Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    T

    Our family of 9 were well cared for and the staff were superb. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Tom B on Dec 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a 3-star hotel with 5-star heart. You won't find friendlier or more accommodating staff and the facilities are exceptional value for the price. Food was varied and authentic Mexican - this is where Nationals holiday - so, if you want LA glitz, hot dogs and hamburgers - look elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Great staff and service, awful hotel, bad location. Will not go back.

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    I will start with the good. The staff were wonderful and I could not have asked for better service! Thank goodness for that! I also enjoyed my spa service and found the spa to be quite serene. Now for the rest: This is no resort, folks. It reminded me of a poor, rundown apartment block with a dirty pool in the middle. Linens, towels, etc were so worn and tattered that should be rags. Building in disrepair and in need of a good scrubbing. The beach was a bit of a walk away and good for exploring. Not good for relaxing as every 2 minutes there is a local trying to sell you their trinkets. Small buffet with few options and same daily. This is the first time I have lost weight at an all-inclusive: There are no amenities to speak of. Worst part was the noise. Boom boom, hooting and hollering, night and day. Noisy guests, mostly locals, who would hang their laundry off the balcony. This added to the poor, rundown feel of the place. Hotel situated on a very busy street with constant sirens. I witnessed a major accident out the hall window..bus and truck flipped. One can imagine it was not relaxing or comforting. I wanted to go home on the next plane. I did end up staying and moving resorts last minute.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2873 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Stay at Hacienda Buenaventura

    Reviewed by rhonda_maloney(Calgary, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a fabulous time at your beautiful resort and just wish there would have been more choices for a la carte meals, perhaps have different menus to choose from in rotation for one week, e.g. Sunday have your present a la carte menu, Monday have an Italian themed a la carte menu, Wednesday have an Asian themed a la carte menu, Friday have an International or French themed menu, etc. I know you do provide these different themes for the buffet which is very much appreciated, just sometimes an a la carte style is nicer. Also, as lovely as it was to dine in the garden area, sometimes the mosquitoes were an issue, so may have been better inside. We really enjoyed the nightly entertainment and had so much fun dancing with the bands and wish it could have went on a little later, perhaps 23:00? The Mexican charm of your hotel cannot be beat, the fountain is beautiful as is the heart-shaped candle and one of our reasons for booking. Your staff is fabulous and should be commended for their exceptional service and attitude. I must name a few that stand out: Vanessa is a real gem and truly a great representation of your hotel. Caesar presence was always appreciated. Laura was such a pleasure at the front desk and always so helpful. Evodio went above and beyond with his service and is the definition of a real gentleman. Axia was so helpful when we had questions on social media regarding our booking. Carmy was always sweeping up and was even so kind as to find and return a lost key. David was a great laugh at the bar. Antonio, Juan Carlos, Jose, Suze, just to name a few. Brenda our maid always did a superb job with our room. Really all of the staff we encountered were lovely and we can’t say enough about them, I wish I could name them all. Finally I would be remiss if I did not mention the resident iguanas, they were such a fascination to watch each and every day. Hacienda Buenaventura certainly captured a piece of our hearts, thank you!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Hacienda Buenaventura

    Reviewed by parrock(Kent) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed here 3 years ago and loved it so much just had to return. Staff are so friendly and Hotel is cosy with a natural charm. Would recommend to anyone wishing to Holiday in Puerto Vallarta. Thank you to all for making our Holiday special.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel and Mexican Charm

    Reviewed by 502ritaw(Ellsworth, Kansas) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This is a great hotel for the price we paid. It's an older property but it is well maintained and definitely has Mexican charm. Everyone we encountered was always pleasant and very accommodating. However, our room had a musty smell (corner room, bottom floor, I think just not getting much sunshine), despite appearing to be well cleaned. The air conditioning just couldn't get the humidity out, so turning the ac down lower would cool but the minute it shut off, it began to get warm again. One night we pulled the blanket from our closet to place at the bottom of our bed. We left early and when we returned the room smelled horrible. So bad, after being in it for awhile, we went to the store to buy some room spray. When getting ready for bed, we discovered housekeeping placed the blanket in our bedding under the top cover. It was then we realized the blanket was one source of the smell. (and also the extra pillow in the closet) We called the front desk and they immediately sent someone with fresh bedding. But we just couldn't get the smell out of the room. We're not ones to complain but maybe we should have said something about our room smelling. I just assumed it was the high humidity and that most hotels in the area might have the same issues. I wouldn't have know any different, however, on the morning of check out, our flight home got cancelled. We were just going to book another night at this hotel but then thought maybe we should try another one. Boy, I was so happy we did! The bar service was a hit and miss. One day we'd have excellent service and the next not so much. But, the service wouldn't keep me from returning. The nights they cooked in the courtyard, was excellent! The pool is very nice, however the saving of lounge chairs was ridiculous! Once the weekend crowd left, you could easily find a chair no matter what time you went to the pool. So over all.....you get what you pay for..

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-5

    Charming and Clean

    Reviewed by Debra D(Pickering, Ontario, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Needs some updating in rooms and fridges in rooms definitely needed. But very clean, quaint and perfect size for people who do not like a long walk to amenities. They need to stress this hotel is not on the beach but there is beach access.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Female solo trip

    Reviewed by Safari05215216967(Banff, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I took a short solo trip mainly to relax. The staff were extremely friendly, especially the wait staff in the main restaurant and both the beach and pool bars. The room was clean and spacious. The food was tasty with enough variety to not be bored by it after 5 days.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX