Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
    6. Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    Paradise anyway you look at it!

    Reviewed by JerryNJ on Jun 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed a week at VDP in May of 2014. We loved everything about it. Friendly and accommodating employees. We ate at the restaurants a few times and enjoyed the food and drinks. We had a studio room on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view overlooking the pool. Everything in the resort is incredibly clean! Walkin distance to many places to eat and have drinks. There's a bus stop right out front so getting around is easy. A large grocery store is a 10 minute walk to stock up on snacks, water and other essentials. The resort is beachfront on Banderas Bay with spectacular views of the mountains and bay with many water activities available. All this for a very reasonable price. I highly reccomend Villa Del Palmar to anyone visiting Puerto Vallarta. I am looking forward to returning to PV someday and will be staying at VDP for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Comfortable and Relaxing Pleasant Surroundings

    Reviewed by WinnipegWay on Mar 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had a comfortable vacation at this resort. It was not great or fantastic or exceptional but it was comfortable. We stayed for two weeks. March 2 to 16 It rained for the last 2 days of our stay. *The check-in process was smooth and quick we arrived at approx.11:00 AM We were given our AI wristbands by 11:20 AM and informed that our room would not be ready till 3:00 PM. Okay; no big deal we'll go and catch a bite at the restaurant Patron . But before that happens we are met by the concierge to go over the hotel welcome package. Nice thought; but in reality it was a timeshare pitch; which for us was okay since we bluntley told him that we were not interested in timeshares. *The room when we finally got our cards was a delux studio with a small kitchenette. The decor was not mexican in my thinking but some gosh awful post modern pastel pinks and blues with two double beds instead of the king size we had requested!!! Our vacation provider does not seem to have much pull in the type of representation they have for meeting their clients requests at this resort. The room was 3227 2nd floor located in building 3 and the room was facing the distant main highway for Puerto Vallarta we were never bothered by traffic noise as we were far enough away from the street We at this point made up our mind to stay put and get on with our vacation. LIKES: The staff who checked us in, the maid who made our room, the waiters and pool boys who served us; were what made the stay pleasant. The evening entertainment had some really good performances along with a few mediocre acts. But a good balance of entertainment. Place overall was clean; DISLIKES: AI does not mean all food and spirits available to us during stay only beer available Corona ACK!!ACK!!GAG!!GAG!! , Pacifico others extra; bailey's extra. Very small beachfront. The insufferable SPRING BREAKERS whose behaviour mimics morons . If they were in my hotel I would kick them out so the rest could enjoy their vacations.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3832 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent vacation

    Reviewed by Cougs8384() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have been several times and hope to return many more! Miguel, our pool waiter was exceptional! Room was fabulous, spa was fantastic, resort was well maintained, and the pools were a place where much happiness was found! The front desk and concierge service was stellar as well! Thank you all.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Lovely family trip

    Reviewed by Zulema V() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a good time at the hotel!! The gym installations are great! There’s plenty of pool for everyone. The only issue is the towels in the evening you had to wait about 30min to an hour for clean towels..wouldn’t want to imagine during high season!!! We especially loved the aqua aerobics & Zumba class by Jose luis thank you so much for having staff with such contagious energy!! We mostly had food from the deli which was GREAT!! Good choice at a great price :) Looking forward to coming back.

    Exceeded My Expectations. Definitely Will Return.

    Reviewed by Gary C(Mission Viejo, California) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Honestly, I have pretty low expectations for anything that mentions resort and all-inclusive in the same sentence. Long chow lines. Average rooms. Crowded pools. Careless service. I have no problem voicing my complaints and writing bad reviews about something when it is deserving. Can't do that here! Villa del Palmar blew that perception away. 5 honest stars. To my surprise, they actually delivered on the hype in their advertising. Rare in today's commercial environment. It was a very, very positive experience for 4 nights / 5 days / all-inclusive family vacation. I wish we had stayed a few more days. It's the first place my wife has ever wanted to return to in all our travels. After every place she's stayed, she might like it but still prefers to stay somewhere different EXCEPT now at Villa del Palmar. This was our first visit to the area. We will definitely return to Puerto Vallarta and to this resort and go all-inclusive again. I'm no rookie to travel internationally and domestically and I rate this near the top of places I've stayed. They have a great staff supporting the operations at the resort. Everybody at every level was friendly and helpful. One thing I observed over and over is that everybody does their job well and they do it without obvious supervision. They are all professionals. They all work hard. I wish I could remember all the great people that work there but can't. Many names were lost in the haze of limitless beer and margaritas! Everybody was above average. Isidro @ Reception.. You're the man. What a great attitude. Alex at the pool kept the drinks flowing day after day. Ruby and Onofre at El Patron made the dining experience memorable. Salvador @ Mexican Fiesta Night never let a drink go empty. Our chef (whose name eludes me) @ Yashinoki Japanese Restaurant. A great chef and entertainer. Make this man an honorary Samurai. You're better than the gringo chef at Benihana in California! Remember that even on the all-inclusive plan you still have to sign for food and drinks. Don't walk away without asking for the bill. When you are presented the final bill these charges will not appear unless they are for something that is not "all-inclusive" such as wine. Only any extra tips you add which I did on a regular basis. They will ask you for an additional credit card deposit when you check-in. This is to cover any extras such as Spa therapy, tips, and you want to charge to the room. They will ask you to set a limit. That limit is up to you. Now on to the review. Hopefully, this passes the spelling and grammar police. ARRIVAL I did my homework by reading all the negative reviews. I was prepared for the worst. To my surprise, the whole process was perfect. My compliments to Isidro for making the process enjoyable and tolerating my "shark" humor. ROOM When we arrived at the room, there was a bottle of nice Chilean wine and chocolate covered fruits. Daily they would bring a different and very unique "snack" around 6 or 7 PM while we were out. Nice touch. We had the Unique 2 Bedroom Ocean View Suite. Not the room in the photos. The floor plan was completely different. Superior to the one advertised. It was an exceptional room on the top floor of building 8. Tasteful decorations. Not the somewhat tacky (but acceptable) blue shown in some of the room pictures. It had 3 TVs. 3 full bathrooms. Spacious rooms. Nice furniture. Huge connecting balcony. 2 very comfortable king beds. Funny thing is they were replacing all the mattresses in our building the day we checked out. Not sure why. I'd like to pack the old mattress and take it home! Not just 2 channels on TV. There are lots of them. Didn't count them. 40? 50? Not just in Spanish but certainly not like DirecTV if you are from the USA. Don't expect channels like HBO. I think you'll get by with the selection during vacation. You know... You've got to rough it sometimes. :) If you think it's not enough, then download some movies and series from your Netflix / Amazon account before you leave home and mirror them to the TV. There was a sign in the room that said they support Apple TV but you have to call the front desk. Didn't try that. Don't know if it is an extra charge or requires internet service (stupidly expensive.. See below). We had both Android and Apple phones. HOUSEKEEPING We had daily housekeeping and the attention to detail was excellent. Fresh linens and towels every day. Room was spotless. RESORT GROUNDS The resort grounds are impeccable. Uniform. Tasteful. Didn't see anything requiring maintenance. Everything was trimmed and maintained to perfection. POOLS We used the two pools near the restaurants and facing the beach. Some reviews complained about noise from kids. Didn't find that to be the case. Both pools were clean. Plenty of room for everybody. Only had one "oblivion" family that shared loud music in the afternoon but it didn't last long. No problem getting food and drinks served to you around the pool. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas. If you need something, just ask. The staff was always there to help. I'm not sure how they keep the water in the pools so fresh with so many people using them and swimmers returning from the beach with saltwater in their bathing suits going directly to the pool. FOOD and RESTAURANTS Amazed by the quality, quantity, and variety. We were on the all-inclusive plan that had only a few limitations and deep discounts for the exceptions. Never felt limited in our choices. As I recall you had to pay extra for lobster, jumbo shrimp, prime cuts of meat, wine, and premium liquors. We were quite happy with the standard fare. El Patron Amazing food. Creative recipes. Great BBQ. Went there twice. Never had to make a reservation or wait. Yashinoki Japanese is a "Benihana-style" teppanyaki restaurant. Small. One grill. Seats about 12. We didn't have a reservation when we decided to go there. Luckily there were 3 spots open and two very kind guests moved so the three of us could sit together. To set the standard, we were at a Benihana in Irvine, California a few weeks prior to our vacation. We all agreed our chef at Yashinoki was more skilled and entertaining than the one at Benihana plus the food was better IMHO. Seafood Market, Missed this one but they have an excellent menu. Wish we could have gone on Lobster Fest but missed it on the schedule. Wings Sports Bar. Only stopped in for cold Cerveza de Barril. A good place to cool down. La Trattoria. This is also the location for the Breakfast Buffet. Only had pizza delivered to the pool. Very good. LIght European style crust that is not at all like Little Ceasar if that's what you expect. Contrary to some reviews, we did not encounter long lines at the breakfast buffet. Only a couple of minutes one morning while they dealt with seating a large group. Great variety. Constantly restocked when items ran low. Amazing omelets. The only thing missing that I like with this type of breakfast is a variety of cheeses. I survived without them. Plenty of fresh fruits, assorted bread, pastries, and other selections in addition to the main dishes. La Creperie. Didn't visit. BEACH Clean. Hassle free. The vendors selling are not aggressive and stay off the hotel property. Not sure why someone said the beach is not long. It's about a mile to the entrance to the harbor in the north. In the other direction, it goes on all the way to downtown from what I could see. We walked about 1/3 of the distance. Not really scenic in that direction. The resorts aren't as nice. Not sure how much further you'd need to walk or run. Clean sand. Not a lot of rocks. No broken glass. Clean, warm water. RESORT ACTIVITIES Didn't try any of the free activities. Maybe next time. We did rent Wave Runners from someone down at the beach. New. Pretty quick. Hit 60 KPH several times. 1000 pesos/half hour. Great time. DRINKS Despite some of the reviews, we did not find the drinks to be watered down or made from cheap liquors. We were in the Wings Sports Bar and watched the bartender prepare them for the pool guests. Some pretty tasty creations too if you like frozen cocktails. A tip. Bring along an insulated mug for your drink because they get warm quickly. I had mugs on my list of things to take but forgot to bring them. THEME NIGHTS We only attended the Mexican night on Tuesday. They set up for the event around 1/2 of the main pool with tables and chairs. Good buffet. Ok entertainment for this type of event. Our drinks were never empty due to the attentive service even at a large gathering like this. AREA AROUND THE RESORT Premium shopping just a 5-minute walk from the resort. Short and cheap (150 pesos) taxi ride to the airport nearby. The old downtown is a little too far to walk. Taxi is about 100 pesos. Your safety while walking on the street is apparently not an issue during the day. We were not out late. DEPARTURE Like the entire experience, there were no negatives. The bill was accurate. My card charged appropriately. Friendly staff to store luggage for a few hours until we heading to the airport for a 6 PM flight. Immediate availability of a taxi. AND THE NEGATIVES Only a few. No deal breakers. My big complaint is about Wifi. It is everybody's complaint. They have an archaic policy and slow speeds. Charging for it is not a practice by today's hotel standards, especially when the download speeds are consistently below 5Mbit / sec. That speed is always free. Charging $10 per device per day is beyond ridiculous. It's a rip-off. Nobody does that anymore. Charging for Wifi under the all-inclusive plan simply should not be the case. You can suck down as much food and drink as you desire but a few MB of data costs more than my bar bill! Fix that and all is perfect. Minor negative. Another complaint regarding technology. Am I the only engineer that vacations here? :) I did not notify the management since I hadn't isolated the problem. I thought it could be my phone. We had 3 Samsung TVs in our suite and all supported Smart View. I use Smart View to view movies and series we downloaded to my phone from Netflix that then mirrors to the TV with Smart View. The connection would terminate between the TV and phone intermittently. Afterward, the TV would disappear from the connection menu. The apps on the TVs were out of date and created problems maintaining a connection. A little research using my free T-Mobile internet service and I discovered that's a known problem. I tried to update the TVs from the Samsung TV menu but it said there was no Internet connection. TVs are not connected to the internet. Not a big deal but it ties back to treating internet connectivity like gold. They might not even be aware of the problem if people don't use the feature. Already mentioned. Timeshare selling! Not a complaint so much as an expected annoyance from people doing their one job which is to sell you a timeshare. Immediately after arrival, the friendly sharks attempt to start the timeshare sales pitch under the guise of a tour of "to see what you paid for". The pitch didn't reach fruition thanks to the early warning from the other reviews. Hang on to your luggage at check-in if you can and find your way to your room. It's not hard. Stand firm. They are persistent. After you walk away and ignore them, they will disappear just short of the pool for the remainder of your stay. It's kind of annoying after traveling all day, dealing with the sharks at the airport after you arrive, then immediately be pitched a timeshare. I am absolutely not interested in a timeshare and no sales pitch will ever convince me it is a great deal for me. I was on the all-inclusive plan. I don't need a tour or meal with a pitch so why waste my time and theirs. LOOKING FORWARD TO NEXT YEAR!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing Experience

    Reviewed by Mrs_Smitty2013(Fresno, California) on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I just returned from a week long stay at the Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa. I had a black mineral mud treatment. It was delightful!! I was assigned a personal "attendee," Liza, who helped me to relax before my treatment. Nubia completed my treatment. I was absolutely floored with each ladies' kindness and professionalism. I did not want to leave. I seriously encourage you to visit the spa, even if you purchase the day pass without the treatments, just to experience the AMAZING features of the hot tub and wet/dry saunas. When also dined at the same restaurant two nights in a row. The wait staff was great. Very friendly. The first night I had the shrimp risotto. OMG... delicious and the second night I dined on the chicken parmigiana. OMG.... delicious also! A special thank you to: Aldo, Rigo, Roman, Jose, Juan, Isacc, Raul, Aylin, Sandra, Maria and Fernanda! Oh and try out the tacos and burritos at the OXXO store next to the property. They are tasty and HECKA cheaper then the hotels food.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great staff!

    Reviewed by ewatson7784() on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The wait staff at the pool were excellent! Especially Miguel and Osvaldo! Thanks guys for taking such good care of us! Went with a group of 5 and they never let us get thirsty. Such hard workers with great attitudes!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX