Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    T

    Excellent place , amazing food! Staff very friendly!

    Reviewed by Tim-BC on Mar 02, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our first time to Punta Cana and the Dreams Palm was amazing! The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Not one thing to complain about. WestJet agent was very helpful in arranging tours!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Dreams Palm Beach - aptly named as it was a week-long dream!

    Reviewed by Samhull on Jan 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I vacationed at the Dreams Palm Beach Dec 9 - 16th 2016. This was our first time with a Dreams facility. We had a fabulous time! The staff was outstanding, our room was great - we moved from the ground floor to 3rd floor - kind of wished we'd kept the ground floor after as it was on a quieter side by the pool - live and learn. We upgraded to preferred as we knew we would enjoy the amenities that the upgrade offered such as preferred beach area with bar service, preferred areas with no children, as we were going for total R & R. We were not disappointed. We particularly enjoyed the smaller size of the resort which leaves you feeling a lot less like a number and able to easily walk anywhere you wanted to go. No shuttles and line ups. The staff we observed were awesome with the children and elderly visitors as well. We are beach people, so we only spent one afternoon at the pool in the preferred area which was super! The food was outstanding and the seafood grill definitely was a favorite. No wrist bands, no reservations for restaurants you chose to visit, and coffee shop .. so much more. We also enjoyed the entertainment on the resort. We took a speed boat / catamaran tour which was also fantastic. Our visit to town to the cigar factory was perfect. Try the mamajuana with honey! For our next vacation we will definitely be looking at Dreams facilities. You won't be disappointed here!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    w

    A nice property, improvements are needed to make it a five star

    Reviewed by weddingtravel on Feb 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel has a beautiful lobby, it is a wide open space and the lobby bar is really nice. It can be a bit busy during the night. The rooms are just okay, I expected more for what we paid. The bathroom is very small, there is a small bathroom sink and the shower and toilet are right beside with a glass door. There is no tub either. Our fridge was not always re-stocked and room service took about 30 minutes. The beach and pool were fairly busy, very hard to get chairs together. They try to clean the beach but there is quite a bit of seaweed. There is not much room on the beach either. The food was just ok, we tried all the a la cartes and the French and Seaside restaurants were the best. I would have liked to have better quality seafood, it was strange that the beef was the best. I would not recommend the buffet. The nightly entertainment was really good, great audience participation. Our favorites were the circus and hypnotist. It is a beautiful resort but I don't think we will be back as it was quite expensive and I don't think we got quite what we paid for.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12953 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Staff

    Reviewed by ColoEA1() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    While the resort itself is “mature” (the 1st in Punta Cana from what we were told), the grounds are beautiful, the food is great and the staff makes it an exceptional place to stay. Our expectations were quite high after visiting the Now Sapphire in Cancun in 2017 and we expected the Dreams to be above that. The facility was not quite as nice as Now Sapphire but you cannot find better people for sure!! The entertainment staff - Willy Wonka, Beyoncé, Francisco P, Little B, and Super Jordan were a blast! Even though they picked me for EVERY audience participation and activity! Find Franklin H at the Manatee / Sugar Reef bar and you’ll get a perfect drink. Richard C will help you out with a smile at the Barefoot Grill or one of the restaurants at dinner. Benjamin was definitely helpful as concierge - making suggestions and getting us what we needed. The cleaning staff sometimes forgot to leave more towels when they took the used away, and we could do without the SeaPro guys drumming up business at poolside but we loved our time at the resort and never felt unsafe! We would definitely recommend visiting here.

    Good...but not excellent

    Reviewed by jess992017(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a two week stay at Dreams Palm Beach with my family. Having stayed at the Now Jade resort in Mexico previously, we had high expectations, especially as the Dreams collection is meant to be of a higher standard than Now hotels. On arrival we were able to check in quickly and easily and were greeted by friendly members of staff. I think the staff truly are exceptional and really made the resort a great place to be. However, we were straight away hounded with a sales pitch to upgrade our 2 rooms to “Preferred club”. This was disappointing and made us feel like we were inferior guests. It was also irritating and made check in slightly longer, which is not appreciated when you have been travelling over 10 hours from the UK to Punta Cana! It was especially hard because we had not seen any of the resort yet alone our rooms so we did not know whether the upgrade was worth it - for this reason we decided to not upgrade, see the facilities and then decide whether we wanted the upgrade. I can confirm that as a family of 5, the preferred club was not worth it, considering it would have been £1200 extra onto our holiday. For Preferred you get access to two separate pools, one being adults only, as well as two lounges, breakfast and lunch at the Seaside Grill and potentially sea view rooms. If you are travelling as friends or in a couple, the preferred might be nice if you want a bit of time away from the main pools and children. I also think breakfast and lunch at the Seaside Grill is probably a nice extra. However we liked being by the other pools, in particular the pool with the swim up bar, so did not feel we were missing out. Like the other reviews I agree that the rooms need a bit of modernising, especially the bathrooms. Even if the bathrooms had a bath added, I think it would be a welcome addition. The room definitely disappointed me compared to Now Jade in Mexico. We had 2 rooms, one with two queen size beds, which I shared with my sister. It definitely was nice being able to have a queen size bed each. Our other room was meant to sleep my parents and my brother. My parents had a super king bed and a single bed was brought in for my brother. However, we had to ask for the extra single bed to be brought up several times and were disappointed that the bed was not already in the room, considering the booking was for 3 people. Little touches like this would have made our experience more stress free. In terms of the facilities, the grounds are immaculate and kept very clean. The beach was pretty with white soft sand. As you may have read previously, the Dominican does have a seaweed problem and lots of seaweed was raked up in piles on the sand. The amount of seaweed also means the water is a murky blue colour, rather than the azure blue you’d expect from the Caribbean. What you may want to note before booking is that Dreams Palm Beach is located on the Atlantic side of the island rather than the Caribbean side- apparently Dreams La Romana is on the other side. We did a trip to Cap Cana on the Caribbean side and the beach was a lot nicer, with much less seaweed and azure blue sea. Food: I was very impressed with the food at Dreams, the buffet has great live cooking stations and it is great to have limitless trips to 5 a la carte restaurants. At breakfast I really enjoyed the fresh omelettes and crepes. I also liked the local dishes cooked by the pool at lunchtime such as paella, ceviche and a bbq. However this was served up on the dot of 12 and was quickly eaten up. In my opinion 12 is a bit too early for lunchtime. Although there is also the choice of lunch at the buffet or a burger from the Barefoot Grill. My favourite a la carte was the Seaside Grill because of the atmosphere, overlooking the sea and a band goes around and plays at each table. But most importantly the food was the best and the steaks were massive. The Chinese was also very good and the Hibachi was a fun experience for the family. I initially liked the Italian, because you get served a bread and bruschetta plate with oil and balsamic before your meal. However, the main pastas were quite bland and the same tomato sauce was used in most dishes- yet was very plain and lacked herbs. The staff were good though in the Italian, especially Sandy who was our waiter multiple times and went above and beyond eg getting us coffees from the coffee shop to have after our meal. :). Speaking of, the coffee shop was one of my favourite parts of the holiday and was frequented at least twice a day. The cakes and pastries were delicious, and the mini sandwiches were also very nice. It was like having all inclusive Starbucks! Claribel - I think- was always really friendly and kind to us during our stay. Back to the restaurants, the French adults only restaurant was ok but not particularly special. It was nothing like a Cafe Rouge in England. The Mexican was my absolute least favourite in terms of service and food. I wouldn’t even recommend you trying it if you are going to stay here! I found the drinks very good at this resort, if you like branded spirits then most well known ones are available. I am a cocktail fan and enjoyed the mojitos and margaritas. The drinks at the bar in the lobby are particularly good. The Spa During my stay I got 40% off a 50 minute Swedish massage so of course went to the spa. My massage was very good and my masseuse concentrated just on my back, which was particularly tense after a recent accident. After a massage you can also use the hydrotherapy pools which was a nice touch. Negatives Although, there were many positives to the resort I have to be real and include some of my negatives. On my second week I caught a sickness and diarrhoea bug at the hotel which meant I had to spend nearly a whole day in my room feeling very unwell. This for me was really horrible and ended my holiday on a bad note. No one wants to be ill on holiday and it was very unfortunate. In addition, the SeaPro staff were very annoying around the pool. Amstar is the hotel approved trips company which has insurance- this is the company we used to go to Scape Park. However SeaPro is another company that the hotel allow residence. They are not very professional and hounded us every day asking us to book a trip. In particular Pina was annoying for this. He does the free scuba lesson in the pool which we all did, but then after that he kept pestering us to book a scuba trip. I know everyone has a job to do but this was not very welcome on our holiday. Similarly I did not particularly like the beach sellers, but know the hotel has no control over this because all Dominican beaches are owned by the government and accessible to the public. Overall I had a nice holiday but definitely think some things could be improved at the hotel to take it to the next level and make it more luxurious and modern.

    Dreams always impresses!

    Reviewed by Paradise811775() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at Dreams in Cancun and it was amazing. For our trip to Punta Cana we went with Now Larimar but they had noisy construction and we asked Cheap Caribbean to transfer us to Dreams Palm beach. What a difference! Dreams always impresses. Flawless pools and facilities. Excellent service and plenty of staff on hand for your every need. We will always go with dreams. The food options are plenty and always available. The water at the beach is dark red probably due to natural algae in the water but that is Mother Nature and the hotel can’t help it but the beach has gone white sandy beach which is beautiful.

    Gorgeous resort

    Reviewed by katern97(Plaistow, New Hampshire) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Dreams Palm Beach is a Gorgeous resort with a white sandy beach and blue water. Great restaurant choices for dinner...something different every night! The resort offers fun daytime activities on the beach or around the pool or you can just enjoy the sun and surf. The evening shows are great and the entertainment group puts on a great show every night! There is something for everyone!!

    3rd time is a charm

    Reviewed by Dana L(Salem, Wisconsin) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Why have I return to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana so often year? Relaxing in the beautiful pool is a small reason. It helps me to feel relaxed which I do need in my life. But the number one reason I am able to relax and enjoy my trip to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana are the wonderful workers that work countless hours to take care of my every need with a smile. I can not thank the servers and bartenders of Dreams Palm Beach in Punta Cana enough for the amazing hospitality. They are truly a gift. They are friends I will continue to go see in the Dominican. I thought I knew what hard work was. They work harder than anyone I have ever known...and they work this hard to make sure of others happiness. I treasure their friendship and appreciate more than they will ever know the sacrifices they make to make eveyones vacation magical.Thank you Edwin, Ambi and Yohan. Also Pequetti and Beyonce and so many others for always giving us amazing service. You all deserve your dreams to come true.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX