Excellence El Carmen

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 5829 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not as food as you might think...

    Reviewed by Grace A() on Jul 09, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    All things considered, we had a good vacation. We stayed at the swim up villa which is totally worth the extra money vs the other rooms. The hotel is really beautiful and calming. The staff were very nice and tried to accommodate within very strict boundaries. What do I mean ? I’m Vegan. It was *beyond* difficult to get the staff to understand what that is. After they offered to make me an egg for breakfast ??????? my partner made (!) a table in Spanish to explain dietary requirements. We ended up having to pull it up 3-4 times a day. Every meal (but one) was a 2-3 hour ordeal. Get the cook, get the waiter, get the wrong dish, get the right dish covered in cheese/ cream. Honestly sub-standard and not acceptable for a five star resort in 2020. I emailed in advance before I booked to ask about their ability to accommodate, saying they overstated their capabilities in their reply doesn’t go far enough. Finally, on our last morning, we woke up to a flooded room, clearly coming from the bathroom area. The water was all over my packed and ready to go luggage and ruined my brand new battery pack. They were able to clean and dry all my clothes in time, but would not compensate me for the battery pack after they promised they will. I received an email weeks later and after much prompting, that blamed us for flooding from the hut tub- which is all the way across the room, and was clearly not where the water came from. They know.. they just don’t care. And probably didn’t think about my review. If you have any dietary restrictions I would not recommend this resort. If you travel with expansive stuff I would not recommend this resort. If you’re just looking to be in a kid free, sunny chill place, this is a good option. Just be careful as they are a dishonest. Overall I would say, the hotel clearly intends to be a 5 star resort but falls short by a mile. I suspect you could go to the USVI and get a much better quality service / food / value for money.

    Remarkable

    Reviewed by fiore481(New York City, New York) on Jul 09, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I arrived at the resort from NYC on March 9, 2020. The pandemic was on the brink of entering its most dangerous stage. We had a confirmed return ticket for March 20, 2020. As it turned out, that was the last day the resort was to remain open. As each day if our trip progressed, the number of guests continued to diminish. The day of our departure there could not have been more than 20 clients left in the hotel. I tell you this because you need to know that the atmosphere, services, energy, efficiency and enthusiasm of the ENTIRE STAFF was operating DYNAMICALLY throughout, just as if the resort were 100% full in the pre-pandemic era. Hand sanitizers everywhere. Facility immaculate, as always. Food delicious, with many choices for every appetite whether omnivore, vegetarian or vegan. UNTIL THE VERY LAST DAY, the presentation of the food and attention to detail was impeccable. Remember, the staff was about to be furloughed for months and yet they gladly continued to serve us with their usual dedication and intensity. Warm, helpful, ready to laugh if you needed a laugh and delighted to grant any and all requests with a smile. Pedro B., the on site manger, was a huge help and contributed to maintaining a calm, safe and reassuring atmosphere during what could have been an ultra stressful few last days. He was just a model of leadership. Amilton, another staff member who oversaw day to day operations on the site, is another remarkable human being, dedicated to the welfare of the clients, seeing to it that their stay is beyond pleasurable and performing his job with enthusiasm and joy. Dominicana, who saw to it that our every need(with special attention to the dinner department) was taken care of. A paragon of efficiency, commitment, ardor and ebullience. Our servers and receptionists at Magna, Kitchen Table, Spice, The Lobster House and Oregano: Walmary, Alma, Mirian, José Luis, Alberto, Veronica, Lisamar, Mariell, Ivanessa. All jovial, efficient, amiable and kind human beings. Juana and Maritza who worked the pool and beach areas, never tiring of asking us if we wanted something to drink or eat. What wonderful women. And Yonatan and Manolo who made us our drinks at the Magna Bar every night with glee, expertise and style. Drinking cocktails made even more pleasurable. We just cannot praise the entire staff enough for their commitment and diligence. This was our fourth time at this resort and our reservations are already in place for next year. If it is safe to travel by spring of 2021, we will be there to enjoy a glorious vacation with a stellar staff in a sensational resort. We should all stay safe and be well. Sinceras y profundas gracias a todos nuestros amigos en Excellence, El Carmen. Manténganse saludables y seguros.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Overall experience

    Reviewed by OcC1991() on Jul 02, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Below is an I email I sent to the hotel during our stay. When this email was picked up within minutes we had calls(more than once) to the room regarding the incident. On checkout a member of staff said they would look further into this and email me with the findings. A month after our visit on the 15th November I emailed to see what the outcome was nearly 8 months on and I’m still waiting for a reply. During the stay the matter was dealt with overall very good. A couple of times we were fobbed off with the excuse it was a language barrier. But as stated in the email there seemed to be no issue with the same staff dealing with other English speaking MALE & FEMALE couples. If you are going to say that you will follow up with an email then you should make sure this is done. Just because we left the hotel it does not take away the feelings of being treated Differently by a couple of the men Working in one particular restaurant. It seems The matter had been forgotten once we were out of the hotel. I hope this email finds you well we are currently staying at the hotel room 7071. The hotel is simply stunning and we have enjoyed the holiday so much the room and grounds are beautiful. We ate at The Grill restaurant on Saturday 28th the food was amazing and is the reason we returned to the restaurant this evening on both occasions we were served by Alexsander. Again the food was amazing however on both occasions we felt the service we received from not only our server but the majority of the male staff members to be noticeably different to what other guests got. At first we did question if this was a language barrier issue but we then saw on many occasions a much longer and in depth conversations and laughing around with other English speaking couples. Any interaction to us was very minimal and come across as if it was an effort to interact with us. Specifically on the 2nd return to this restaurant we sat down and waited 25 minutes before anyone come back to see what we wanted to drink when other couples who were seated after us had already had the drinks they ordered. When the drinks order was taken In the space of 10 minutes we were asked a further 3 times what drinks we had ordered. Once we received the correct food order after the first being wrong and Not our order at all and being asked why we didn’t want to eat it. in the time it took us to finish the meal not once were we asked how the food was but continued to see the staff asking all other people how food was. The only difference between us and other couples in the restaurant both evenings is that we are a gay couple. On the 2nd visit we didn’t even stay for dessert we got up and left because it felt uncomfortable for both of us to sit there and be made to feel like we are ‘different’ and not worthy to be interacted with. Below I rate 5* Currently starting at excellence el carmen only arrived 26th September and already blown away by the hotel and service received by staff. The hotel and grounds are simply stunning and the beach is breath taking. Had a couples spa treatment on 27th first ever one for both of us. We both thoroughly enjoyed the treatment from start to finish. None of it was rushed and the service provided was outstanding. The massages were just fantastic and so relaxing. The 2 masseurs were faultless in the service given. I have uploaded a card with there names on. Thank you so much :)

    Fab holiday

    Reviewed by 32Sue(Whitstable, United Kingdom) on Jun 23, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in Oct 2019 for 10 nights, having previously been to Excellence Playa Mujures for our honeymoon in 2018. We had a swim up room (not excellence club), and asked for a room with sun the first half of the day which we kindly had (block 6b, right in middle, perfect!). The swim up rooms were amazing - definitely the best we have ever had!!! The staff were fantastic, especially Oneill and the rest of the team behind the martini/sports bar. The restaurants were great, couldnt fault any of them! We are now excited to have re-booked for October 2021 (a way off, but something to look forward to!).

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Blove219(Fort Wayne, Indiana) on May 24, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a great time during our week. We upgraded to the excellence Club level and a swim up pool which was a good choice. The dinner choices and quality was above average unless you eat at 5 ?? restutants often.The resort was clean and we'll groomed each day. Jairo was very helpful as a concierge and made sure we felt welcome. Would recommend the resort!