year anniversary and bringing our parents!!! Can't wait!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6244 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not the best but not the worst

    Reviewed by gm0919(Staten Island, New York) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    first off. I give this place 3 stars. Service all round was slow and poor. Norma at the main bar was the best. Always smiling and remembered my drinks. Employees at the buffet and grill were nice, some would forget what drink you wanted and would have to remind them that you ordered a drink. Waited an hour at the grill to get a burger meanwhile people ordering to go were getting there food within 10 minutes. The maids were horrible. Took 3 days to get my room done and that was me complaining that it hasn’t been done. If you’re in need of towels(they’re very cheap with giving towels) in the 2000 building, on each floor at the exit of every staircase is the towel storage so I just opened the door and took what I needed. Food was really poor and bland at the buffet for dinner, would recommend going to the grill because the food was actually pretty good. Da mario’s wasn’t the best either and the hibachi was so boring it was the worst I’ve been too. The food was good but if you’re there for a show don’t bother. Only 1 guy actually made it fun but the others were so disinterested. However The beach was beautiful, water crystal clear but some areas have rocks so just walk a little further down so you don’t step on them. Free shuttle to Willemstad, which is a lovely town. Michelle at the front is sneaky so beware, she promised a special 25th anniversary banner plus champagne in our room TWICE. didn’t get anything. The free 200$ credit is a booklet of 10$,20$ and 40$ off for spa and tours. Not 200$ straight. Casino is run down and the slots are way outdated. I’d say 20/30 years old with locals in there as well but they don’t bother. They have beach volleyball, soccer and bocce but they just put out the equipment and let you use it. They have scheduled times but they’re their from the morning till evening for you to just go and play. They don’t really push the activities. Beautiful island but a shame the resort wasn’t up to standard. Only place with A/C is da Mario’s, casino and the shop(which is totally over priced 80$ for goggles and snorkel). 3 minute walk (resort says 10 but if you’re from New York it’s 3)to mambo beach which has plenty of shops that are much cheaper so don’t waste your money in the shop. Rusty elevators, dirty floors and walls I just wouldn’t stay here again. This place is 3 stars at most.

    Know what to expect~ Beautiful views/mediocre stay

    Reviewed by glennwright89(Madison, Mississippi) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Overall, it was a great stay and this was our first trip to Curacao and immediately fell in love with the island upon arrival. When booking our trip, we were not too sure where to stay, so we read a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor and did some research about places, and stumbled upon Sunscape. Felt that the price was reasonable for being an all-inclusive and offered the perfect amenities for our trip. However, upon arriving, my wife and I were a little underwhelmed at the property as a whole. The beach/views/water were AMAZINGLY beautiful and our room was great, but the property as a whole was dated and did not offer the "WOW" experience that we had hoped. We ate at all 3 of the restaurants on the property and they were all delicious.. once you finally got a table. Just seems that there was a lack of structure in running the restaurants. There was never a hostess and you had to stand around and hope someone would come take your name down. The best food and most attentive staff was at Oceana. They did a great job of making us feel welcomed and ensured that we had everything we needed during our dining experience with them. Drinks. We have stayed at numerous all-inclusive places and we understand that you may not get the high shelf drink items; however, their liquor selections were not good and it took an upwards of 30 minutes to get your drink at times (again, due to lack of structure). Understand that they have to accommodate for large crowds and constant turn around for travelers, but I would have hoped for the price that we paid, there would have been a little more variety in both beer and liquor selections. Also, the wine. Do yourself a favor and just do not drink it. We enjoyed our stay here, but there is not anything that would bring us back to stay at this specific location on the island.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Good Enough

    Reviewed by JStMartin(Cromwell, Connecticut) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    To me Curaçao isn’t about staying locked up on a resort. You should rent a car and tour the island. It’s a popular scuba diving and snorkeling destination as well and that’s why we went. With that said, this resort is the only all-inclusive resort on the island as far as I know. The prices are cheap. The rooms are fine. The food is ok. Drinks are good. I recommend the Sun Club and staying in the Flamingo building. We would eat for free for breakfast, sometimes lunch, and only once for dinner, also for free late night food after going out. Free drinks. They’re better and faster with Sun Club at the Flamingo building. Champagne bottles free to the room. Mini bar restocked daily with beer, etc. Service is generally slow, but that is goes for the entire island, as we went out to lunch and dinner downtown most days. This resort is great for the freebees and for the fact that Ocean Encounters dive shop is connected to the resort. It’s super convenient to get trained and go on dives, just walk across the beach and onto the dive boat. The snorkeling is surprisingly good in the cove in front of the resort too. Lots of life. If you’re going here to dive you can’t beat staying at this resort.

    Great for the price, gorgeous ocean, BEST DIVING

    Reviewed by StefanieBee9(Brooklyn, New York) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    YOU HAVE TO DIVE WITH OCEAN ENCOUNTERS! This place has fun activities, pretty good food, gorgeous views, and nice staff, but the best part in my opinion was the shore diving. You can literally hop into the water OFF THE DOCK and in 2 minutes you are on a GORGEOUS reef! Thank you so much Cali for taking care of getting our tanks almost every day, Benji was an awesome guide and we cant wait to get back to visit him, Sophi was awesome and helped us with getting our fish ID, and Vivianna got us out CRF course certifications! What a great operation! Oh also, you HAVE TO HAVE THE MASHED POTATOES! There isn't much for interesting cultural food here that we experienced, but the restaurant on the water has a mean steak sandwich for lunch, and the Italian place was quite delicious! We even walked around town and loved Curacao so much! We will be back!

    Great family vacation if you know what to expect.

    Reviewed by Kenneth M() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    As with most things in life if you know what you are getting into you will not be surprised. Is this the typical five star resort you see in the ads....No. The rooms do need an update and their will be things that come up such as the resort running out of certain things or double booking a room by mistake. That being said, this can happen anywhere and has to me as well. What you will get by staying here is a beautiful beach (wear swim shoes when going into the water, it can be rocky), a fun time and wonderful people. (More on the details page)

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX