Grand Isla Navidad Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    D

    Concierge was great, service at the pool was great.

    Reviewed by Disappointed from Calgary on Dec 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Was at this resort 2014 & 2015. Has gone downhill since then. Will not go back! Not worth the money spent. The night we got checked in, weren?t even cordially greeted. Got stuck in the bottom of the barrel room in the basement, no safe, lightbulbs missing in lamps, dirty. Got moved to another room which was almost as bad. Moved to another room which was not bad until the power and water went off. Got moved to another room! Disappointed that with an all inclusive the minibar wasn?t even included. Lots of mould in the building as well.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    A fading beauty

    Reviewed by Lorateu on Feb 02, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel is beautiful but fading, it needs many updates, we saw a lot of deferred maintenance. The grounds are very lovely and well cared for, but there isn't really a beach that is suitable for swimming. Take the water taxi over to Barra for your meals if not included in your accommodation, it's much cheaper and way more variety.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    P

    Definitely not a 4.5 star resort maybe 3

    Reviewed by Posie on Jan 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    This property is a hotel that offers meal plans it isn't your typical all inclusive resort it's 22 years old in dire need of serious updating. All inclusive guests are identified by a bracelet so don't expect any service it's non existent unless you tip well so bring lots of Pesos. The hotel staff pay more attention to the NON all inclusive guests. The room was well kept but musty smelling, the only working telephone was located beside the toilet which I did notify the front desk and also NO wifi in the room only on the balcony which was spotty or in the hotel lobby and very limited English speaking TV channels. We were also located Harbour side and in the evening the music was very loud from the town in Bara and from the boats. The cushions on the loungers and chairs located around the pools were filthy and ripped and need to be replaced. There was 1 daily buffet and 2 al a carte restaurants that you could dine 3X week. Our 2nd week the hotel wasn't busy so they closed 1 of the 2 bars and 1 al a carte restaurant which we heard they've done in the past. So needless to say there wasn't great variety of food for dining or cocktails in the evening. The food was at best marginal at the buffet and okay at the al a carte restaurants. The drinks that were available through the all inclusive package wasn't great either cheap wine and watered down daiquiris/piña coladas/margaritas. Would never recommend this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Beautiful property but needs many improvements

    Reviewed by Mexico December Traveller on Dec 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Elegant but older hotel with beautiful views of surrounding town across the water. We liked the coziness of the smaller hotel with many spread out lounging areas. The a la carte meal and service at Antonio's restaurant is five star all the way. The service from the poolside bar was terrific and best pina coloda I have had. Good choices of lunch food in the poolside restaurant. We were not pleased with breakfast, little choice, other than Brenda's great omelette with a wait. This is also the same restaurant where you eat all suppers unless you get into Antonio's. I know they just had a hurricane a couple of months ago but the fruit flies were terrible, eat quick or your food and drink were covered and food wasn't that good. I also have to warn of sand flies or bed bugs. We received many bites but they didn't start appearing until about the fifth day. Still having problems until after four days back home with terrible reactions and itching. Perhaps this was just some sort of sand flies in the cushy lawn chairs because we only walked the beach for about 10 minutes. The rooms seemed very clean so I'm not leaning towards bed bugs. I know they just had a terrible hurricane a few weeks back so maybe washed in with the hurricane. Terrible dealing with it though so I hope it gets sorted in the meantime, don't lie on those lawn chairs. Front desk staff was very unwelcoming. They demanded some sort of voucher to check in. We didn't know what they were talking about. I tried using my passport as proof that I was who had paid for the room, but no help they just said they wouldn't check us in. 1/2 hour later we dug up emails from our travel agent and eventually they discussed with each other and checked us in. No nightly show or daytime activities but luckily a great waterside. $3 taxi across the water for a fun day of shopping. Hard to rate a hotel with so much amazing but so much disappointing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 636 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Grand isla

    Reviewed by patriciamG5981DN(Calgary, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great place to stay! Beautiful rooms, great breakfast, fabulous grounds, helpful staff. Lots to do on site. Several swimming pool areas, yoga, water aerobics, tennis, kayaks, etc. Private beach and cabanas and a conga to take you to Barra De Navidad.

    Very nice

    Reviewed by GoldRayBob(Jacksonville, Oregon) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Beautiful property in barra navidad. Kinda outta the way around the peninsula. Secluded and private, unreal sunrise. Huge property barely saw any of it, liked what i saw. Antonios restaurant was exceptional. Would definitely go back.

    From So-So to Primo

    Reviewed by 636tommyr(seattle, United States) on Feb 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The restaurants at Gran Isla vary from the very so-so outdoor/pool side café, to the ok Grand Café to the primo Antonio's fine dining. Bid differences between their quality, as the others don't match Antonio's. The breakfast buffet at the Gran Café is worth the extra pesos, so you can fill up, miss lunch pool side, and save yourself for the fine dining in the evening. By the way, even the Mexican food is only ok, but the seafood soup was outstanding.

    Beautiful Hotel in a Gorgeous, Peaceful Setting

    Reviewed by Leonafritz(Ajijic, Mexico) on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Best hotel experience I’ve had in quite awhile. My room was spectacular, comfy and large. I had a wonderful view of the inlet and the marina. The breakfast buffet that was included in the price was extensive and yummy. We also enjoyed the other restaurants and the great bar. It was easy to catch the water taxi to go across the inlet to the town of Barra. Some store and great restaurants there too. The pools at the hotel were fun and included a jacuzzi and one with a slide. We took advantage of the yoga and water aerobics that were included in our room price. You can’t beat this resort....golf too!

    Great Get Away

    Reviewed by daw215(Waterloo, Canada) on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    1st stayed here 10 years ago. Have been back several times since most recently for a great 3 day 2 night get away. Wonderful room with a killer view and great amenities. The staff were the best, went out of their way to ensure everthing was perfect. Thanks to Jesus at reception, and Luis at the Terrace restaurant. ..what a great nite that was. Also want to thank Hernando at the Tequila Bar!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX