Kaanapali Ocean Inn

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    Great Place to stay. Greatest Value for the money. And Beach Front to Boot!!!

    Reviewed by Doug H on Jan 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We absolutely love the Kaanapali Ocean Inn. Yes the rooms may need to be updated, but you shouldn't be spending much time in them anyway. We wanted something cheaper near the beach and the Ocean Inn is right on the beautiful beach, and is a great location. A couple real close restaurants and all the amenities of the Royal Lahaina resort that it shares the land with and has a nightly Luau. The staff were all awesome and extremely friendly and polite. If we needed anything at all we were taken care of promptly. We would 100% definitely stay there again. Thanks to all the Staff for a family atmosphere!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 293 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Location, location, location

    Reviewed by travelinlife4me(Henderson, Nevada) on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Had an ocean-front room on the 3rd floor just steps from the beach. The view was worth much more than we paid. The room was clean and comfortable, but the shower is very small. As others have noted, it's an older hotel that could use some TLC. It seems like some paint could help the entire Royal Lahania property. It's a great location and a good value when you consider you get all the amenities of the RLR... just don't expect the Ritz. You're not paying for it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    It's an older inn one of the original but lots of amenities

    Reviewed by 777rezam() on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    So, I was a little nervous because of the low reviews here. Expedia has higher reviews and that's where I booked our stay thru. The rooms are older but clean. Make sure you do NOT get southwest side that is where Luau is. We were on Northside and never heard it at night. We had an amazing view from our room on the 3rd floor. It felt more private that the 12 story Royal Kaanapali resort. The beach access was close and pools were nice. At the resort we rented a cabana one day for $50 and there was hut right up the steps where we could get drinks and food. Someone brought us pitcher of water too, just as courtesy. The last day we had a few issues w room service and extremely loud neighbors and Goergia was VERY helpful and even gave us a $50 credit, which I was not expecting. There is a coffee place that we went to every morning that was reasonably priced and Brooke was very nice. We left on the 4th and I saw Flora with a red/white/blue lei and asked where I could get one and she gave me the one she was carrying. Again rooms are older but if you can look pasted that the people and amenities are amazing!!

    Update seriously in need

    Reviewed by 30bethanyw(Derbyshire, United Kingdom) on Jun 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Me and my fiancé stayed here for a week, when we was booking our holiday to Hawaii the hotels was very expensive, then we came across Kaanapali ocean inn. Which was £1000 for the week which is still a lot of money. The place is truly amazing. But the room really let it down. It is so outdated the hall ways, carpets in the rooms that is really dated. It really lets such a beautiful down. I really hope it gets the update it needs as it is such a shame.

    Great location!

    Reviewed by andalitza(Pasadena, California) on May 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This hotel grew on me during my trip. The reality is that its location is perfect. It is right on the Kaanapali beach, facing the islands of Lanai and Molokai, amazing views. The daily Royal Lahaina Luau happens right by it, and in my case, it was right by my window, which is an amazing experience to have daily. The first day was rough as I was tired from my trip and trying to sleep, but all the drumming and singing got in the way, but after that it became a fortunate thing to be part of every day. The issues were: (1) small ants (really small) all over the room, which worried me as I had lots of treats purchased from Costco on my way from the airport to the hotel), but I placed my suitcase in the shower and no ants got inside; (2) minutes after I arrived a plumber showed up asking if he can change the sink faucet. I had to talk him into doing this after my departure, and although he initially insisted to do this the next day while I was out, I did not agree to it, so he finally accepted to do this work after I left; and (3) the toiled stopped flashing my last day there. Other than this, my stay was quite pleasant. Be prepared to carry your suitcase up the stairs for one or two floors, as there is no elevator.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Ocean Inn in bad need of remodeling

    Reviewed by marty63(Royal Oak, Michigan) on May 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This hotel has not seen a remodel in decades. There was a hole in the hallway due to rot (seriously). Some of the windows showed that the rooms were not being used. Although the view from the lanai was gorgeous, right out to the ocean, the room was old and dated. Then we found out that the nightly luau was held behind a bamboo fence NEXT TO our room and we would be hearing that EVERY NIGHT until 10. This hotel is part of the Royal Lahaina Resort. They gratiously moved us to a cottage room, away from the ocean, that was in the same price range. After that we had no complaints.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX