Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Mazatlan
    5. Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
    6. Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    I

    Not what was expected for an all-inclusive. Probably great for adults only. Won't be back.

    Reviewed by IG on May 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Be warned...this is 75% Time Share. While the property is lovely, if you are expecting a TRUE all-inclusive experience with a variety of restaurants, daily and nightly entertainment, beach activities, etc. this is not the place. It is not family-friendly ie: there is nothing to do in the area (must bus it to sister property) and the beach is horrible. Rocks everywhere. At night there is no entertainment, or areas to go have a drink that kids are allowed. The only bar is adults only. The resort service is good, but you must order off menus at ALL times. Give room numbers at ALL times. Even in order to get a bottle of water or a drink at the bar. Then, they present you with a bill that you must sign for, every single time. And, of course, the tip area is highlighted...Can't just walk up to a bar get a drink and leave. Every. Single. Time. WestJet is better than this. The properties they offer are better than this. It should probably be an adults only property. This sister property was exactly the same, only older.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    This is truly the only resort to stay at in Mazatlan!!!

    Reviewed by Canadian Ladies on Apr 09, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have stayed almost everywhere in Mazatlan and there will be no other resort to stay at now. From the moment we arrived we had exceptional service. We were upgraded to a suite with a balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. We went straight to the pool and our waiter Enrique took care of all the details every day. Drinks were not watered down and he and his co-workers went out of their way to anticipate our every need. The food at the pool was great. The food at the buffet was limited but very fresh and the theme changed every night so we didn't get tired. The rooms with large and clean. All our needs were met and we didn't even have to leave the resort. You can be assured we will be back next year. Enrique serves right by the poolside kitchen.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Excellent Resort with Exceptional Service and Food!

    Reviewed by Lrac on Mar 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first stay at the PBEB and we were so very impressed by everything that the resort had to offer. The grounds are a veritable Garden of Eden with lush vegetation, fish ponds, statues and birds everywhere. My wife would take the long route back to our room from the pool just so that she could take in the surroundings. While there are only two restaurants available for dinner, one a buffet the other a la carte, we found enough variety on the menu to satiate our appetites. The Bistro served a filet in bacon that was as good as if not better than a filet you would get at a Canadian restaurant and all of their menu items were first rate. La Cordeliere has theme night buffets and the three we attended had food that was as good as a la carte dining as the staff constantly monitored not only the amount of food remaining but what the temperature was and quickly removed anything that was sub standard. The service was fantastic all of the staff are so helpful and willing to make your stay the best you could ask for. When we stayed there were few children and the majority of guests were in the 50+ age group. While there is little in the way of evening entertainment you can take the free shuttle into Mazatlan if you need excitement. The rooms all have cooking facilities, two burner rings, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and cooking and eating utensils. Not all rooms have a view of the ocean because of the lush vegetation even on the fourth floor. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious even though the bathroom is a little small. You are entitled to use the facilities at the PB Mazatlan as well and can get there by the free shuttle which runs at least hourly. The beach at Emerald Bay is nice but they discourage swimming because of the rocks and while we were there the jellyfish, so go to PB Mazatlan to swim and while there eat at Cilantros which is right on over the beach and the food is every bit as good as PBEB. We love this place and will be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3943 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Mazatlan time

    Reviewed by Passport80793() on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The staff was very helpful especially Christian (waiter on the beach) and Jesus the driver. They have exceptional customer service skills! Nice visit! Didnt like the time shate representative David bothering us to attend while we were eating dinner. He shouldn't be in the restaurant.

    Beautiful place- but would not return!

    Reviewed by Marinbridge123() on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This was our 1st time staying at an all inclusive on the west coast of Mexico. Pros: beauitiful grounds, all rooms have an ocean view, pools are great w excellent poolside service&food. Hand painting ceramics kept my kids busy for multiple hours on different days. Cons: I would guess 80% of visitors were there as part of their timeshares and 20% (like us) all inclusive; unfortunately they run this place like it’s 100% timeshare; here’s why I don’t think I’d go back (even though it was one of the nicest resorts I’ve ever stayed at): - we were told no swimming at the beach bc of the rays and there were no lifeguards - there are ZERO beach activities.. no kayaks - if you want a spot at the pool you need to get up early to grab pool chairs (they get ‘saved’ early by some who don’t show up til afternoon). - you are given towel cards upon arrival and these get swapped at the pool hut for fresh towels as often as you like; if you lose a card/towel then you’re on the hook to pay 25$ USD to get another; we had a towel taken from one of our five chairs when one of the kids was swimming; and a lovely Mexican woman who was vacationing there as part of her timeshare had warned me about this a few days earlier.. so not only are you relegated to a crowded pool you need to always be on the lookout that your towel doesn’t get stolen; The front desk claims they are high quality towels and people steal them and bring them home. I told them they can search my room; as far as I’m concerned, I’ve have not taken it and have paid alot of money for an all-inclusive where I don’t excpect I need to spend my week policing my 5 towels; I argued this and was given another pool card at no charge but it took a lot of convincing to explain my point of view - you have to sign a bill w your room #for every meal you eat which means waiting for the waiter to bring your bill (0$ but shows the value); why can’t they just give the all inclusive ppl a different colour bracelet?? - only three places to eat... Food was ok - check out was another interesting fiasco.. we asked for a bellboy to help with bags... it was early morning and he never showed; when I was checking out I was given a bill; charged $1.00 per day as a donation to some kind of charity, and 80$ bc cleaning crew noticed a stain on a pillow. I explained we did not stain a pillow and nothing was every shown to us. I refused to pay these charges and finally they were waived. This place is beautiful and I would return if it were not for the constant hounding to listen to a timeshare talk (we refused all 15 times we were asked) and the way the resort is run. The rules apply maybe to a timeshare (I wouldn’t know as I’ve never been part of one) and not to an all-inclusive.

    If you don't want to buy in to the resort, do not waste your time here!

    Reviewed by patriciatG2425IR(Bellingham, Washington) on Jul 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Pros - Nice hotel, very comfortable. The rooms have great views. The all inclusive is the way to go here if you do not plan to go out on your own. The room service, service by the pool, are wonderful with great service! Cons - The minute you say no thank you to the buy in they hound you for the rest of your stay.They advertise they have golf...there is no course built here yet... they will call you a cab to take you to one they obviously own about 45 minutes away. Do not take the bus tour, it is ridiculous, they take you to a jewelry store and make it hard to leave, seriously.

    A truly fantastic vacation spot!

    Reviewed by 2Cokes4Me() on Jun 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our one week vacation at the Pueblo Bonito in Mazatlan Emerald Bay Resort & Spa was AmAzInG. The staff are incredible, and jump on your every need. Jose and Chicho at the Adult pool keep you hydrated with water, and are always ready to top off you other beverages or order you some food. Jesus, Osulado, and Eduardo run the large pool activities with an energy that just keep going, with pool volley ball, water aerobics and other games for all ages. Victor was amazing at the Bistro, and was a joy to talk with while ordering more incredible desserts. Everyone at La Cordeliere were always top notch with seating, drinks, stocking the buffet, and sharing advice about the local scene. But above all, Hector at the front desk takes the cake for offering the most amazing and special customer service. Although he was not the one who checked us in, he took extra time to explain every little detail that we needed, and he has such a charming personality. The spa treatments are top notch!!!!. I missed the name of the woman who gave me a massage, but it was out of this world. I cannot recommend this resort and all of the staff enough. Looking forward to returning again. The resort offers hotel style room, which are large and roomy with kitchenettes. All rooms face the ocean, most 2nd & 3rd floor units will have views of the ocean. Some rooms have a balcony/patio and others have wide bay windows for the amazing view. They also offer Villas (3 bedroom houses), but they are located away from the ocean, and do NOT have any views. Each Villa does offer a private pool and hot tub, but its a longer walk (or cart ride) to the main resort area where you find everything you need for a week in paradise. Villas might be nice if you want your own space, or have a large group staying together.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent Service ..!!

    Reviewed by pikosito(El Paso, Texas) on Jun 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Love the place, all the facilities are very nice, the service is excellent, Olimpo reveived us on 6/23 with a warm reception, he guide us all the way to our checkout..! Very professional... we scheduled a spa session, we loved it...We recommended to everyone..! As a member i would love to get free WIFI since nowadays most resorts do not charge for it... Finally, the food was delicious and clean..!!!! We will be back next year..!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX